Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Righteously angry book
A book that helps to write back into history the genocide perpetrated on Palestininans in the early days of Israel. So many should hang their heads in shame for their role in this ethnic cleansing: the British for abandoning the Palestians who were being massacred and forced from their homes before their eyes; the UN for apportioning some 80% of Palestine to the Jews who...
Published 8 months ago by Mr Paul E Simpson

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A too emotional account of the events of 1947-1949
In "The ethnic Cleansing of Palestine", one of Pappe's main goals is to historically document that during the 1948 Arab-Israeli war and the simultaneous civil war, Israeli forces perpetrated an ethnic cleansing of Palestine. The book focuses mostly on the period 1947-1949, although the first chapters give an introduction to the historical roots of Zionism, and the final...
Published on 1 Oct 2012 by Alexander Sokol


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally the light of day, 11 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ethnic Cleansing of Palestine (Paperback)
An insightful and deeply disturbing account of the events leading up to 1947/48 in the Arab/Israeli war. Prior to reading this book I had always accepted the official Israeli viewpoint of an Israeli David fighting an Arab Goliath. Israel's constant wars against Arab nations after that seemed to be a continuance of that period in history.
Until I read The Ethnic Cleansing of Palestine that is. I've been a recent convert to the Palestinian cause after watching footage of Israeli tanks and gunships in action against stone throwing youths. And yet I still held onto the official line although the view was somewhat jaded.
Pappe is an Israeli and well qualified to write his new history and it is a history that will disturb. He reveals that the push to drive the Arabs out of Palestine was not the accidental and unfortunate result of a war of liberation, but a dedicated plan of ethnic cleansing set into stone before the end of the British Mandate. That this was done a mere three years after the world was shown the results of the Jewish Holocaust is a damning blow to the Zionist cause and a sad indictment on Ben Gurion, Begin, Sharon and the other Israeli 'heroes.' History it seems is written by the victors and in this age of media spin it's refreshing when someone pulls back the curtain to reveal the sad and ugly truth.
You will find it tough going but if one wants to understand the roots of the Arab/Israeli conflict then this book is a good starting point. It's well researched and has copious endnotes, maps, and a chronology at the end. He unashamedly takes the side of the Palestinians and makes no apology for that, one can almost feel the rage as he writes.
With Israel moving further and further to the right, Abbas courting the UN, and the incomprehensible ignorance of American politicians from both sides of the fence when it comes to the Middle East, Pappe's work is a veritable sledge hammer. A patriot is not someone who merely waves a flag, a trained monkey can do that; a patriot is one who loves their country so much they are prepared to stand up and call the powers that be to account for their lies and deceit. Pappe has alienated himself from his homeland by refusing to cave in to moral cowardice. And criticism of Israel has always been a touchy point after WWII but criticising Israel doesn't make us anti Semites, neo Nazis or even Jew haters. After all we criticise Western governments and no one bats an eyelid, it's called free speech.
As already mentioned it's a sad book to read but a necessary book if you want to understand the root causes of the Middle East conflict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shame on the League of Nations/United Nations, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ethnic Cleansing of Palestine (Paperback)
It's very sad and moving (parden the pun) but a must read and I only wish our schools had this for their pupils.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 3 Jan 2014
By 
somnus "somnus" (Cambes Lot et Garonne France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ethnic Cleansing of Palestine (Paperback)
This book may not please many people but for me it was a complete eye opener. I cannot help but feel sad for the Palestinian people, as, the way that their land was removed and the way that they have been subjugated is nothing short of disgusting. I have great respect for the author Ilan Pappe as he has clearly done much research into the history of Palestine and has written a very credible book. I actually bought 2 copies, one for a friend who also was astonished with the revelations in the story. I would recommend anyone to read this to get a better understanding of the Palestinian/Israeli conflict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!, 9 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Ethnic Cleansing of Palestine (Paperback)
A very detailed account of the truly tragic history of the Palestinian people.
To make any sense of the current situation we must look back at the history. Israel, from the very beginning, rejected co-existence and peace by carrying out mass genocide of the indigenous population.

The two-state solution is a myth. The UN and the Arab world have shamelessly ignored the ethnic cleansing of the Palestinians and continue to do so.

To label Israel as being democratic is an insult to humanity! To behave as a genocidal government after your own people were subjected to genocidal crimes is a mental illness. Sadly, history has confirmed Israel as being an illegitimate state born out of the massacre and expulsion of the indigenous Palestinian people.
The author must be applauded for highlighting the monumental injustice to the Palestinians. The Palestinians have every right to resist the oppressive occupiers of their land. Recent events in Gaza have made this book an essential and relevant read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I never knew, 11 Jan 2013
By 
H. Macrae (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book very illuminating and having been rather uninterested in the Palestinian cause I felt a deep sense of shame at the way the West stood by and allowed all this to happen. It is difficult to see how these wounds could ever heal. This is a readable book, but not an easy read. If you wonder why the Jews and Palestinian arabs don't make peace, suggest you read this. Harrowing stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible piece of literature, 19 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ethnic Cleansing of Palestine (Paperback)
As a former Israeli citizen, Proffessor in Israel and a Jew I find it astounding that anyone can claim that this or any of the writings of Ilan Pappe are biased. Pappe provides readers with factual and detailed accounts and information in this book regarding the systematic ethnic cleansing of Palestinians by Israel. I can not recommend this book highly enough for those who are interested in the topic of the Palestinian-Israel conflict or for those who would just like to know more about it. It is thoroughly insightful and by the time you finish reading it I assure you, you will be a more informed person with a far greater appreciation for the plight of the victims of Israel which includes Palestinians amongst many others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courageous critique, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The modern state of Israel was founded on a lie. It was founded on the forced expulsions and massacres of the indigenous people of Palestine. And it was done with the tacit agreement of the West. 531 Palestinian villages destroyed, 750000 people driven from their homes...these figures are the reality of The Nabka. Read this book and you will understand the burning injustice of what was done. Unless this is addressed there will never be a just, equal and lasting peace in the Holy Land. The book is all the more remarkable having been written by ah Israeli historian. His sources and notes are impeccable. This book is no rant, it is a reasoned explanation of what happened in 1948 and lays bares the lies told to us by the Zionist movement. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended., 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ethnic Cleansing of Palestine (Paperback)
Great analysis. I wish there were more books like this one. Unfortunately mainstream media will never allow these opinions to reach the masses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 7 May 2008
By 
Alan Holman (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ethnic Cleansing of Palestine (Paperback)
It took courage to write this book and puts Ilan Pappe in the same category as Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn. Solzhenitsyn lived in a different time and place; however his exposure of an unjust system with a manipulated history had significant impact on changing it.

During the past century a number of milestones have been put in place including the formation of the League of Nations, the United Nations and the Geneva Conventions. These define the standards to which we are expected to adhere (or be judged by) in both peace and war. We cannot compare what was acceptable behaviour in biblical times, ancient empires or the middle ages with a 20th Century ethnic cleansing.

If Pappe's book contributes towards peace in the Middle East through truth and reconciliation, then may history remember him well. He will have achieved what the United Nations and the world's leading superpower failed to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for understanding why the conflict exists and Palestinian right for self determination., 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ethnic Cleansing of Palestine (Paperback)
Using the experience of people whose homes were taken and who were forced to flee is the heart of a truth, which everyone should know about, to really understand the reason for Palestinian grievances and the fact that history had shown the policies and practices to be ethnic cleansing as defined by the United Nations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ethnic Cleansing of Palestine
The Ethnic Cleansing of Palestine by Ilan Pappe (Paperback - 7 Sep 2007)
£9.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews