Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredible Adventure
The Elephant's Secret Sense is an amazing adventure about a part of Africa I didn't think still existed, where elephants roam wild in their thousands and people are eaten by crocodiles while they wash their clothes on the river banks!

This book covers Caitlin O'Connell's thirteen year journey with the elephants and people of Namibia; a journey that started out...
Published on 2 April 2007 by Samantha Frist

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
This book purports to be about the secret sense of elephants yet very little of the book is devoted to this. Much more is devoted to meetings between various organisations. I have been to Africa many times and observed elephants in the wild and nothing in this book evokes the magic of these magnificent creatures.
Published 8 months ago by Moss


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredible Adventure, 2 April 2007
The Elephant's Secret Sense is an amazing adventure about a part of Africa I didn't think still existed, where elephants roam wild in their thousands and people are eaten by crocodiles while they wash their clothes on the river banks!

This book covers Caitlin O'Connell's thirteen year journey with the elephants and people of Namibia; a journey that started out of graduate school and continues today at Stanford University where she is now a researcher. It's an intimate look into how elephants and humans are struggling to live side by side and how experiments to keep elephants out of crops led Caitlin to figure out that elephants are using the ground like whales use the water, to send long distance messages to each other.

From the breathtaking description of an African storm surging over the floodplains to the delightful antics of Donna, a zoo elephant in California, Caitlin's inspiring writing moved me from tears to laughter, and left me with powerful and very visual images that I won't soon forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elephant's Secret Sense: The Hidden Life of the Wild Herds of Africa (Paperback)
This book purports to be about the secret sense of elephants yet very little of the book is devoted to this. Much more is devoted to meetings between various organisations. I have been to Africa many times and observed elephants in the wild and nothing in this book evokes the magic of these magnificent creatures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Elephant's Secret Sense, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elephant's Secret Sense: The Hidden Life of the Wild Herds of Africa (Paperback)
This has been bought as a Christmas present so I haven't read it myself - I will do after the recipient has read it. Since we both love Africa, I am sure it will be fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elephant communication network, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elephant's Secret Sense: The Hidden Life of the Wild Herds of Africa (Paperback)
This book is a revelation.
It has made me understand several hidden facets of this wonderfully complex
and highly sophisticated animal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NELLIE WINS, 18 Jan 2013
By 
anniec17 "Hopalong17" (Hampshire, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Such an interesting and informative booked by someone who knows their subject matter. Elephants are wonderful creatures to be respected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delightful read, 10 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elephant's Secret Sense: The Hidden Life of the Wild Herds of Africa (Paperback)
One of the best books I have read. I am a regular visitor to Africa and this book felt
as if I was there once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Elephant's Secret Sense: The Hidden Life of the Wild Herds of Africa
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews