Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


117 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cornerstone book for all costume and fashion students.
The Victoria and Albert Museum houses one of the largest costume collections in Europe, stretching from 1603 to the present day, and now you have a chance to see virtually all of the items in their collection (bar their very fragile ones) without the need to travel to London.
Each chapter has clear points of the history of dress, and is divided into easy chapters...
Published on 9 Oct. 2001

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars most pictures are small and b&w
I'm quite disappointed by the pictures, yes, there are good quality BUT most of them are small and black&white.
Published on 13 Jan. 2010 by zubmum


Most Helpful First | Newest First

117 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cornerstone book for all costume and fashion students., 9 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: 400 Years of Fashion (Paperback)
The Victoria and Albert Museum houses one of the largest costume collections in Europe, stretching from 1603 to the present day, and now you have a chance to see virtually all of the items in their collection (bar their very fragile ones) without the need to travel to London.
Each chapter has clear points of the history of dress, and is divided into easy chapters covering men, women, periods in history with individual photographs of each article of dress including shoes, fans, underwear etc. All the photos are very clear, enabling the reader to get a detailed view of the costume.
Costume researcher or fashion student, this book is an important part of your collection that will be refered to again and again. My original copy is so worn out that I am ordering a new one to cope with the high demand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars most pictures are small and b&w, 13 Jan. 2010
This review is from: 400 Years of Fashion (Paperback)
I'm quite disappointed by the pictures, yes, there are good quality BUT most of them are small and black&white.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars came in handy, 20 Dec. 2011
This review is from: 400 Years of Fashion (Paperback)
As a student of art studies, I wanted it as literature.
Many of the photos are in black and white but for a book that is not for the wider public this is quit normal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 19 Oct. 2009
By 
Marie L (Toulouse, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 400 Years of Fashion (Paperback)
Really great book. I haven't read everything yet, but pictures are wonderful, and the content is interesting for everyone willing to know more about the history of costume and fashion.
Now I just need to visit this Victoria and Albert Museum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for a fashion student not a coffee table book..., 4 Sept. 2014
By 
Miss S. M. Summers (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 400 Years of Fashion (Paperback)
I was sent the wrong edition of this book - so I can only offer a partial review. I was expecting a more 'photographic' filled work, as per previous V&A fashion tomes I have purchased, such as the Viviene Westwood book. And while there is some great photogs in the book - most are in black and white and quite small and overall I would describe this as a reference book as opposed to a coffee table style book. It has the usual quality of work I have come to expect from the V&A books and I will enjoy dipping in and out of it - but I should have done some more research before ordering this book as it was not my cup of tea after all. Ideal for fashion students or history students with a specific project in mind. It is not really for someone who is is after a general fashion history book and wanting pretty pictures too look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book!, 5 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 400 Years of Fashion (Paperback)
Although the cover is different its the same inside.great book to have..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 400 Years of Fashion (Paperback)
interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

400 Years of Fashion
400 Years of Fashion by Ed. Natalie Rothstein (Paperback - 31 Mar. 1999)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews