Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read This book
A thrilling story - well written and deeply touching. Very thought provoking and gives a new insight to middle eastern politics from the Palestinian angle.
Published on 4 April 2010 by Jacque Hughes

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too simplistic?
I read this book with anticipation and interest, having possibly met the author briefly in 2005, and certainly having met and heard his father Sheikh Hassan Yousef speak, of whom the book is much about. I personally found his father to be both erudite and considered, and not as militant in outlook as much of Hamas may otherwise be. This book certainly matched the opinion...
Published 17 months ago by Great Flow


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Son of Hamas' Hijacked Narrative, 26 Nov 2010
This review is from: Son Of Hamas (Paperback)
On seeing this book advertised, I immediately snapped it up and started to read it. I had heard and seen Mosab Hassan Yousef interviewed elsewhere and was expecting something along the same lines.

As other reviewers here have noted, readers will be puzzled to read there's very little about Yousef's incredible journey from the depths of a fanatical ideology to his transformation as a peace-loving Christian, and this should be a substantial portion of the book. In short, if you're expecting something along the lines of a Walid Shoebat story, forget it.

First off, on starting to read I confess I wasn't able to put the book down. The story telling is superb as is the English. But as I progressed through the book, I began to find one factual inaccuracy after another. Time lines incorrect and quite shockingly (for a book which sells itself as some sort of bridge between the Israelis and Palestinians) just about every invented blood libel you could think of against Israel.

The closest this book comes to 'building bridges' is to claim that Yousef had heard that the murder of Mohammad al-Dura in 2000 by Israeli snipers, was rumoured to be controversial. In fact the infamous video footage, which helped propel the second intifada into overdrive, was shown to have been fake in a French court of law. Yet this little detail seems to have escaped the author's attention. There are a whole host of other issues but it is the conviniently overlooked aspects which really stand out for me. The worst offence comes from a seemingly casual reference to Jewish organ harvesting of Palestinian children.

This story was also cleared in the aftermath of a Swedish tabloid that decided to print the blood libel (with the disclaimer by the journalist in question of 'whether it's true or not, I don't know'). Following the controversy, other journalists tracked down the Palestinian family at the centre of the story and confessed that they had not told the journalist any such thing, but 'did not rule out the possibility that it does happen'. Again, nothing of this in this book.

So what we get in Son of Hamas is decades old PLO propaganda, the same PLO Yousef accuses of crimes against the Palestinian people elsewhere in this book.

On reading a review of this book in the press, it seems clear that between Yousef's ghost writer (Ron Brackin) and the publisher, the son of Hamas didn't stand a chance. What is contained herein, is nothing along the lines found in his courageous interviews on YouTube, little of his compelling story of going against his family and his community for what he saw as the right thing to do and nothing about how both sides might begin to address the decades long impasse to reconcile and move forwards. I was left guessing how much of what Yousef had said (and intended to be included in his story) ended up in this book...

A terrible disappointment and a wasted opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Son of Hamas - Book, 21 May 2010
By 
G. J. Thompson "Scottish Granny" (Scottish Highlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Son of Hamas (Paperback)
This book provides great insight and is a story epitomosing courage of conscience. Would recommend it - very moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book revealing the heart of the conflict in the Middle East., 11 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of Hamas (Paperback)
Excellent book revealing the heart of the conflict in the Middle East.
Mosab Hassan Yousef is certainly an exceptional young man whose life changing story will grip any reader with a fair and balanced mind. I trust this story will be used to change the hearts of many in conflict, especially those of the Middle East.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Islam unveiled, 22 Sep 2010
By 
hw@tinyworld.co.uk (Drumnadrochit, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Son Of Hamas (Paperback)
Son of Hamas is written by a Palestinian who has been heavily involved in the Hamas organisation. His father was one of seven people who created Hamas. In this little book the author reveals many untold secrets about Hamas and the Israeli army. It is a gripping read and is bound to move the reader's emotions. For the inside story, read Son of Hamas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SON OF HAMAS (Paperback)
Fascinating insight into the issues of the Isreal/Palestine problems. Quite an eye-opener and should be widely read. Very readable book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Hamas members inside view, 11 Mar 2014
By 
Michael S. Stewart "michaelstewart" (Bushey Heath, Herts. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting and unique record of a young man experiencing both sides of an intractable situation. His motives may be somewhat obscure and some of his historical 'facts' unreliable, but there is no doubting his sincerity and his wish for peace. How much his religious conversion bears on all this, I found somewhat difficult to fathom.
Definitely a worthwhile read for those wishing to gain a further insight into both sides of the Israel/Palestine 'Narrative'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SON OF HAMAS (Paperback)
A fascinating read, presenting both sides of the incredibly complex dynamic that exists between Israel and the Palestinians. Intriguing, emotive and exciting. Well written and thought provoking. It's refreshing to have a book written by someone so entwined in the complexity of the situation who is able to remove himself and think independently about its reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A believable insight into the realities of Israel, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SON OF HAMAS (Paperback)
I read the book fairly quickly as I was gripped by the action unfolding before my eyes.
I read it again and found myself marvelling at the events as they happened, the anger and blindness, the violence and lack of compassion that gripped so many - and this applied to all the major parties involved.
It was very moving to read how God looked after Mosab during his emergence as a potential leader for Hamas and the remarkable change in his life as he re-valued all around him, eventually becoming a Christian.
Many young people would do well to emulate Mosab's integrity especially when he put Jesus first in his life and was prepared to lose all for His sake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ FOR EVERYONE who is yearning for peace in the middle east and in the world, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SON OF HAMAS (Paperback)
Son of Hamas is one of the most important books I have read in a long time. Not only does it shed light into the difficult and seemingly hopeless situation of the conflict between Palestine and Israel, but it also points to the true root of the problem: the ideology behind Islam. It shows that unless we all bring ourselves to live by the teaching of "Love your enenmy" there can be no peace. If a Hamas terrorist can - through an extra-ordinary journey of faith - arrive at this truth, there is hope for peace in this world.

I would reccommend this book to everyone, whether they are religious or not, Muslim, Christians, followers of other religions and Atheists alike - or anyone who just likes to read a riveting story! PLEASE READ and pass on to your friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it because it is the only picture we have of someone from the inside of the terrorist world finding the joy of salvation, 20 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. John F. Mosey (Arnside, Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SON OF HAMAS (Paperback)
My teenage daughter was murdered by Palestinian terrorists in the bombing of Pan-Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie on 21st December 1988. This has given me an interest in seeing any of those who do such things find forgiveness and salvation. This story of bridgebuilding rather than division is a blessing. I am trying to be a bridge builder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabc9524c)

This product

SON OF HAMAS
SON OF HAMAS by UASSAN YOUSEF MOSAB & BRA (Paperback - 13 May 2011)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews