Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 September 2003
An absolute must for any collector from dealers to the novice interested in silverware. This book is laid out in very easy to use format making hallmark reference somewhat idiot proof and includes invaluable information on Makers and their marks.
The only downside of this book is that, whilst it covers a good few centuries, hallmarks for the last 12 years are not shown (only relevant for those interested in modern pieces).
11 comment|102 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2007
Highly recommend this book,packed full of useful data about Silver Hall marks along with the history of Hallmarks.Clear and comprehensive.An ideal purchase for collectors of Silver.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2005
If you need to know anything about silver hallmanks then this is the book for you. Only just received book but flicking through tells you in plain English what is collectable what marks to look for. Great communication from the seller I will deffinately be looking out for other titles.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 May 2012
Look in secondhand bookshops and you'll easily find a pocket guide to hallmarks. Most are pretty limited and this is definitely the best, extracted from the mammoth Silver and Gold Marks of England, Scotland and Ireland or "Big Jackson". Perhaps I should have given it more stars, but Sod's Law, the maker's mark I'm looking up always seems to be one of the ones that has been left out. For dating and identifying provincial marks it's spot on, though. It is narrow, but a little tall for most pockets; a dumpier, thicker book might have been better. As it is, the projecting top gets scraped by your cuff and rapidly becomes dog-eared. Also when bootfair stallholders see you coming with this sticking out of your jacket the canny ones will look to their stock; keep it in an inside pocket, and don't look up the hallmarks until AFTER you've bought. This means, for the beginner, memorising what a real hallmark consists of before you go out. Don't buy anything with the letters "E P N S" no matter how gothic and picturesque the writing, but be very alive to the look of provincial marks. Even so-called professionals make mistakes; an antique dealer told me of buying a set of 6 wildly rare and valuable antique Perth spoons for a fiver, from amongst the pile of silver plated stuff, in a "proper" antique shop I go in regularly. Curses!!!

Once you get a real interest, you'll want the Big Jackson, but you definitely can't take that around with you, so you'll need this, whatever it's shortcomings.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2010
I believe this book is a useful tool for your knowledge. It will help your knowledge & understanding in reading hallmarks and if your serious about collecting, selling or buying Gold & silver within the United Kingdom then this book can be the one of many on your purchase list.

It's very detailed within in it;s knowledge, stating year, birthplace, maker, and majority of the time the history of new rules and law changes.

Purchasing this book is definitely worth it.

Until next time

Have a good time

Joseph
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2014
An invaluable aid to silver, gold and platinum marks. I particulary like the fact that you see the whole letter sequence and script for each period. I had from previous books found it hard to identify a sequence with just a single letter example.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
The last listing for hallmarks is 1991---- 24 years ago! I thought it would be more up to date.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
this book is everything i expected. it's got a comprehensive list of all hallmarks made since 1300ad. if you need to check a hallmark it's in this book
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
Great little book which appears better than the internet. Nicely laid out and will hopefully resolve the issue of the internet being unclear and confusing. has some useful basics in the front and then goes on to list the various Assay Offices of London, Birmingham, Chester, Dublin, Edinburgh, Exeter, Glasgow, Newcastle, Norwich, Sheffield and York plus the English, Irish and Scottish Provincial Marks.

The edition I received was first publishe 1991 and reprinted in 2014.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
This is a great book, collecting vintage and antique jewellery is a big hobby for me, and I use this all the time. It is a good size for taking out with you, in a bag, when going to vintage fairs for example. I want the bigger version of this book, but can't justify the cost just now.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)