Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did we really appear like that?
I bought this book for a friend having read it myself previously.

A very serious document but nevertheless amusing in the way that the Germans thought of us as people. References to the 'class' system, with the poorest people not only being poor but filthy and ignorant to boot.

The book runs into much detail as to where cover could be found during...
Published on 6 Jun 2010 by Mr. R. B. Allen

versus
30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading title, very disappointing
I have to agree with Jonesy's review of this book.
The title made me think of the arrows from the Dad's Army intro sweeping inland toward London from the south coast and details of where the Panzers would be concentrated, instead I got information about the various types of road surfacing and the percentage of goods carried by canal.

A more apt title for...
Published on 10 Jan 2008 by Can O. Zebra


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading title, very disappointing, 10 Jan 2008
This review is from: German Invasion Plans for the British Isles, 1940 (Hardcover)
I have to agree with Jonesy's review of this book.
The title made me think of the arrows from the Dad's Army intro sweeping inland toward London from the south coast and details of where the Panzers would be concentrated, instead I got information about the various types of road surfacing and the percentage of goods carried by canal.

A more apt title for this book would be "Dull statistics of the British Isles, 1940". German invasion plans? Who do you think you are kidding Mr. Bodleian Library?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars False Advertising?, 29 Sep 2007
This review is from: German Invasion Plans for the British Isles, 1940 (Hardcover)
Now, when i saw this book sitting on the shelf in Waterstones, the title triggered visions of detailed plans of possible troop movements, pinpointed landing sites, logistical data and generals drawing arrows on maps. I foresaw this as a long-awaited, unabridged copy of the invasion plans for Great Britain as seen by Hitler and his war cabinet in 1940.
However, it was much to my consternation when i read through this book and discovered that it is actually not plans at all, but more of a collection of pre-war data about Great Brtain; even a travel guide, if you will.
The book, broken down into 3 parts; Analysis and vital statistics, Strategic and military assessment, and Military and geographical phrases, is very intersting and features some fascinating photos of Britain before the war, but nowhere is there printed a single sentence that suggests what the German high command planned to do on the ground. The Wehrmacht, Kriegsmarine and Luftwaffe are given no mention, and the logistical feasibility of implementing a sea-bourne invasion is not brought into question.
One can almost see this text being handed to German field-officers as a form of guide book to Britain, and what to expect in terms of infra-structure and population distribution, prior to an invasion.
I have to admit that i am disappointed overall, and feel almost cheated by the title. It seems a little too much hype went into the naming of this book.

Michael Jones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I agree with the above, 28 Jan 2008
This review is from: German Invasion Plans for the British Isles, 1940 (Hardcover)
This was a dull unenlightening read...to the historian researching WWII from a german perspective it is probably deeply intriging, but as a read unto itself i wouldn't bother. I have read others in this series of reprint and found them interesting, but this simply looks better than it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did we really appear like that?, 6 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. R. B. Allen (Stourbridge, West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: German Invasion Plans for the British Isles, 1940 (Hardcover)
I bought this book for a friend having read it myself previously.

A very serious document but nevertheless amusing in the way that the Germans thought of us as people. References to the 'class' system, with the poorest people not only being poor but filthy and ignorant to boot.

The book runs into much detail as to where cover could be found during fighting and the best parts of the country to obtain food and supplies. Somehow don't think Wales was too popular, not only from the point of view of mountains but also the general lack of food sources.

Great many statistics regarding population and industry, not quite certain how accurate it might have been? Also maps of certain areas highlighting the positions of factories and other places of strategic interest.

An interesting little volume, makes me wonder what we might have written if the same thing had been written by us about the Germans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intresting and Insightful, 19 Dec 2011
This review is from: German Invasion Plans for the British Isles, 1940 (Hardcover)
Although the title, is partly misleading and should have labelled saying it as a handbook for the German soldier. It is intresting and insightful of what the German military's perspective on Britain was and what they accounted as important essentail military knowledge. A brilliant and intriguing book into the Second World War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What Plans?, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: German Invasion Plans for the British Isles, 1940 (Hardcover)
I was disappointed to find the title was completely misleading.
There was nothing much more than a description of Britain and the British, as seen through German eyes.
Certainly there was mention of the cover available for troop movements in certain areas, and a discourse on the futility of attempting to disrupt the British rail network, but that aside the book made bland reading to say the least.

We have all heard the Germans had lists of named people they wished to assassinate or interrogate. They were extremely organized and thorough to the point of obsession. We know they would have pinpointed places to set up their HQs, land their planes and set up supply depots etc, etc........so why no mention of this?

Is it possible there is still some form of censorship applying to this information; if so then at least admit it rather than try to palm us off like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Nazi view of wartime UK. Good read for anyone interested in this period of the war. WW 2 buffs, 4 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. M. C. Lewis "Martyn Lewis" (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: German Invasion Plans for the British Isles, 1940 (Hardcover)
Interesting Nazi view of wartime UK. Good read for anyone interested in this period of the war. WW 2 buffs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Short and only for England., 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: German Invasion Plans for the British Isles, 1940 (Hardcover)
Interesting and detailed booklet that covers what nazi Germany clearly thought were essential bits of info. Unfortunately, the title is a little bit misleading as aside from some brief mentions of Wales, this is very specifically an invasion guide for England alone. The actual invasion plans cover each section of England from Dover to the scottish border, mentions Cardiff, then stops. If you wanted to know their plans for NI or Scotland or the Channel Islands, or Eire which is geographically in the 'british isles' the is not the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Small and simple, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: German Invasion Plans for the British Isles, 1940 (Hardcover)
Perhaps not exactly what I had in mind, but I liked the book, and it filled a hole in my research on Operation Sealion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 1940 Lonely Planet guide to Britain., 28 Mar 2012
This review is from: German Invasion Plans for the British Isles, 1940 (Hardcover)
Someone that I know who works in a charity shop gave me this because they thought I might find it interesting. Sadly, not so. I have always been very dubious about claims that we were very nearly invaded, the evidence just isn't there, so if is the sum total of German plans then my previous views are confirmed.

The book title is totally misleading, this is a tourist guide to the geographical regions of the UK, nothing more.

One is the lowest number of stars that I can rate a book at, if possible I would have given it zero, the same amount that I paid for this book. If you want my copy you can have it, I'd hate for some poor sap to have to pay for a copy, even at charity shop prices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0acbdbc)

This product

German Invasion Plans for the British Isles, 1940
German Invasion Plans for the British Isles, 1940 by Bodleian Lib (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2007)
5.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews