Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive and useful, but lacking in images.
This book contains detailed instructions on how to draft your own basic patterns, and then to use them to create patterns for period clothes to ensure an excellent fit. The instructions are clear and accompanied with explanatory diagrams - however there are very few images of what the finished pattern should look like as a garment, rather than a technical flat pattern...
Published 13 months ago by full regalia

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Info but no photos of finished items!
Was really looking forward to receiving this as I was keen to get into making historical costume. The instructions and diagrams are clear enough but apart from the occasional historical plate there are no photos at all. I have had a first read through but can only say that I wasn't inspired to get started at all. In a book like this I would expect to see photos of the...
Published 1 month ago by Margo Price - Author


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive and useful, but lacking in images., 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creating Historical Clothes: Pattern Cutting from Tudor to Victorian Times (Paperback)
This book contains detailed instructions on how to draft your own basic patterns, and then to use them to create patterns for period clothes to ensure an excellent fit. The instructions are clear and accompanied with explanatory diagrams - however there are very few images of what the finished pattern should look like as a garment, rather than a technical flat pattern. Nevertheless still a must for those interested in making period costumes, and even includes instructions for undergarments such as farthingales, panniers and bustles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creating Historical Clothes: Pattern Cutting from Tudor to Victorian Times (Paperback)
One of the best costume books I've seen, loaded with detail and clear diagrams. Useful standard measurement tables (both metric and imperial), lots of helpful and well presented info on pattern drafting and some historic background on costume of each period. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good pattern reference, 14 Nov 2013
This review is from: Creating Historical Clothes: Pattern Cutting from Tudor to Victorian Times (Paperback)
Very good explanation for the patern making.
I really enjoyed the historical bits on every chapter!
Also the corset adaptations from one period to the other where very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good clear instructions, but why are there no pictures of finished projects? And why is there no index of patterns?, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creating Historical Clothes: Pattern Cutting from Tudor to Victorian Times (Paperback)
It would have been helpful to have pictures of projects made up from the patterns in this book. Or indeed historical references for all of the patterns - there are quite a few, but not all of the patterns are related back to historical images.
Would also like an index of the patterns shown in the book.
One word of warning: The patterns produced following the instructions in this book are intended for stage plays, not authentic living history. From that point of view it's a bit disappointing that the structures produced are not 100% as they would have been - but armed with that knowledge from my own research, I was able to further adapt the patterns to produce the designs I wanted.
Other than that it's useful, inspiring, helpful, and all in all a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creating Historical Clothes: Pattern Cutting from Tudor to Victorian Times (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book I have her other book and it has helped me to be able to make my own patterns, easy to use and I would highly recommend it to budding period costume makers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars costume, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creating Historical Clothes: Pattern Cutting from Tudor to Victorian Times (Paperback)
This is a worthwhile book for the reenactor, textile or fashion student or theatre dress makereven if you have the more recognised texts still get it for the pattern altering tips
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very instructive, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creating Historical Clothes: Pattern Cutting from Tudor to Victorian Times (Paperback)
I liked the way this book is presented. It has gone to join the other book on my shelf about the same subject and has all ready proved useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Info but no photos of finished items!, 14 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creating Historical Clothes: Pattern Cutting from Tudor to Victorian Times (Paperback)
Was really looking forward to receiving this as I was keen to get into making historical costume. The instructions and diagrams are clear enough but apart from the occasional historical plate there are no photos at all. I have had a first read through but can only say that I wasn't inspired to get started at all. In a book like this I would expect to see photos of the making process and of finished garments not just pages and pages of diagrams. Disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book, 21 Sep 2014
This review is from: Creating Historical Clothes: Pattern Cutting from Tudor to Victorian Times (Paperback)
A fantastic book, i just love it, have been looking for a book like this for some while, Will be able take period costume making to another level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Creating Historical Clothes: Pattern Cutting from Tudor to Victorian Times
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews