Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is there anybody ou there?, 25 Sep 2007
This review is from: Life in the Universe: A Beginner's Guide, Astrobiology (Paperback)
This is a book where the author, traveling across the different branches of the tree of science, from biology to astronomy, from geology to chemistry, doesn't forget the roots and foresees the fruits that the future will bring.
RNA and DNA, red dwarfs, extremophiles, the search for a new Earth, possible alien life forms and other caracthers have their role in eight acts of an exciting play.

On a vivid, comprehensive, addicting writing, Dartnell not only embarks on this immense adventure but allow us to join him, giving us space in his vehicule to accompany him in the quest.

The author, besides possessing the knowledge, is gifted to legate it to inquisitory minds and to those giving their first steps in the astrobiology domains, a science conquering its space as times passes.

A book that couldn't be more actual and essencial to understand life, as exoplanets pop out from the darkness of space, as our knowledge about Mars, Titan, Enceladus and other stellar bodies grow, "Life in the Universe: A Beginner's Guide" appears at the perfect time as the perfect guide to know more about the secrets of the alchemy that brought us here and that permit us making the question:
Where might life be waiting us?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating! So much to learn..., 2 Jun 2011
This review is from: Life in the Universe: A Beginner's Guide, Astrobiology (Paperback)
I made this purchase as I am embarking on a degree course in Planetry Science. I bought the product speculatively, there were so many results on Amazon when I searched the term 'Astrobiology' that it took quite a long time before finally making a decision. That is not to say the book did not catch my eye quite early in my search.

Having read the book I believe I made the right choice, the author has done a wonderful job in writing this and has clearly done his research. This is very apparent when he explores the possibilities for biological evolution in our own planetry neighborhood, there are some surprises along the way, but the possibilities and drawbacks are reinforced by solid explanations.

I am also pleased to say that this book really gauges your interest, I literally could not stop reading. Rather than just present fact and speculation as they are, the author has gone to some length to tap into your imagination and keep you reading. Some the chapters just drift by without you realizing how much you have taken in. For this reason I will be reading parts of it again.

A beginners guide? Yes and No, there is some serious academic reading here. One of the reasons I held off from buying the book at first was the subtitle, A Beginners Guide. Again I will be re-reading parts of this book because it does contain some quite complex scientific facts. Especially where DNA, RNA and cellular evolution are concerned, but this is a credit to both the book and it's author.

I heartily recommend this work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Popular Science Style Book On Astrobiology, 28 Aug 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the Universe: A Beginner's Guide, Astrobiology (Paperback)
An informative and well written introduction to Life in the Universe. The book has been written for the general reader with the minimum of jargon. Where complex topics need to be introduced the descriptions are in clear English and easy to understand even by non-chemists and non-biologists and that is a sign of the true art of a popular science book.

An easy and interesting read by someone who has clearly done the background research to pull together hundreds of different strands of research from cosmology to chemistry into a coherent and useful book on an exciting topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 April 2010
By 
G. Houghton (Newbury, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life in the Universe: A Beginner's Guide, Astrobiology (Paperback)
A fascinating book about a complex subject which is easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 12 Aug 2008
This review is from: Life in the Universe: A Beginner's Guide, Astrobiology (Paperback)
This book does what what it says on the tin, providing a compendious account of Life in the Universe for those of us in too much of a hurry to engage with the 200-odd items in the bibliography containing much the same information more diffusely.

When you've taken a look at the other possible places life might lurk you'll be dumbfounded at the implausible growth of life on this planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb, achieves its goal in perfect style, describes the current state of the art in Astrobiology, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the Universe: A Beginner's Guide, Astrobiology (Paperback)
This is a fantastically written book. The style is not too serious and also not too informal. It keeps you interested without exaggerating or being overly speculative. You get a well balanced tour of life on Earth, possible life in the solar system, and life elsewhere. There's biology, astronomy, physics and chemistry woven together in an apt description of the current state of knowledge of life in the universe. Thoroughly recommended to scientists and non-scientists alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most Interesting, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the Universe: A Beginner's Guide, Astrobiology (Paperback)
I have always thought of ET as being a little green man in a flying saucer, this book educated me a little better in the different forms of life and what we may actually expect to find out there.

Quiet heavy going at times but worth persevering.

Still think ET will arrive one day in a flying saucer and there is a high chance she will be green :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Astrobiology, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Life in the Universe provided me with some of the additional learning material I needed for the
Astrobiology and the Search for Extraterrestrial Life offered by Coursera.org
To some of the topics I found more in-depth information not covered in detail by the course that I found invaluable to understanding this rewarding subject in astro science
This book helped me to be awarded a Distinction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The search for life is cool, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dr Dartnell explains the complex issues of the origin of life in really clear easy to understand English. It helps if you have a basic grounding in science
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Nov 2007
By 
Gordon Dyce "Bookreader" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life in the Universe: A Beginner's Guide, Astrobiology (Paperback)
A really interesting read, deals with some fascinating questions in an easy and accessible manner. I would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life in the Universe: A Beginner's Guide, Astrobiology
Life in the Universe: A Beginner's Guide, Astrobiology by Lewis Dartnell (Paperback - 8 Mar 2007)
9.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews