Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and Creepy
I bought this particular volume whilst on a visit to Edinburgh Castle a few years ago. It's a marvellous compendium of the weird, the strange and the downright bizarre from Edinburgh's past.
Published on 13 Nov 2007 by Tony Walker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for getting a feel of old Edinburgh
Edinburgh very much in the centre of my life at present, scary and spooky, a book on Edinburgh's serial killers
Published 9 months ago by Shaun Cheyne


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and Creepy, 13 Nov 2007
This review is from: Ghostly Tales and Sinister Stories of Old Edinburgh (Paperback)
I bought this particular volume whilst on a visit to Edinburgh Castle a few years ago. It's a marvellous compendium of the weird, the strange and the downright bizarre from Edinburgh's past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canny Ghoslty Read, 2 April 2010
By 
Mr. David Cooper "cooperman" (Newbiggin By The Sea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghostly Tales and Sinister Stories of Old Edinburgh (Paperback)
This is an old book now but great read tells a lot about old Edinburgh was good deal also from seller quick delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All the grim and grisly anecdotes you could possibly want to know, if you missed out on the Edinburgh ghost tours!, 29 Sep 2014
This review is from: Ghostly Tales and Sinister Stories of Old Edinburgh (Paperback)
I bought this book in the shop at one of the attractions in Edinburgh: The Georgian House. If you're in Edinburgh and haven't got the time to do the ghost tours of such places as Mary King's Close, then buy and read this book instead. By the time you've finished you'll know all the grim and grisly anecdotes you could possible want to about body snatchers, foul deeds, miscarriages of justice, and by no means least, the history of the Edinburgh Mob, ever-present in all the stories, and often affecting the outcome.

Entertaining, flesh-creeping, inspiring horror and wonder, these tales are all related in the fluent, loquacious style you may expect from any of the actors who lead ghost tours in the historical towns and cities of Britain. You will enjoy it - if you're into this kind of thing! (And fortunately I'm going to move on to the perfect antidote next: Alexander McCall Smith, who also writes about Edinburgh, but who provides a different view of human nature with his light-hearted, warm and gentle humour.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for getting a feel of old Edinburgh, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghostly Tales and Sinister Stories of Old Edinburgh (Paperback)
Edinburgh very much in the centre of my life at present, scary and spooky, a book on Edinburgh's serial killers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Edinburgh seen in a different light?, 24 Nov 2013
This review is from: Ghostly Tales and Sinister Stories of Old Edinburgh (Paperback)
The book can be read in a few days. It is separated into two parts: one half ghost stories and the other about traitors, murders, witches and the mob. There are many different short stories. Some more memorable than others. Sometimes the stories are written in old English and you might read certain sections a few times, but nothing that cant be mastered. Was I scared or shocked by past laws and treatments of people? Yes, I was. The content, true or not, made me realise how I value the Times we live in today and where open speech is not punishable by death!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghostly Tales and Sinister Stories of Old Edinburgh (Paperback)
This was a great book, very interesting and tells you about the things that went on in Edinburgh in the old times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 15 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghostly Tales and Sinister Stories of Old Edinburgh (Paperback)
Was enjoyed by recipient
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hardly any ghostly tales - most of them are tales of people who once lived in Edinburgh, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghostly Tales and Sinister Stories of Old Edinburgh (Paperback)
This title is misleading - I bought it thinking it would be another ghost book for my collection but there's hardly any ghost stories and legends in it. It's more accounts on people who once lived in the vicinity of Old Town Edinburgh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghostly Tales and Sinister Stories of Old Edinburgh
Ghostly Tales and Sinister Stories of Old Edinburgh by Frank McGrail (Paperback - 25 July 1991)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews