Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the three OCR textbooks available
I have found this by far to be the best of the three OCR textbooks available for Religious Ethics.

It has much more substantial and in-depth pages on how to apply each ethical theory to all the issues. Considering this is how the ethical issues are generally tested; this make this textbook far more useful and invaluable than the other two by far.

It...
Published on 14 May 2011 by Skicrazeeeeee

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Errors
I have noticed two major errors in this book, and unfortunately they were the first two things I read:

Pp. 52-53:
The author writes that the 'Hypothetical Imperative is concerned with moral ends. The moral agent examines how a moral end is to be achieved.'
This is wrong. Hypothetical Imperatives for Kant are precisely NOT moral, but conditional upon a...
Published on 23 Mar 2011 by Henri Bergson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Errors, 23 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Religious Ethics: A Complete Guide for OCR AS and A2 (Paperback)
I have noticed two major errors in this book, and unfortunately they were the first two things I read:

Pp. 52-53:
The author writes that the 'Hypothetical Imperative is concerned with moral ends. The moral agent examines how a moral end is to be achieved.'
This is wrong. Hypothetical Imperatives for Kant are precisely NOT moral, but conditional upon a subjective end. This is why Kant contrasts the subjective Hypothetical Imperative with his objective, moral, Categorical Imperative.

Pp. 231-233:
The author writes that 'these causal links, which are predetermined, lead on to human free will ... Without these predetermined events, Hume believes, you would not have free will'.
This is completely and utterly wrong. I don't know why the author wrote this in trying to explain the Soft Determinism of David Hume, I find it bizarre. The correct explanation (briefly) is this:
What we call causal necessity (the 'laws of nature') are inferred through a posteriori constant conjunction (as such they are subject to the problem of induction, and so not as predetermined as the author suggests). Motive and action, which pertain to free will, are also based on their experienced constant conjunction. Therefore, both Hard Determinism and Libertarianism have the same justification: constant conjunction, and this is why Hume is referred to as a Soft Determinist or Compatibilist.
For confirmation of this, read David Hume's 'An Enquiry Concerning Human Understanding', 8-Of Liberty and Necessity.

For these two unforgivable mistakes alone, I should not recommend the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the three OCR textbooks available, 14 May 2011
This review is from: Understanding Religious Ethics: A Complete Guide for OCR AS and A2 (Paperback)
I have found this by far to be the best of the three OCR textbooks available for Religious Ethics.

It has much more substantial and in-depth pages on how to apply each ethical theory to all the issues. Considering this is how the ethical issues are generally tested; this make this textbook far more useful and invaluable than the other two by far.

It also very clear and I have found that everything explained is done so in an understandable and coherent way. It has almost been as much a pleasure to read it as it has to have used it for my revision.

Yes there are those mistakes as pointed out by the other reviewer. However, all the textbooks have such issues sadly and it is a shame this one does. What is important is that the rest of the book is absolutely excellent. Now that one is aware of such mistakes they should hopefully be changed (which they might have since the book appears to have been reprinted) or you simply ignore those paragraphs - which isn't a loss since you now know the alternative and the everything out is explained correctly and very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A complete and comprehensive guide, 15 Sep 2013
This review is from: Understanding Religious Ethics: A Complete Guide for OCR AS and A2 (Paperback)
I found this text book thoroughly useful for my A-levels as a way of grasping the basics of Ethics as much as understanding some of the complexities. It has also proved very useful during university for an ethics module and has helped direct me towards further sources and encouraged a deeper appreciation of the subject past the age of 18. Superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars recommended, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Religious Ethics: A Complete Guide for OCR AS and A2 (Paperback)
Very good book along with the Understanding Phiosophy of Religion. My son says these are just what he needed to thoroughly revise for his A level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a book, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Religious Ethics: A Complete Guide for OCR AS and A2 (Paperback)
got for daughter course work so no idea if its good but she needed it and so now i have to write a revue !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Understanding Religious Ethics: A Complete Guide for OCR AS and A2
Understanding Religious Ethics: A Complete Guide for OCR AS and A2 by Richard Wright (Paperback - 20 May 2010)
22.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews