Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars montessori....the absorbent mind
they say you don't get a book with a new baby....uh, you do....this one. even 100 years after her findings, montessori philosophy has never been so relevant as today. i read this when my son was born and now am a qualified montessorian. forget all those modern techniques....this is all you need. it does take a while to read through properly, but it will open your...
Published on 5 Feb. 2009 by Ms. F. Parsons

versus
38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dont buy this if you are training as a montessori teacher
Calling all montessori teacher trainees, Do not buy this book as it is an abridged version and has cut out alot of the very important links that you need to understand between Montessori's theories and the theories of child developmentalists such as Piaget and his theory of Materialised Abstraction and the mathematical mind. This version is fine for parents interested in...
Published on 20 Oct. 2009 by Mrs. C. E. Stokes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dont buy this if you are training as a montessori teacher, 20 Oct. 2009
By 
Mrs. C. E. Stokes (kent,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Absorbent Mind (Paperback)
Calling all montessori teacher trainees, Do not buy this book as it is an abridged version and has cut out alot of the very important links that you need to understand between Montessori's theories and the theories of child developmentalists such as Piaget and his theory of Materialised Abstraction and the mathematical mind. This version is fine for parents interested in Montessori for use in home education or anyone who has just a passing interest but anyone who is a serious student and wanting to become a professional Montessori teacher dont touch it with a barge pole. I am training as a Montessori teacher and when i found out it had whole important sections cut out of it i felt cheated and ripped off. No where in the book or on the front or back cover does it specify that it is abridged. Best to go for a clio copy if you can because that version is not abridged. I dont dislike the absorbent mind, i love it! its just this version here of it i dont like, cant believe the publishers have got away with it. Now i have read the clio version realise how much info i missed out on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars montessori....the absorbent mind, 5 Feb. 2009
By 
Ms. F. Parsons "figzminigz" (my own planet) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Absorbent Mind (The Clio Montessori series) (Paperback)
they say you don't get a book with a new baby....uh, you do....this one. even 100 years after her findings, montessori philosophy has never been so relevant as today. i read this when my son was born and now am a qualified montessorian. forget all those modern techniques....this is all you need. it does take a while to read through properly, but it will open your mind...and possibly enable you to create the most wonderful children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 13 Dec. 2009
This review is from: The Absorbent Mind (Paperback)
First of all one should note that this is a very poor edition. It seems to haev been machine scanned from a printed copy to digital and then went straight to print without even as much as a quik cusory spell check, never mind a read. There seem to be some paragraphs missing and there are sone awfull spelling errors such as replacing "s" with "$". Still, this did not stop me enjoying this copy. Good ness knows I'm capable of a few awfull spelling mistakes myself.

One thing I've learned about the "great" books, be it Aristotle's Politics or Plato's Republic or just a good old pot boiler such as The Count of Monty Christo, is that it pays to go and read the originals. Almost without exception the idea I had of these books and their authors was dramatically different from what I discovered reading them and in the reading was a whole new perspective on the author and the times. This book is no exception.

For example, it was interesting to discover the Madam M. was not a believer in Darwinian Evolution, but instead in what would be known today as Intelligent Design. She seems to have had a very structured It was also interesing to get a good perspective on why her methods were seen as so radical at the time. To read the scare warning by the publisher on the inside cover one would think Madam Montesorri was some sort of raving racist but the text of the books gives a very strong impression that the opposite was very much true with her speaking glowingly and in very equal terms of various cultures. One can't quite get away from a vague whiff if a LeCorbusier like view of the world though, where efficiency and order and everyone knowing their station are the most beautiful of qualities. MM has an almost mythic belief in the ability of the child of under 6 to adapt and learn but it is mirrored by an equally strong conviction in the inability of adults to change or learn or adapt.

As for the contents of the book one must be frank and admit that a great deal of it is not very much to the point and often rather boring. There is a great deal of repetition and one often wishes the author would just get tot he point. Smattered throughout, with a greater concentration towards the end of the text, are insights into the education of children in what she views as the 3 developmental stages ( 0 -3, 3 - 6 and 6 - 12) but although these are powerful and probably more subtle that a first reading would credit them, they are also far from being in terms of a manual which one could take and apply except in the most general of ways. Perhaps there are good modern Montessori method books out there for parents to use in the education of their children, but I don't think this was either meant to be that book nor can it be used as such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes it's great - but although highly cogent, a very "dense" read, 7 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Absorbent Mind (The Clio Montessori series) (Paperback)
Yes, it was a bit of a struggle reading through this, frankly. Not for the faint-hearted. It is crammed with ideology and momentum given the time it was written (after the Second World War). It is very much of its time, the developmental theories I agree with, but the ideology takes over. I would not read this first-hand until you had read introductions to Montessori's teaching. But that's just me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WORK OF GENIUS BY THIS EDUCATION PIONEER, 10 July 2001
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Absorbent Mind (The Clio Montessori series) (Paperback)
This is a mind-blowing, life-altering book that should be required reading for all educators and parents. It details the various patterns of child's development and growth, whilst providing effective strategies for understanding and dealing with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book. Poor quality of ink and many printed mistakes., 15 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Absorbent Mind (Paperback)
The book is a classic that anybody interested in education and developmental psychology should get.
However, I regret the bad quality of the ink (some words almost fade away) and many mistakes of printing make its reading difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Montessori training? DO NOT BUY THIS VERSION!, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Absorbent Mind (Paperback)
I bought this book to help me with my Montessori training, it is not the original version although it doesn't actually tell you that anywhere, You can't use it with the training because the chapters are not the same and the content is different in parts. I too feel cheated and CAN'T BELIEVE THE PUBLISHERS CAN GET AWAY WITH SELLING IT. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars absorbent mind, 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Absorbent Mind (Paperback)
Couldn't wait to read this book,it is very interesting although it is a bit heavy going. I found though that the print is not that clear and there are quite a lot of typos - puts me off a bit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best.., 20 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Absorbent Mind (Paperback)
If you are just looking for a simply written version of this Maria Montessori book, well this is the book for you. It was well priced. However, I found the english translation lacked equolence, it came across as if the person who wrote it did not have english as their first laungage, if you understand what I mean by that.. to explain, it felt like I was reading an Indian persons translation of Montessori's book. I don't know how many people would have picked up on that! it is still very easy to read, but you may not understand what Montessori was trying to say, as they are not her words or her style of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not for Trainee Montessori Teachers!, 1 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Absorbent Mind (Paperback)
Whilst I am certain this book is more than adequate for new parents wanting to learn the theories and philosophies of Maria Montessori, it is not appropriate for study; The translation is weak, and many important topics are removed. Furthermore, it does not have the publishing information for Bibliographies. For trainees, stick to the Clio Montessori series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Absorbent Mind (The Clio Montessori series)
The Absorbent Mind (The Clio Montessori series) by Maria Montessori (Paperback - Aug. 1988)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews