Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love story, biography, advice..... brilliant!
It seems like revolutionary thinking. It isn't. In this book, Elisabeth Eliot strips today's view of love and relationships back to the traditional and Biblical ways.
Supported journal entries and letters from her and Jim, Bible verses and relevant literary quotes, Eliot's story of her courtship with Jim sets out an admirable framework for Christians in today's...
Published on 21 Nov. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not what l expected but its a good book! Definitely worth a read.
Published 2 months ago by Miriam Tereck


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love story, biography, advice..... brilliant!, 21 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
It seems like revolutionary thinking. It isn't. In this book, Elisabeth Eliot strips today's view of love and relationships back to the traditional and Biblical ways.
Supported journal entries and letters from her and Jim, Bible verses and relevant literary quotes, Eliot's story of her courtship with Jim sets out an admirable framework for Christians in today's world. Her heartfelt writing brings a personal touch to the advice she gives.
A fantastic book on all levels - love story, biography, Christian teaching and personal advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EYE OPENER, 25 May 2004
By 
anna (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Passion and Purity (Paperback)
I came across this book by 'blessed' accident (smile).
After reading the book once I had to go through it again becaused I was amazed at the pure and simple expression of the love between Jim and Elisabeth and their human struggles alongside their spiritual growth and desire for God. JIM ELLIOT's struggle can only be an encouragement to men who are as human as he and who struggle as he did.
The book confirmed and encouraged me in my own personal walk with God and my relationship. Anyone, Christian or not, can read this book and know that there exists a different approach to relationships today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anointed, joyous reading, 7 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passion and Purity (Paperback)
Wholly convincing of the struggle Elizabeth and Jim Elliot endured for five years before finally being given the 'go ahead' from God to marry. Like all young people in love and frustratingly separated by commitments which cause them to study apart or travel far and wide (Jim Elliott was a missionary in South America, where he was eventually murdered), these two yearned and mourned for each other and as their love increased, often by letter, so did the passion. Elliott is honest in her description of her physical attraction to Jim and his good looks, sporting and general physical prowess, his charm and optimism which made him sexually attractive to women - not just her! And she is frank in her disclosure of how Jim imagined waking up with her, long before they married.There is nothing 'fey' or feigned about the physicality of the love they shared and how hard it was to rein in passion with obedience to God's will when they did find time to be together and alone. But this is an entirely convincing portrayal of how purity can master and eventually enrich passion. God honours those who honour Him and the at times almost unbearable accounts of forbearance make perfect sense when eventually, these two marry and experience fullest joy in union. A timeless, powerful encouragement to all young Christians who can't imagine celibacy from puberty to marriage or who question its wisdom.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic., 11 Mar. 2011
This is my second copy of 'Passion and Purity', I didn't bring it over from HK to London, but currently the story of my life bears resemblance to what Elisabeth Elliot shared in her book, therefore I bought another one. A true classic. I believe, passion and purity can co-exist, and the coexistence makes the most beautiful love story, for it is penned by the Creator who knows me and my future beloved the best. I long to sing the sweeter song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVERY CHRISTIAN WOMAN SHOULD READ THIS, 7 Feb. 2012
By 
RKW (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Passion and Purity (Paperback)
Snippet reviews will do this book no justice, but reading it will transform your life following application. If you want to be inspired, challenged and renewed in your thinking this book is for you. It seems to be targeted toward women but men will benefit just as much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Any singles wanting God to be the centre of a relationship, is a must read!, 4 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Passion and Purity (Paperback)
What a powerful book written from a woman who maintained keeping pure in her relationship with her future husband for 5 years! I definately want to maintain purity of heart, mind & soul until for Daddy's best for me!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing book struggling to put it down so much practical ..., 9 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passion and Purity (Paperback)
An amazing book struggling to put it down so much practical wisdom. Straight to the point real as one can get about the matters of the heart. I like how she uses her own life as a testimony to demonstrate that we all go through it but God as to be our priority! ! Def recommend it to all Christians new or old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars She is real!, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passion and Purity (Paperback)
This book is needed for single Christians. She really highlights the struggle of singleness from a woman's point of view, but leads the reader straight to word of God. Giving us revelation and practical tips on how to handle this roller coaster season
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Needs careful consideration but useful content, 26 April 2014
By 
Dr. N. WOODRUFF (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passion and Purity (Paperback)
Read and study the book carefully to better understand the spiritual guidance, don't miss this opportunity to consider Gods Wat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautifully written. Stle and content, 17 July 2014
This review is from: Passion and Purity (Paperback)
In my favourites!
I Will always recomendations this book, beautifully written. Stle and content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Passion and Purity
Passion and Purity by Elliot Elisabeth (Paperback - 8 April 2011)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews