Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confessions well worth reading!
This book is a moving and honest account of life as a foreign correspondent. A personal story of world events and adventures, the way that those events are reported and the way that reporting has changed. This book is fascinating take on the story behind the stories and the way that news is portrayed and perceived. Well worth a read and highly reccomended!
Published on 7 July 2012 by Mrs smith

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars starts well then dries up
Was gripped by the first few pages, but it then gets slow and descriptive on details that do not keep me reading. Gave up and never finished the book. Perhaps just not to my taste.
Published 22 months ago by Lumpy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confessions well worth reading!, 7 July 2012
This review is from: Confessions from Correspondentland: The Dangers and Delights of Life as a Foreign Correspondent (Paperback)
This book is a moving and honest account of life as a foreign correspondent. A personal story of world events and adventures, the way that those events are reported and the way that reporting has changed. This book is fascinating take on the story behind the stories and the way that news is portrayed and perceived. Well worth a read and highly reccomended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars starts well then dries up, 5 Feb 2013
By 
Lumpy (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was gripped by the first few pages, but it then gets slow and descriptive on details that do not keep me reading. Gave up and never finished the book. Perhaps just not to my taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions from Correspondentland: The Dangers and Delights of Life as a Foreign Correspondent (Paperback)
Knowing the author I found the book utterly interesting. The style of prose makes for great reading and gives an insight to news items beyond what was broadcast or previously expressed. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book!!, 3 Aug 2012
Confessions from Correspondentland: The Dangers and Delights of Life as a Foreign CorrespondentReading this book it becomes apparent that Nick Bryant has reported on most major news events in the last 15+ years.
The book diarises events in a gripping and often comical way. A real page turner and I have a new found respect for BBC foreign correspondants who, when others are running from danger are desparately running toward it to get the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was expecting a lot more from this book, but it does not deliver. The promised humour is weak and there is no real interest in the stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars covers too many differing subjects, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions from Correspondentland: The Dangers and Delights of Life as a Foreign Correspondent (Paperback)
I enjoyed this but only one story at a time, full of detail and interesting trivia and quite tiring to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars boring and arrogant, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How disappointing that this couldn't have been made more interesting. It is as if Nick was flicking through his diaries over the last 20 years and doing a bullet point run down - 'went here, wrote a few articles, oh this dictator/president was great, went somewhere else and did the same again. Missed 9/11 as I was on holiday, didn't make it to Iraq, but had a quick jolly in Afghanistan where I like think I ruffled a few feathers. Long live the BBC!'..... Lots of opportunity for character development and refelection none which were taken advantage of. I was almost in a coma of boredom before I reached the end.

As Nick wrote himself of his own blog, such remains true of this book ;
"The analysis has often been pretty shallow. Factually, they have often been incomplete. They have not always benefited from what foreign correspondents value the most: the luxury of patient observation."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions from Correspondentland: The Dangers and Delights of Life as a Foreign Correspondent (Paperback)
I bought this book to put in my sons christmas parcel. He is quite surprised how helpful the tips are for him in business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars America and Asia, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book although I found the early part, with a lot of American politics a bit tedious. When the author got to Asia, and we had snippets from lots of different countries, looking at the same issues from different sides it was very interesting. The author's style is very easy to read, and he is very honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Correspondentland is a fascinating place, 2 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions from Correspondentland: The Dangers and Delights of Life as a Foreign Correspondent (Paperback)
On a recommendation I was persuaded to read this book - even though my staple diet is fiction and I'm reluctant to spend too much reading time in the 'real world'. I'm so glad I made the effort. The book offers both an entertaining account of the trials and tribulations of a foreign correspondent as well as thoughtful analysis of some of the major events which have shaped our world in the last two decades. For me, the real appeal of the book lies in the contrasting of the monumental and the mundane as the author juggles his professional obligations with the trivialities of everyday life. I can offer no higher praise than saying this is almost as good as a novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Confessions from Correspondentland: The Dangers and Delights of Life as a Foreign Correspondent
£8.13
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews