Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and manageable map
The map proved robust, manageable in size and easy to read compared to OS maps by dividing the Path into manegeable chunks.

It also contains more camping/hostel and other accommodation information than the equivalent OS Map which was particularly useful in my case when having to change my plan and found a nearby bunkhouse which was not on the OS Map...
Published on 23 May 2010 by Steven Marshall

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Useful if in car or on bus
Useful if in car or on bus. Lacks detail and should not be used in place of OS map. Tail is well sign posted but this map does not show alternative paths and interest points to north or south of trail.
Published 10 months ago by Lcad


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and manageable map, 23 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hadrians Wall XT40 Route Map (Map)
The map proved robust, manageable in size and easy to read compared to OS maps by dividing the Path into manegeable chunks.

It also contains more camping/hostel and other accommodation information than the equivalent OS Map which was particularly useful in my case when having to change my plan and found a nearby bunkhouse which was not on the OS Map

When I walked the Path I took both this and the equivalent OS map but found myself using the Harvey map more.

Only one minor criticism is that the map really zones in on the route and does not provide sufficient mapping either side of the route which would be a great help as camp sites and B&B's were frustratingly just outside its mapping zone. One could say it would make the map larger like the OS equivalent but there is sufficient room on the Harvey map just to expand the mapping a bit more.

Having said that, it is an essential piece of kit for anyone withing the walk the Path.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must have map for Hadrian's Wall, 30 July 2011
This review is from: Hadrians Wall XT40 Route Map (Map)
Bought this product as an alternative to the 4 OS maps that cover the whole of Hadrian's Wall. The wall is broken down into a number of easy to use panels showing sections of the wall starting at Bowness and ending at Wallsend. Overall the map was good, anyone used to OS maps will find this clear although at 1:40000 some of the very fine details (fences etc) aren't always shown. That said we didn't have any issues. The map includes other information about the route which was helpful but some of the information needs updating (e.g. closed pubs, post offices, campsites). The panels could also do with being a bit wider - it covers the wall and a mile or so on either side - for those wanting to take their time and explore places of interest slightly off the wall route. Overall though I was very happy with it rate this map highly, it was more than worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hadrians Wall XT40 Route Map, 4 Oct. 2011
By 
Mr. N. Adams (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hadrians Wall XT40 Route Map (Map)
When asked to organise the logistics for a charity walk I was a little unsure, I bought this map because it shows the whole wall on one map unlike Ordnance Survey maps. The scale and information on this made it a pleasure to do what I had to do. I was able to arrange stopping places and watering holes as well as finding camp sites close to the wall. Since embarking on the job the map has been my constant companion.
I would recommend it to anyone for serious walking or just days out. Not just good guidance but full of pertinent information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading, 12 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hadrians Wall XT40 Route Map (Map)
An absolutely essential companion to the Hadrian's Wall Path experience. It is clear, informative and extremely useful. It is attestably water-proof and withstood all the rigours of the walk, held in my hand every step of the way, for regular consultation. Heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but needs updating, 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hadrians Wall XT40 Route Map (Map)
I walked the trail in early August 2013 with this map and the Cicerone book. There are serious omissions, for example the bypass to the West of Carlisle. The trail is well signed under it but it is disconcerting to find what seems to be the M6 in the wrong place.

Frankly the signage is so good one hardly needs a map but it is extremely useful to identify features off the trail and to find your accommodation, which may a mile or more away and out of sight. I referred to it constantly.

As has been mentioned, it covers the whole trail in roughly 15 mile sections, ie a day's walk per section. Being waterproof is not just a gimmick, I have never been so wet with my clothes on. Even on good days you will get heavy showers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hadrians wall map, 4 Dec. 2013
By 
Stephen W. Foster (sunderland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hadrians Wall XT40 Route Map (Map)
Good, clear and concise. Waterproof as well. I plan to use it next year but it looks ideal and will fit in pocket no problem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars map, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hadrians Wall XT40 Route Map (Map)
very useful map on our holidays. We can use it again and again, Good information easy to carry in back pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal map for Hadrians Wall, 28 April 2011
This review is from: Hadrians Wall XT40 Route Map (Map)
Hadrians Wall XT40 Route Map
Ideal map due to polythene durability & detail.
Links very well with Hadrians Wall Path by Henry Stedman to ensure you stay on the path & reach your overnight stays.
Best to look at 10/12 mile chunks due to terrain especially if hot weather.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hadrians wall map, 20 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hadrians Wall XT40 Route Map (Map)
Invaluable for my 84 mile Hadrian's Wall trek back in June 2012. The map did exactly as it said on the tin, very rugged and using it as "strip" maps inside its transparent case was a delight, especially as I had rain every day. (Recommend the walk to those of you with the proper boots!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great map, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hadrians Wall XT40 Route Map (Map)
Completed a charity walk of Hadrian's wall using this map. Nicely detailed and accurate with all the campsites and pubs etc. Makes life a lot easier than carrying the 4 or 5 different OS maps that cover the route.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hadrians Wall XT40 Route Map
Hadrians Wall XT40 Route Map by Harvey Map Services Ltd (Map - 10 April 2012)
£11.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews