Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book For Getting Through AS Psychology
This book covers all of the material in excellent detail with a large number of questions for practice to make learning material easier, an in depth revision section at the end of each section and a great selection of exam questions with ideal sample answers. It's a must have for all psychology students.
Published on 15 Aug 2009 by Ms. L. O. Hanlon

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Covers everything but very wordy
As the professional reviews say, this book does cover everything that you will need to complete the AS level psychology, with detailed notes on most topics.
However, as another 2 star review said, the bulk of the book is overwhelmingly wordy, while the chapter summaries are concise to the point of being vague, meaning to revise there's no real way of escaping the...
Published on 11 Jun 2010 by Lewis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book For Getting Through AS Psychology, 15 Aug 2009
By 
Ms. L. O. Hanlon (Northern Ireland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Companions: Psychology AS - The Complete Companion for AQA 'A' (Textbook) (Paperback)
This book covers all of the material in excellent detail with a large number of questions for practice to make learning material easier, an in depth revision section at the end of each section and a great selection of exam questions with ideal sample answers. It's a must have for all psychology students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book took me from a D to an A grade! Buy it now!!, 30 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Complete Companions: Psychology AS - The Complete Companion for AQA 'A' (Textbook) (Paperback)
I never normally write reviews for anything but this book was so good that i felt it deserved all the praise i could give it! Some people have said the layout and page designs are too confusing but for a teenager its great. I actually enjoyed revising and learning from this book because the pages were so much more exciting than the plain text in the AQA books which i was provided by the school. The language is more informal so i found it easier to understand but this doesnt take anything away from its academic credability! The best part of this textbook is the question and answer pages. It provides questions (some of which did actually come up on my exam paper) and shows you two different example answers and explains and points out what is right and wrong in both. This helps you create the perfect answer and after getting a D in my Unit 1 exam originally, i scraped using the AQA book and just studied from this one! Then i retook the exam and got an A because it shows you how to actually answer the questions properly! Cannot recommend this book enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good!, 16 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Complete Companions: Psychology AS - The Complete Companion for AQA 'A' (Textbook) (Paperback)
Ive seen a few reviews rating this text book only 1 star! I used this book and the AQA endorsed (Nelson Thornes) book for AS psychology. I found this book so useful, as it breaks down all the relevant and important information so it's easier to understand. It includes other material for general interest, but I can't understand the low ratings! I used it loads for my psychology exams, and would highly recommmend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand, 3 Jun 2011
By 
E. Esen "esen212" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Companions: Psychology AS - The Complete Companion for AQA 'A' (Textbook) (Paperback)
Before I started my first year of A levels I looked around and read reviews for different types of psychology books and found that this had the best review. Once I received this text book I could understand why. Its so easy to read, keeps things interesting so doesn't really make revising over notes or learning new things as tiresome as it usually is for me. My school provides another psychology book that has all of the studies and content needed for AQA psychology but it's so much harder to read.

The only criticism I have is that it doesn't contain every study I've learnt at school although it does contain a majority of them and the way it describes studies makes it hard to forget.

All in all great text book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars psychology, 14 Nov 2011
This was a great way for me to access a book at a very affordable price. I have adviced all my pals to purchase from amazon. Thanx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychology The Complete Companion AS, 4 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Complete Companions: Psychology AS - The Complete Companion for AQA 'A' (Textbook) (Paperback)
Excellent transaction and book is in excellent condition. Seller highly recommended, I certainly would use this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 13 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Complete Companions: Psychology AS - The Complete Companion for AQA 'A' (Textbook) (Paperback)
I think this book is really good. Anyone who does phycology needs this book. It is really good value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for Psychology Students!!, 10 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Complete Companions: Psychology AS - The Complete Companion for AQA 'A' (Textbook) (Paperback)
Psychology AS is fantastic! It covers absolutely everything and is laid out in an easy to understand format. This book is an absolute must have for anyone studying Psychology at any level! I LOVE IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Covers everything but very wordy, 11 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Complete Companions: Psychology AS - The Complete Companion for AQA 'A' (Textbook) (Paperback)
As the professional reviews say, this book does cover everything that you will need to complete the AS level psychology, with detailed notes on most topics.
However, as another 2 star review said, the bulk of the book is overwhelmingly wordy, while the chapter summaries are concise to the point of being vague, meaning to revise there's no real way of escaping the long slabs of text you have to trawl through to find what you want. There are also seemingly some important things left unclear. For example, though the Biological Psychology chapter describes both acute and chronic stress in great detail, there seems to be no clear statement indicating the difference between the two, possibly because the book has drowned in its own vocabulary and cannot bring the descriptions back to simplicity.

So, in general an interesting read and good definitive guide to studying psychology at A level, but could strike a better balance beteween being too wordy, or not wordy enough. All the facts and arguments are there, if you can find them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Companions: Psychology AS - The Complete Companion for AQA 'A' (Textbook) (Paperback)
LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Companions: Psychology AS - The Complete Companion for AQA 'A' (Textbook)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews