Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable
Rarely has a book captivated me as much as this one.....from the menace and destructive power of tyson to the speed and grace of roy jones.
Donald Mcrae's journey across the world to seek out the very best boxers of the time is fascinating from start to finish. At times funny at times heartbreaking this book is a must for boxing fans.
Utterly compeling as...
Published on 15 Jan 2006 by andrew brake

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coulda Been A Contender
The Dark Trade could have been one of the four or five truly great books about boxing. It covers a fascinating period in the sport's history, especially in the UK, with the golden era of Nigel Benn, Chris Eubank and the massively talented but ultimately tragic Michael Watson.

Only FX Toole, Leonard Gardener and Joyce Carol Oates can recreate the visceral...
Published on 24 July 2008 by Fiery Jack


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable, 15 Jan 2006
Rarely has a book captivated me as much as this one.....from the menace and destructive power of tyson to the speed and grace of roy jones.
Donald Mcrae's journey across the world to seek out the very best boxers of the time is fascinating from start to finish. At times funny at times heartbreaking this book is a must for boxing fans.
Utterly compeling as he enters the mind of the boxer to try and understand why they have chosen the fight game as there path in life.
Im only sad that ive finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A personal journey into the minds of boxers., 26 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dark Trade: Lost in Boxing (Paperback)
Donald McRae brings his personal insights from many hundreds of hours spent in the company of professional fighters to the page in a remarkable book.
Not only does he look at the big stars in boxing, but also the smaller names who do so much to ensure the survival of this sport.
The insights here are fascinating, revealing to the reader the motivations of the professional fighter in a refreshingly objective text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot recommend it more, 17 Feb 2003
This is a superb book. Through brief glimpses into the worlds of various top boxers you can create a picture of the modern condition of professional boxing. It is written like a memoir, a journal or a diary, following the author from his first meeting with Mike Tyson, traveling to various places around the world, interviewing the likes of Roy Jones, Oscar de la Hoya, Chris Eubank to name a few, and then coming full circle to meet Mike Tyson again before he fought Evander Holyfield. It gives insight into the psychology of a fighter, and the politics of all those controlling him, and even glimpses of the personal lives, introducing wives, girlfriends, children. Any fan of boxing would find this book a pleasure to read, I have loaned my copy to six people, all of whom enjoyed it, and surprisingly not all were boxing fans. It is written by a fan for a fan, and the author treats each of the legends with the same respect, awe and compassion that they all deserve. I simply cannot recommend this book any more than to say it is a must read for anyone. This is a total all-rounder. **********, ten out of ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contender for best boxing book written, 23 July 2009
By 
JWA Drennan (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm fussy. I can't finish most books. I get bored, irritated by bad writing, or just tired by the same cliches. I have reread this book 3 times over 5 years. It differs, as it shows boxing in two lights, the barbaric brutality than claims lives, along with the incredible skill it demands.

It's fascinating because it's one man's journey through boxing. He meets the fighters and gets more out of them than you'd ever expect. The fear, the joy and the brutality of the boxing ring. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top quality sports writing, 26 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
McRae manages to beautifully convey the complexities that surround the fight game. The warmth and compassion that many many fighters display, combined with the petrifying ferocity - and the even more petrifying origins of that aggression - that sustains them. He gives us depressingly predictable insight into the dark heart of boxing, the murkiness and duplicitousness of promoters and the abuse of fighters who deserve better, and even the terrific dangers that fighters subject themselves to. What I especially liked about it was McRae's humility and sensitivity throughout, he never takes his access to the fighters for granted, and gets across his trepidation when confronted with these volatile men. Absolutely great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore anything less than 5 *., 12 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As the title mentions, anything under 5 this book does not deserve. A well written experience of a man who has come across many a big name in the fight game, he captures James Toney in outstanding fashion, the aura he builds in the dressing room and a fighters entrance is second to none. He explains the back and forth feud between Kallen and Toney, how a young fatherless james toney would become champ, his shortcomings and failures. He also discusses his interviews with Tyson whilst he was imprisoned and brings a different Tyson to surface, his disgrace at Eubank, and a young and enthusiastic Naseem before he was the prince.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into many big names Of 90's and 00's boxing, 19 Jan 2014
The tragic parts of the book stay in the mind but I enjoyed the insight and interviews with so many fighters I've really liked the most about this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!, 5 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. Ravinder S. Khabra "ravkhabra" (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book. You gain a real insight into the minds of the fighters and the way that the book is written is witty, articulate and incisive. The fighters that McRae mainly writes about are Mike Tyson, James Toney, Roy Jones, Naseem Hamed and a few others too. The book rekindled memories of some of the great fighters of the 90s and really got me thinking about the fight game, how one minute a fighter could be on top of the world, the next, lying in a coma fighting for their lives. If you're a boxing fan you'll love this book and won't want to put it down. An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 27 Oct 2011
Great read. Must have for any boxing enthusiast. The writer goes into great detail, you gain an insight into the boxers' lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book - mini review, 29 July 2010
Personally I thought this book was excellent and I couldn't put it down. It gave a fantastic insight into the mind set of all the boxers included and also hit a chord with why I enjoy and dislike boxing at the same time.
Great book, and well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Trade: Lost in Boxing
Dark Trade: Lost in Boxing by Donald McRae (Paperback - 18 Sep 1997)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews