Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bleak, pessimistic manifesto for geo-engineering
A nuclear war between India and Pakistan, triggered by conflict over water resources and the starvation resulting from the collapse of the Indus river system. A militarized 'fortress America' keeping back hordes of starving Mexicans with a fence topped with automatically controlled machine guns. War in the newly melted Arctic ocean over the scraps of remaining...
Published on 22 Mar. 2011 by Jezza

versus
4 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fearmongering
This book is more a psychological analysis of the author than a serious work on the possible consequences of Climate Change. The fear-mongering, consisting of what can only be described as implausible chains of inference, lead me to believe that anyone capable of imbibing its message without at least raising both eyebrows, is profoundly incapable of rational thought.
Published on 15 Nov. 2010 by Robinson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bleak, pessimistic manifesto for geo-engineering, 22 Mar. 2011
By 
A nuclear war between India and Pakistan, triggered by conflict over water resources and the starvation resulting from the collapse of the Indus river system. A militarized 'fortress America' keeping back hordes of starving Mexicans with a fence topped with automatically controlled machine guns. War in the newly melted Arctic ocean over the scraps of remaining hydrocarbons. And those are just the cheerful scenarios; we may also have a total wipeout of almost all life on Earth to look forward, as the oceans go rotten with hydrogen sulphide which then bubbles up to destroy the atmosphere.

Dyer's book contains eight scenarios for possible futures, each of which is used to powerful effect to introduce a discussion of the science and politics of climate change. These discussions are well-written, clear and non-technical, but with plenty of persuasive and compelling detail. If you know nothing about the IPCC, or Kyoto, or the shambolic Copenhagen Accord, you could find a lot worse places to start than here.

Dyer's background is in military history, but he's clearly taken the time to engage with a lot of scientists, engineers and environmentalists, and it really shows. Not everyone - especially not most of the environmentalists - will feel happy with his ultimate recommendation; at the end of the day this book is a bleak, reluctant, pessimistic manifesto for geo-engineering, which Dyer feels we need to develop at least as a fall-back for if everything else fails. It's hard to read the book without being driven to the same conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Future Revealed!, 7 Jan. 2011
By 
This is what the future will probably look like if Gwynne Dyer's research proves correct. Conflict over water, food, land, fuel ... all due to the impact of our changing climate. He has asked influential people all over the world what they think will happen as the world warms up, and these scary scenarios are the result. It should be compulsory reading for all young people and for all grand-parents, so that they know what kind of world we are creating for future generations.Climate Wars: The Fight for Survival as the World OverheatsExcellent as a book for schools teaching this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed success with mixed facts and fiction, 18 April 2011
By 
Benno Hansen (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
With a title like Climate Wars this book looks "alarmist" even to someone sick and tired of being called just that. But actually, it is far less dramatic than the action paced science fiction that may come to mind. Written by a veteran soldier with academic degrees in military history and years of experience in journalism. Based mainly on the projections made by army analysts of the world from the prognoses in the IPCC 2007 report.

For those of us with academic backgrounds in ecological science and/or a couple of years of climate debate behind us several of its chapters are climate change science and policy repetition. But for me - working on mapping the links between natural resources and conflict - chapter 1 is a great summary with extra insights to the geopolitics of predicted climate change impacts.

And the factual chapters are interspersed with scenarios. Being eager to dissect the book for information I find the structure of the factual / non-scenario chapters a bit too mixed up to help make the book as a whole more of a page turning thriller. The future scenarios are not predictions. They are more like not unlikely cases told with some necessary filling from Dyer's imagination. The longer into the future one tries to imagine the more uncertainty is in play - but the first scenarios are quite imaginable.

So, Dyers book is really good. But my own will be even better ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading!, 17 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Climate Wars (Hardcover)
Everybody should read this book, absolutely essential reading! The author presents several scenarios of future conflicts caused by climate change (leading to famine) which are all very plausible with terrifying consequences for the earth as we currently know it. More importantly, the author spent most of 2008 interviewing experts from around the world covering all aspects of climate change, very enlightening stuff. Finally, the book presents many potential solutions to the problems of climate change which offers hope for managing this huge problem now and into the future, if only we can negotiate the politics...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Climate change and how it will disrupt our societies., 7 Jun. 2010
By 
A. P. J. Jansen (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Climate Wars is a different book on climate change. It does not discuss the how and why of the current rise in global temperature. Instead it deals with the politic and societal consequences. These aspects of climate change have so far received little attention in other books. Gwynne Dyer describes a number of scenarios that show how our society may change for the bad, mainly due to disrupted food production and the very large number of refugees from countries where living will become almost impossible. Although the author does not claim that these scenarios will actually come true, he does show that all of them are very plausible.

He describes in some detail the failure of the Copenhagen Climate Conference, and he argues that similar reasons as for that failure will make it in future also very difficult to reach an agreement on how to tackle the climate change problem.
He pays a lot of attention to how little time we have left to avoid the worst. He has little confidence that we can do much with conventional means, and discusses extensively geo-engineering options. My only critique on the book is that the author seems too optimistic about these options, although his general outlook is quite pessimistic. He hardly mentions possible side effects.

This is a very scary book, and you should read it if you care about the future. It shows just how dire humanity's situation may become this century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CLIMATE WARS, 5 Nov. 2012
Climate Wars: The Fight for Survival as the World Overheats
A very intresting Book, shows what could happen if we just sit back and wait. I feel the story line is a bit cloudy but he is writing about the what if future, and not that far in to the future, have a read on line and go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Climate Wars: The Fight for Survival as the World Overheats (Mass Market Paperback)
Required reading for anyone who cares about this world. I was worried before but now I know why! Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic and scary, 5 May 2009
This review is from: Climate Wars (Paperback)
When is the mainstream media in the UK going to pay attention to this great author?

Ignore at your peril.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fearmongering, 15 Nov. 2010
This book is more a psychological analysis of the author than a serious work on the possible consequences of Climate Change. The fear-mongering, consisting of what can only be described as implausible chains of inference, lead me to believe that anyone capable of imbibing its message without at least raising both eyebrows, is profoundly incapable of rational thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Climate Wars: The Fight for Survival as the World Overheats
Climate Wars: The Fight for Survival as the World Overheats by Gwynne Dyer (Mass Market Paperback - 1 May 2011)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews