Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect introduction for those needing a fast "in" to the industry
Very factual, succinct, and a great introduction to the industry. Recommended for those coming from outside the industry, or for those who are already there but need a broader outlook. If I was a manager I would make my staff read this book.
Published on 28 Sept. 2011 by D. Blackman

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Badly structured
While this book is a decent enough introduction and blaggers guide to the oil industry, its biggest problem by far is the way it is structured: It seems to be suffering from a plague of text boxes throughout the book that are placed every few pages and are filled with smaller writing explaining some concept (like the history of tankers or types of rotary drills) vaguely...
Published 3 months ago by Manx_Giraffe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect introduction for those needing a fast "in" to the industry, 28 Sept. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oil: A Beginner's Guide (Beginner's Guides) (Paperback)
Very factual, succinct, and a great introduction to the industry. Recommended for those coming from outside the industry, or for those who are already there but need a broader outlook. If I was a manager I would make my staff read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Badly structured, 12 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Oil: A Beginner's Guide (Beginner's Guides) (Paperback)
While this book is a decent enough introduction and blaggers guide to the oil industry, its biggest problem by far is the way it is structured: It seems to be suffering from a plague of text boxes throughout the book that are placed every few pages and are filled with smaller writing explaining some concept (like the history of tankers or types of rotary drills) vaguely relating to the sentence its placement has just interrupted.

The sentence will then be picked up again afterwards, sometimes pages later, and it makes for a really disjointed read, as if the author suffered from attention-deficit disorder. Other than that the facts are all solid, and if re-structured could be a good introduction to the industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a beginners guide, 21 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oil: A Beginner's Guide (Beginner's Guides) (Paperback)
Short and good guide to oil (hydrocarbons). Answers the questions; where it is found, how it's extracted, where and how much it's used, some history of oil and lots of nummbers about it(statistics). Book doesn't say lots about politics behind the oil decisions, so i will be loking for aditional book on this subject. All in all good, fact packed beginners guide.
m.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Editor needed, 27 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Oil: A Beginner's Guide (Beginner's Guides) (Paperback)
Packed with numbers and statistics, the biggest disappointment about the book turned out to be precisely the fact that it is packed with numbers and statistics. The author is just too fascinated with the details, I can imagine he had collected all these "facts" and therefore decided to sacrifice readability and keep explanations to a minimum rather than leave out some decimal digits. The problem with the structure highlighted in another review is true, too many and too extensive infoboxes that interrupt the flow of the text, most of them not containing deeper insight on a specific issue but packing technical information or mini-lectures on the correct use of physical units of measurement. Even so, this book is just too short to serve as any sort of technical reference; that would also be very inappropriate for a book titled "beginner's guide". In terms of content, there is sufficient coverage of several aspects of the oil industry. In contrast to other introductory books, there is more extensive information on the technology of locating oil, drilling, etc. The technological aspects are treated confidently and the authors feels at home when discussing them. For trickier aspects like economics, politics, and history, well, they range from the superficial to the "why did I have to read this?". For example, he makes no effort to hide his political views when sacrificing precious pages of this short book to discuss and condemn as naive those who believe that the Iraq-Kuwait war had anything to do with oil, "in view of Saddam's massive WMD program". Similarly in the very sharp condemnation of the "peak oil" hypothesis, in view of this greatest of technological advancements that will guarantee oil for many decades to come, i.e. fracking... If you are prepared that you will come across annoying sections like these and are willing to skip to the next page when the real content continues, then the book can be useful and I am glad I read it, but almost everything else I have read as an introductory book on the subject of oil and the oil industry is more readable, more impartial, and by far more well "edited" than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just the job, 24 Jan. 2013
By 
J. E. Morris (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oil: A Beginner's Guide (Beginner's Guides) (Paperback)
Very compact and supplies all the basic information I needed to understand better the risks and rewards of possible oil inudstry investments. As others have commented, text style is sometimes cumbersome, but the subject matter is well put together and also entertains the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice reading, 9 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oil: A Beginner's Guide (Beginner's Guides) (Paperback)
Please read this book if you interested in oil business.Highly recommended...good book . One of the best book to read when going into oil business or studies to improve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction for someone who is not from the industry, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oil: A Beginner's Guide (Beginner's Guides) (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading this on my holiday. It is a "beginners guide" but pitched at the right level for someone with little prior knowledge of the industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction, 11 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Oil: A Beginner's Guide (Beginner's Guides) (Paperback)
This book gives a good all-round introduction, and are easily read and understood.The author does not make it more complicated than it is, but still covers the essentials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars o.k., 19 July 2014
By 
J. Norman (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oil: A Beginner's Guide (Beginner's Guides) (Paperback)
Covers the history of oil, producers etc but I wouldn't class this as good for a beginners guide - it contains a lot of scientific words relating to geology etc so if you don't know them well it can quickly become dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oil: A Beginner's Guide (Beginner's Guides) (Paperback)
Good literature on oil industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oil: A Beginner's Guide (Beginner's Guides)
Oil: A Beginner's Guide (Beginner's Guides) by Vaclav Smil (Paperback - 8 Feb. 2008)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews