Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 January 2010
Found this book informative with tables and info about rationing. Good Recipes. My Criticism is that it's a very small book - don't be fooled by the photo. In my opinion there are a LOT of similar books which you'd be much better spending your money on.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2010
This is a great book, typifying life during World War II. The recipes are great, having tried some of them. Woolton Pie has become a great hit and is also a great and tasty way to get some of your 'five a day'. Very informative of the way people survived in very straightened circumstances. Highly recommended.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2011
I LOVE THIS BOOK I'VE TRYED SOME RECIPES IN THIS BOOK AND MY FAMILY LOVE IT AND MY NAN LOVES IT AS IT BRINGS BACK FROM WHEN SHE WAS A LITTLE GIRL
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2010
A step back into the past. A nostalgic visit to wartime hardships and a book full of photos and recipes beautifully put together.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
This is definitely a book to inspire - using recipes from the War years, it is possible to eat well and healthily in todays age of commercial greed. You learn to use the simplest of ingredients, at such a low cost, and the food tastes great. No more having to buy pre-packaged ready meals!!! No more un-necessary sugar added to savoury dishes - just pure natural goodness on your plate! My family and I, eat extremely well, come away from the table replete and satisfied - more importantly, we are losing weight healthily, without any fad diets, and doing it by eating properly and well - yep this is a fabulous book to have in the kitchen and I wouldn't be without mine now - ever!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
i was watching this series on the tv and i was happy to buy the book, i was born in 1949 and many of the recipes where used by my mother
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
In the current economic climate my daughter wanted to re-create the experiences encountered by families during the war. The books I ordered were not only 1st class examples but the service I received especially the book that came from USA was fabulous. She's now cooking wartime rations for fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
Not as comprehensive as Margarite.patten but just as useful.A great way to digest history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
RECEIVED ON TIME AND IT'S A GOOD READ IF YOU DON'T LIKE COOKING.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
fab book , rather small but has excellent information on the era
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)