Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A short history of everything
I have read several of Vaughan Roberts' books on Christianity and I have found all of them to be enjoyable and interesting. The author writes in an informal style using anecdotes to good effect and I think that his books should appeal to committed Christians and to non Christians alike. "Turning Points" is like a sort of potted history of the Bible; an examination of...
Published on 14 Jan 2008 by L. Davidson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It started OK
This book was mentioned at a sermon and sounded as if it might be of fairly general interest. In the event, the first half did hold my attention, though not very firmly, and shortly after this it seemed to ramble. In the end, I decided that my patience would not allow me to finish the book. Rather disappointing.
Published on 31 Dec 2011 by Gardener T


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A short history of everything, 14 Jan 2008
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turning Points (Paperback)
I have read several of Vaughan Roberts' books on Christianity and I have found all of them to be enjoyable and interesting. The author writes in an informal style using anecdotes to good effect and I think that his books should appeal to committed Christians and to non Christians alike. "Turning Points" is like a sort of potted history of the Bible; an examination of "God's Big Picture" starting at the Creation and ending with the New Heaven and New Earth. This book has helped me to understand better the time line of the Bible from a "macro" perspective and I would recommend it to anyone interested in Bible study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thought-provoking commentary on modern life., 6 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Turning Points (Paperback)
Vaughan Roberts looks at modern lifestyles, at their emptiness and lack of hope. He compares them with what the Bible has to say, and sees reason for hope, and a way out of despair and meaninglessness. His book is easy to read, with plenty of illustrations based on quotes by popular modern figures. I recommend it to anyone who has ever wondered whether there's any meaning to existence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sharp, interesting, and engaging book, 18 Nov 2002
By 
William Fross (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Turning Points (Paperback)
This is a good book for several reasons: it uses modern, engaging illustrations to get its points across; it uses some modern scholarship, but as part of the general, easy-to-read text; it challenges people to assess their own motives and lives- to suggest a meaning and purpose for life based on the testimony of the Bible.
Probably not as good for the person who's been investigating the Bible and Jesus' claims for a while, but an excellent introduction to what Christianity's about: it gives a clear Christian answer to the eternal problem- How to know God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential book that contains truths to change your life., 21 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Turning Points (Paperback)
Readable and relevant, this book looks at the most significant 'turning points' in the history of the universe. Completely based on the bible it argues the relevance and importance of the Christian faith. It will question your world view asking questions that you may have been too scared to ask. If convinced by its arguments it could lead to the turning point in your life, knowing God and being known by him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read., 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turning Points (Paperback)
This is easy and entertaining to read. Its real attraction however is that it so simply outlines and explains the relevance and eternal importance of the Christian faith in the context of world history and everybodys' life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good introduction to Christianity, 15 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Turning Points (Paperback)
This book is aimed at people now who want to know more about Christianity. It is quite short, easily readable and generally very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It started OK, 31 Dec 2011
This review is from: Turning Points (Paperback)
This book was mentioned at a sermon and sounded as if it might be of fairly general interest. In the event, the first half did hold my attention, though not very firmly, and shortly after this it seemed to ramble. In the end, I decided that my patience would not allow me to finish the book. Rather disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Turning Points
Turning Points by Vaughan Roberts (Paperback - 25 Jan 1999)
5.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews