Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book
This book is great for those who struggle with INFO3. The book takes you through all 12 topics covered in the syllabus with much information and exam techniques.

My only issue is the actual exam. Teachers and students from 2009 onwards have complained how the exam is way too waffly and does not directly challenege the knowledge need to answer the exam...
Published on 17 Jun. 2012 by Bodzilla

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst use of the English language I have ever seen: DO NOT BUY THIS
If you ever find yourself studying A2 ICT and you purchase this book, then you have made a mistake. The writer uses so much unessential jargon in an attempt to explain various (commonly simplistic) concepts which could be explained in a sentence as opposed to an extremely long paragraph; this theme is presented throughout the whole book. Also, throughout the book there is...
Published on 6 Mar. 2011 by GGreen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 17 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential ICT A Level: Essential ICT for AQA A2 level (Student Book) (Essential ICT) (Paperback)
This book is great for those who struggle with INFO3. The book takes you through all 12 topics covered in the syllabus with much information and exam techniques.

My only issue is the actual exam. Teachers and students from 2009 onwards have complained how the exam is way too waffly and does not directly challenege the knowledge need to answer the exam questions. Instead, they use many case-studies (mostly related to businesses, which is a bummer) which indrectly suggest what information is needed to answer a question. So a person is initiallty confused on how to answer the questions.

Luckily, if you have used this book enough, you might get the hint on how to answer, but trying to understand the questions on the exam paper is way too long and confusing. If you don't believe me, have a look at the 2011 and 2010 papers for INFO3 for AQA. Utterly rubbish.

I should know, I did the most recent exam for INFO3 ICT which was on the 12th of June 2012. It wasn't as bad as the earlier exams but still sucked. Luckily, they are changing the syllabus next year.

Sorry to waffle, but this had to be mentioned in order to rate this book. All in all, 4/5 for excellent material and information, but lacks the understanding to construct an answer for the real exams which are weighed in at 10-20 marks per question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst use of the English language I have ever seen: DO NOT BUY THIS, 6 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Essential ICT A Level: Essential ICT for AQA A2 level (Student Book) (Essential ICT) (Paperback)
If you ever find yourself studying A2 ICT and you purchase this book, then you have made a mistake. The writer uses so much unessential jargon in an attempt to explain various (commonly simplistic) concepts which could be explained in a sentence as opposed to an extremely long paragraph; this theme is presented throughout the whole book. Also, throughout the book there is for some reason the use of completely unrelated images and doodles that the publisher has for some reason thought would be appropriate to include just to make it 'look nice' and try and move away from the fact that the text is complete bollocks.

To top that off, the exercises and questions set out after each section rarely make any sense and rarely relate to any of the theory that is stated within the book! How are you possibly suppose to answer a question when the theory within the book does not actually help you answer it?! While the book admittedly does cover all sections required for AQA A2 ICT, its execution is extremely poor. This book is, in all honesty, a complete train-wreck.

DO NOT buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential ICT A Level: Essential ICT for AQA A2 level (Student Book) (Essential ICT) (Paperback)
Great product and fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 21 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Essential ICT A Level: Essential ICT for AQA A2 level (Student Book) (Essential ICT) (Paperback)
I am using this book to help me with the course, and it has lots of detail covering every topic, along with exam questions and summary mind maps which are extremely helpful for revision. The theory for INFO3 is very well laid out, and is explained thoroughly while never being too convoluted or confusing. This is, essentially, an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential ICT A Level: Essential ICT for AQA A2 level (Student Book) (Essential ICT) (Paperback)
Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book, 8 July 2011
This review is from: Essential ICT A Level: Essential ICT for AQA A2 level (Student Book) (Essential ICT) (Paperback)
I used this book for my course and I found it fantastic. It was easy to read and I loved the cartoons and mind maps.
I like the way the text was geared exactly towards the way the questions need to be answered and I liked the way you can see answers other people had given so that you can make sure that you don't make the same mistakes.
An essential book for this course.
Paul
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essential ICT A Level: Essential ICT for AQA A2 level (Student Book) (Essential ICT)
£24.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews