Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Priceless!
This is the latest in a long line of excellent popular science books by William Poundstone. Its topic is "behavioural decision theory", the study of how individuals make systematically irrational decisions in choice situations, risky gambles (where the probabilities are known), and uncertain gambles (where probabilities are unknown).

A lot of this field has...
Published on 5 Feb. 2011 by DigiTAL

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many anecdotes and much biographical information, not enough ideas
As with many of these types of book, the whole thing could have been condensed into 20 pages or so, but has been expanded to over 200. Far too much anecdotal and biographical detail about various economists and psychologists and too little in the way of useful or interesting concepts.
Published 3 months ago by The Philosopher


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the cover makes out, 20 Nov. 2012
By 
Bhavini Shah "part time book worm" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Priceless (Kindle Edition)
I learnt a lot from this book but at times it did seem rather repetitive. I'm not sure who the book is meant to appeal to - I tend to read quite a lot of non-fiction (including economics) but it didn't feel like there was enough material in here to justify a whole book. It feels as if it is simply telling you the results of a number of different experiments with no conclusions to draw the whole thing together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars found loads of useful simple tips in this book, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Priceless: The Hidden Psychology of Value (Paperback)
Pricing for dummies...... found loads of useful simple tips in this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 26 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Priceless: The Hidden Psychology of Value (Paperback)
I wasn't too sure about this book however I found it so interesting I could barely put it down. If you don't remember many of the facts in it at least it provides you with a different mind set and a new way of thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars None, 23 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Priceless (Kindle Edition)
I have just finished reading it. After purchasing I felt disappointed because it was very thoretical. Describing history of the research into the prices and buying patterns. It was getting more practical towards the end.
Word of warning: it ends without the closing chapter at 65%. This means that 35% is footnotes and index.
I regret buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars hi brow, 27 July 2011
I thought this book would be a helpful sales tool. Unfortunately not. It waffles on, trying to establish how clever the author is, and rarely actually getting to the point. I gave up half way through. The book now gathers dust...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars looks interesting, 4 July 2011
I bought this as part of my adult son's birthday present, he hasn't read it fully yet but, it is one that he thinks will be interesting,when he has I will read it and send another review. Book is nicely bound and looks to be of a good paperback quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Priceless: The Hidden Psychology of Value
Priceless: The Hidden Psychology of Value by William Poundstone (Paperback - 2 Jun. 2011)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews