Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars30
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 April 2013
This book is reflective and well written, but even if it was poorly presented, this is story that should be read and thought about by all of us and seen as a coda to "king leopold's ghost". The device I am writing this on depends on the Congo' minerals and we should listen to the voices from this book. Mining companies and electronics companies, such as Apple and their shareholders should be weeping with shame and be starting to repair the damage caused by their activities.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
Having lived in Africa, a lot of this book was very relevant to my own experiences and the fairly easy going way of live.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2012
fantastic book! entertaining to read and super interesting, many facts about a country needing more people like this great writer to be interested and write more about what is really happening.
0Comment7 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
The best factual book I've read in ages. Touching, gripping and incredibly informative, it a very well written book from someone who really cares about his subject matter. Highly reccommended.
0Comment7 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
Good read for anyone interested in this theme. Bought for my husband who enjoys all things Africa
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
A heart warming book about a horribly troubled country and just goes to prove that people are people throughout the world. Ben travelled deep into war torn Congo but was treated with the utmost courtesy and hospitality. A brilliant travel book, well written and sensitive. Thoroughly absorbing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
A fascinating book about an area which is very is little known or reported on. I learnt a lot about the aftermath of the war in Eastern Congo (Katanga and South Kivu as well as the more commonly reported on North Kivu), and the book is well written and easy to read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
Thoroughly recommend this informative account of the author's journey through the Congo. Through him you visit long forgotten areas of the Congo, hear the voices of those rebuilding their lives and feel the hopes that fragile peace brings.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
This is a great book, with more emphasis on the local people he meets, their circumstances and their lives as opposed to his own views. The showing of how life still goes on despite the very difficult conditions. Excellent
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
I spent time working in Uganda, Congo and Angola in the 1970's and reading this book makes me wish I had written down all the things I came across. Memories are not enough. It is a really good read and well worth buying.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.