Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary, but intimidating
I want to admit right off the bat that when it comes to Christian apologetics, am struggling to reach even dilettante status. So the size and "formality" of Evidence That Demands A Verdict *is* intimidating. This book is huge - more than 750 pages, and heavy enough to generate its own gravity field. But, at the same time, is that not incredible? That there is *this* much...
Published on 19 Oct 2008 by Anna

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not a reading book, more of a text book
This book is excellent if you are preparing a lecture, studying or wanting a quick answer to a question. It quoted other sources a lot so functions to bring all the evidence together in one book. It's certainly full of facts.
The problem was that I couldn't sit down and just read it. I bought an older version (maybe this one is better) which was written as bullet...
Published on 11 May 2011 by K. Schneider


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary, but intimidating, 19 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Evidence That Demands a Verdict (Paperback)
I want to admit right off the bat that when it comes to Christian apologetics, am struggling to reach even dilettante status. So the size and "formality" of Evidence That Demands A Verdict *is* intimidating. This book is huge - more than 750 pages, and heavy enough to generate its own gravity field. But, at the same time, is that not incredible? That there is *this* much support for the Christian faith?

Josh McDowell is something of a genius, I think, and there's not an iota of "talking down" to the readership in here. Even on paper, he's a little like a university lecturer who expects you to understand what he's talking about, and if you don't, he's not going to slow down just for your benefit. However, it's always those lecturers that are the most inspirational in many ways, as you know they genuinely are an expert in their field.

He starts off with his own testimony, so you are shown from page 1 (technically, page xxiii) that to be a Christian is in no way synonymous with eschewing your intellectual integrity. From there he provides historical and factual support for the Bible, for Christ as historical figure and for the Christian faith. Bear in mind I've just described 750 pages in 3 sentences. Some of the chapter headings are as follows:

~ Is the New Testament historically reliable?
~ Jesus, a man of hitory
~ The Presupposition of Anti-supernaturalism
~ Archaeology and Biblical Criticism
~ Development of the Documentary Hypothesis
~ Consequence of Radical Higher Criticism
~ Incongruities
~ Historical Skepticism
~ The Nature of Truth
~ Certainty vs. Certitude...

and a myriad others. This is a scholarly book, and one that will have you jotting down notes and facts you'll want to later research for yourself.

The Christian faith is precisely that - a faith. But knowing it is based so firmly and solidly on verifiable and historical evidence is hugely beneficial. ETDV is a valuable tool for Christians wanting to strengthen their own faith, for Christians wanting to defend the faith to others, and for anyone who is interested in learning why so many *follow* the faith.

Just don't expect to flick through this over a weekend. This is as indepth as any degree and masters rolled into one, and it's a challenge. But it's one I have found wholly satisfying and enjoyable.

Five stars with bells on and an olive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not a reading book, more of a text book, 11 May 2011
By 
K. Schneider (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence That Demands a Verdict (Paperback)
This book is excellent if you are preparing a lecture, studying or wanting a quick answer to a question. It quoted other sources a lot so functions to bring all the evidence together in one book. It's certainly full of facts.
The problem was that I couldn't sit down and just read it. I bought an older version (maybe this one is better) which was written as bullet points so reading it wasn't easy.

I didn't finish it, I was saturated after about 3 chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Brilliant! Brilliant!, 29 May 2009
By 
G. Atkinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evidence That Demands a Verdict (Paperback)
An incredibly well researched and written book. This book examines evidence which proves the historical accuracy of the Bible. It is written in a scholarly, yet very readable manner and is perfect for anyone who is seriously interested in exploring the accuracy of Scripture. People of an academic mind-set, who are interested in Christian apologetics will find the book very interesting. This book provides strong and compelling evidence for the existence of God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough Analysis, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence That Demands a Verdict (Paperback)
I first heard JD about 20 years ago. It has taken me all this time to buy the book that he based his tour on. Not an easy read, but quite brilliant if you have any doubts about biblical historicity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 6 May 2014
By 
Hanna E. John "disciple" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence That Demands a Verdict (Paperback)
Huge book, very meaty but useful. I've only started it and got a long way to go to finish it but it is definitely interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellently researched historic evidence of Yeshua's life on earh and His unsquestionable Divinity, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence That Demands a Verdict (Paperback)
Easy to read encouraging for sceptical people, enquirers and true believers this is very exciting a real faith builder for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book..., 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence That Demands a Verdict (Paperback)
For anyone who has deeper questions. It has everything explained in a very scientific way, with interviews and the own thoughts of the author. The chapters are well divided and you find easily what you were looking for.
Maybe not a book you just read through, but like a dictionary where you just look things up. You can start reading anywhere.
Definitely recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence That Demands a Verdict (Paperback)
I had evidence that demands a verdict ( the original) and this, updated version does not disapoint
Very well researched
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence That Demands a Verdict (Paperback)
I'm still reading and so far offers what it claimed to stand for. It's good for academic use. I'm so far not sure if the objective minded person will accept some of the evidences provided as strong enough to merit their relative use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evidence That Demands A verdict., 9 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. N. New "I. N. Reading" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evidence That Demands a Verdict (Paperback)
A brilliant book which can form the basis for deeper study; it is faith building, question answering, challenging stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evidence That Demands a Verdict
Evidence That Demands a Verdict by Josh McDowell (Paperback - 1 Jan 1999)
9.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews