Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book, and a great introduction to Rumi's thought
I have several books on Rumi that I have bought over the years, and originally I got this for a friend. I liked it so much I bought a copy for myself, and it is definitely my favourite collection of Rumi's poetry.

Not only is the translation by far the best I have come across so far (and it is now the standard by which I judge all the rest) but the selection is...
Published on 22 April 2006 by Jennifer Heller

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I wish I'd chosen a different Rumi book
Nothing wrong with this book, only just that I hadn't realised that the verse would be purely focused on spiritual subjects. I had assumed that it would have a range of subject matter (nature, love, spirituality, etc.), and I would be able to read those typically quoted Rumi insights about all aspects of life. This book doesn't do that at all. It really is 'A Spiritual...
Published on 24 Nov 2011 by lilapple


Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book, and a great introduction to Rumi's thought, 22 April 2006
I have several books on Rumi that I have bought over the years, and originally I got this for a friend. I liked it so much I bought a copy for myself, and it is definitely my favourite collection of Rumi's poetry.

Not only is the translation by far the best I have come across so far (and it is now the standard by which I judge all the rest) but the selection is very thoughtful and the categories so useful for both reading through and dipping into that I find my other Rumi books oddly disatisfying or even irritating.

By far the MOST irritating is the Coleman Barks edition, which, even with the rather grandiose adjective "Essential" in the title, comes across as a highly dubious and unconvincing "translation". In fact, some parts sound so completely made up by the translator, you get the impression you are reading 20th century Coleman Barks, not Rumi at all. Instead of reading some of the greatest gems of Sufi thought, you find yourself transposed to a strange American alternate universe.

But I suspect it is also personal taste. For me, this spiritual treasury really does live up to its title - spiritually uplifting and a joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful insights into Rumi, 15 Mar 2005
I had bought a book of Rumi poetry from a bookshop and looked for another one browsing Amazon. This one caught my eye - it's got such a lovely cover - but when it arived I was even more impressed with the inside of the book. The introduction gives a very good overview of Rumi and his work, but then his words are left to speak for themselves. They are collected up under different headings, which I found very helpful and easy to follow, and it's a book I dip into again and again. I've just bought a second copy for a friend, and he loves it. Definitely one of the best Rumi collections around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rumi - a great conveyer, 3 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This book is brilliant, its a small collection of some brilliant writings of Rumi.
[...]
I love the way is which he is able to convey some deep messages with regards to spirirulity etc in such a few words. I am constantly referring to this book as a treasure of his works. Family and friends that have seen this book have the same opinion as me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Persian mystic ranks with the best, 7 Dec 2006
By 
Marc John - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes, he's good, very knowing. This 13th century Persian mystic has a nice, artful way with words and metaphors and, along with his 13th century German contemporary, Meister Eckhart, Rumi demonstrates beautifully with his rich, penetrating poetic style (not poems as such) that the divine Presence is WITHIN you and waiting to be discovered. This timeless insight - so horrendously concealed by the literalism of institutional religion - shines out on virtually every page. A few segments are perhaps too vague and prosaic, but overall this little books sits well alongside any of the mystical classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I wish I'd chosen a different Rumi book, 24 Nov 2011
This review is from: Rumi: A Spiritual Treasury (Paperback)
Nothing wrong with this book, only just that I hadn't realised that the verse would be purely focused on spiritual subjects. I had assumed that it would have a range of subject matter (nature, love, spirituality, etc.), and I would be able to read those typically quoted Rumi insights about all aspects of life. This book doesn't do that at all. It really is 'A Spiritual Treasury' and it is completely about specifically spiritual matters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rumi - a great conveyer, 3 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This book is brilliant, its a small collection of some brilliant writings of Rumi.
[...]
I love the way is which he is able to convey some deep messages with regards to spirirulity etc in such a few words. I am constantly referring to this book as a treasure of his works. Family and friends that have seen this book have the same opinion as me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rumi: A Spiritual Treasury (Paperback)
when you do things from your soul you feel a river moving in you, a joy" rumi. what more can be said .thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rumi: A Spiritual Treasury (Paperback)
great. The poetry is certainly moving. I really liked it. Great to meditate on . A really good pick me up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug 2014
This review is from: Rumi: A Spiritual Treasury (Paperback)
Rumi a great poet of the past. Much loved reading this handy pocket book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rumi: A Spiritual Treasury
Rumi: A Spiritual Treasury by Jalal al-Din Rumi (Paperback - 28 Feb 2008)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews