Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 July 2013
A great guide to identifying dragonflies and damselflies, both my children and myself enjoy using this whenever we have a day out near wildlife ponds or any water courses. A wonderful aid to my childrens' love of natural history. The FSC guides are an invaluable resource for anyone who wants to learn about the incredible wildlife we are lucky to have in the UK.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
Beautifully produced, this laminated fold out guide is one of a series that covers many aspects of British natural history, from bees to birds and ladybirds to orchids. Although slightly too large for the average pocket, it's perfect to fit in a bag or rucksack and has certainly helped me to identify species of dragonflies 'out in the field'.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
My review refers to the second edition (2004) of this 12 page pullout leaflet from the Field Studies Council but also has the Natural History Museums name on it.
17 damselflies ( magnification 1.5) and 28 dragonflies( life size)are illustrated.
Following an introduction there are sections on life cycle,identification,British species then 2 tables on dragon flies and damselflies -each is numbered but not numerically with the following which are illustrated but are not in the tables.
Damselflies no.14
Dragonflies no. 25,26,27,30,39,42.
The text is well written but the omissions do it no credit.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2015
This guide is a folded 2-sided sheet that I think is laminated, making it wipe-clean. The illustrations are life-sized and show males and females. The narrative is is detailed enough to inform and identify, and is succinct. A very useful and easy-to-use document. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 August 2014
Having recently visited a nature reserve and taken several images of dragonflies and damselflies I needed to identify them. This chart is ideal for the job. On the front is a photographic display that made identification easy and on the back is some general information that is interesting. The whole thing has a wipe clean surface and is well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
Fantastic for use in the field. Used on a secondary school field trip. Comments on how rare species were was very useful in the field for my students to confirm their suspicions. Laminated so excellent for use in the field
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
Great little guide to slip into your backpack without the weight of a full identification book. I have a few of these guides and use them a lot. Recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
Easy to carry, well made but perhaps colours could be a bit more true and vibrant. Shiny coating is nice touch, but I don't know if it will be waterproof.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
A really handy field guide to have around. Fold well and fits into most backpacks. It is also well protected from dirty hands and the climate.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
This item was perfect for my environmental management uni course and was very easy to use and identify dragonflies with
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)