Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for every environmental bookshelf
I was asked recently what reading material I would recommend for someone looking to start work in the conservation and environment sector - this was at the top of the list. An eminently readable study of the past and present thinking behind efforts to conserve our global natural resources, with some great analysis of the problems facing modern conservationists. And even...
Published 17 months ago by Matt Leggett

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good book and easy to read
Good for a beginner in Conservation
Published 5 months ago by Lorelei


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for every environmental bookshelf, 23 July 2013
This review is from: Conservation: A Beginner's Guide (Beginner's Guides) (Paperback)
I was asked recently what reading material I would recommend for someone looking to start work in the conservation and environment sector - this was at the top of the list. An eminently readable study of the past and present thinking behind efforts to conserve our global natural resources, with some great analysis of the problems facing modern conservationists. And even for battle hardened veterans who already work in this field, it provides great hope and food for thought for future endeavours - Matt Leggett. Head of Policy, Global Canopy Programme
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read., 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conservation: A Beginner's Guide (Beginner's Guides) (Paperback)
This book successfully covers the broad spectrum of essential issues that drive conservation in the 21st century. It covers everything from the historical evolution of the conservation movement based on the social, political and philosophical movements of the 19th and 20th centuries, through to the scientific basics and examples of best practice on the ground, from around the world. A great read for those with a budding interest in the subject as well as a great refresh for those who have been in the sector for some time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good book and easy to read, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conservation: A Beginner's Guide (Beginner's Guides) (Paperback)
Good for a beginner in Conservation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and authoritative, 25 July 2013
The authors have achieved the difficult feat of producing a book about conservation that is both readable, thought provoking and does not duck the difficult issues, e.g. the criticisms aimed at some conservation NGOs, the future role of China in global conservation, the dominance of the western model of conservation. Honest and refreshing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for anybody interested in nature and its conservation, 22 July 2013
This review is from: Conservation: A Beginner's Guide (Beginner's Guides) (Paperback)
This is a fantastic introduction to conservation, where it has come from, where it is going, the main actors and the main trends. I sincerely wish this book had been around when I became interested in conservation and when studying, and definitely before working in conservation.

I can not recommend it enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book even so, 4 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conservation: A Beginner's Guide (Beginner's Guides) (Paperback)
Found this book very hard to get into. I wouldnt call it a begginers guide. Great book even so. Came in great condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Conservation: A Beginner's Guide (Beginner's Guides)
Conservation: A Beginner's Guide (Beginner's Guides) by Richard J. Ladle (Paperback - 1 Feb 2010)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews