Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the job for keeping the Grim Reaper at bay, 23 Nov 2007
By 
John Williams (Apeldoorn, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skye the Cuillin XT25 (Superwalker) (Map)
I already had the OS 1:25,000 map of the Cuillin and Torridon hills, but this is much better. The bolder, more colourful mapping is much easier to read. The main part of this map covers an area from Broadford in the east to Glenbrittle in the west, Sligachan in the north and Loch Scavaig in the south. This itself is a great map, but what is printed on the other side makes it even more vaulable. Here we have an expanded (1:12,500) map of the whole of the Black Cuillin Ridge including a key to crag names/climbing areas. Also on this side is a simplified diagram showing the main ridge and its spurs and all of the possible escape routes, visitor and travel information including some useful phone numbers, a glossary of Gaelic names and the Scottish outdoor access code. Given the inhospitable terrain, the unpredictability of the mountain weather, and the tricks played on compasses by the magnetic rock in the Cuillin, it would be daft to venture up there without the best map you can find. Hence the title of this review. By the way, I've never seen any of these Harvey maps cheaper than here on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best, 22 Feb 2009
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Skye the Cuillin XT25 (Superwalker) (Map)
If you want the best you sometimes have to pay for it. If you are thinking of doing Britains greatest mountain challenge, the magnificent Skye ridge, or climbing/scrambling some of those beautiful and distinctive peaks, then this is the map to have. Dont settle for less. The weather on Skye is fickle at the best of times and as has already been mentioned a compass can be unreliable. It is all too easy to get lost during inclement weather. When your life is at stake there can be no compromise. As you have navigated this far you may be aware of Harveys. They operate to a niche market of serious walkers and climbers who demand that little bit extra. Much as I admire OS Explorer maps, Harveys has them beat for sheer detail. If you take preparation and risk assessment as seriously as I do then choose this map. Dont make sacrifices with the most important items!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant mapping, fragile paper, 7 Nov 2010
By 
Adam Walmsley (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skye the Cuillin XT25 (Superwalker) (Map)
I agree with all the comments made by previous reviewers. This is a great map of the Cuillin and the one you want if you're going into these hills. The 1:12500 enlargement of the Black Cuillin is invaluable if you're attempting the ridge traverse as route finding is difficult. It also shows escape routes off the ridge even though they're not necessarily paths.
My only issue is the paper quality which is a bit fragile. It is supposed to be waterproof but I spent one wet day in the hills with it and its not looking too happy. It probably wouldn't stand up to much more wet weather use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Map, 16 Oct 2011
By 
ROD (South Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Skye the Cuillin XT25 (Superwalker) (Map)
This is an excellent map. Easy to read and understand. I will definitely by purchasing more Harvey Superwlker maps in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skye the Cuillin XT25 (Superwalker) (Map)
Great map with good details of contours of the mountains I wanted to climb, added bonus that its shower proof
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cuillin map, 4 Sep 2011
This review is from: Skye the Cuillin XT25 (Superwalker) (Map)
a wonderfully clear map and guide that gave the right amount of appropriate detail. Thank goodness we had when the clouds came down...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skye the Cuillin (Superwalker) review, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skye the Cuillin XT25 (Superwalker) (Map)
Usual Harvey quality.

Needs to be used in conjunction with the Skye Scrambles: Scottish Mountaineering Club Scramblers' Guide (Scottish Mountaineering Club Guide) iin order to promote a safe day on these particular hills.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good alternative, 25 July 2013
This review is from: Skye the Cuillin XT25 (Superwalker) (Map)
Good detailed map, my first Harvey's, it'll take a bit of getting used to especially when I'm more familiar with O.S mapping but it shows a bit more detail which is good and it makes the lay of the land a tad more understandable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great little map, 22 Mar 2009
By 
B. Holt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skye the Cuillin XT25 (Superwalker) (Map)
totally agree with the other reviews. it is a great map although i would say that the quality of the paper was a bit of let down.
I'm sure it will be very useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Skye the Cuillin XT25 (Superwalker)
Skye the Cuillin XT25 (Superwalker) by Harvey Maps (Map - 25 Feb 2014)
9.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews