Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great book for learning how to capture the fleeting effects of light and mood
This is a nice book. It is different to your average painting book in that it is not intended as a step-by-step tutorial. There are a couple of examples that are shown in a step-by-step format but these are not really intended for direct copying - this is not something the author seems to agree with anyhow. Neither is it a comprehensive guide for the tools and equipment...
Published on 8 Oct. 2010 by mu4awf

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars watch out: the title should be called the art of David Curtis in oil
Very good book with lots of lots of great oil painting, particularly in landscape. Just wish all the paintings are in larger print.

I would personally think it would be a better book, if it is a merely art collection book by David Curtis with prints of paintings only. As the writings are just coffee table reading in terms of art learning and practice, buy any...
Published on 1 Aug. 2011 by L. Chen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great book for learning how to capture the fleeting effects of light and mood, 8 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a nice book. It is different to your average painting book in that it is not intended as a step-by-step tutorial. There are a couple of examples that are shown in a step-by-step format but these are not really intended for direct copying - this is not something the author seems to agree with anyhow. Neither is it a comprehensive guide for the tools and equipment required for oil painting, although the basics are mentioned. What this book excells in is providing illustrated examples of how to go beyond mere detail and to explore ways of capturing light and mood in your paintings, particularly those created 'on the spot' or 'plein air'. This is not a book to buy if you are primarily interested in working in the studio or from photographs. Coastal scenes are a favourite of the author's and these proliforate the book and are really fantastic. With the large format paintings David achieves a nice blend of just enough detail combined with wonderful mood and light effects. Some of the smaller format paintings are a little too abstract and lacking in detail form me. This book is really all about the illustrated paintings - study them, enjoy them and learn from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars watch out: the title should be called the art of David Curtis in oil, 1 Aug. 2011
By 
L. Chen (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very good book with lots of lots of great oil painting, particularly in landscape. Just wish all the paintings are in larger print.

I would personally think it would be a better book, if it is a merely art collection book by David Curtis with prints of paintings only. As the writings are just coffee table reading in terms of art learning and practice, buy any other book if you are looking for any solid painting instruction.

I personally think if I know what the book is like, I would opt out buying an art collection book by a wider range of artists in landscape genre.

So I would recommend anyone buy it if you really like his oil painting. If you are looking for other things as well, then think twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational, 27 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book contains a wealth of examples of the artist's work. Far more than I expected. This is very commendable for one learns as much, if not more from the study of a painting as from the written word. Secondly, as another reviewer has pointed out, this is not a beginner's guide to oil painting. If you have done no oil painting but would like to give it a try, you really need more guidance than is given here. This does not mean that beginners should not buy this book, for it is inspirational and shows a standard one may hope to reach - after much practice and hard work.

This brings me to my final point. The thing I admired most about David Curtis was his honesty. He does not pretend, as some disreputable teachers do,that you have only to follow his method of working to produce equally excellent paintings. If only it were that easy! This is a book to point you in the right direction if you like his loose, impressionistic, painterly style. Make sure you admire his work before buying. But then you would, wouldn't you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most excellent oil painting book from David Curtis, 7 Jan. 2011
By 
J. Shaw (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book full of paintings of many and varied subjects,giving finished dimensions and details.Encourages making a start and progresses through design principles,capturing the moment,choosing subjects,painting plein air and the considered approach.These chapters are further broken to give further information and encouragement.Excellent, helpful and encouraging reading from this modern prolific and enthuastic master.Buy it for your library of inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A mentoring book, 6 Feb. 2013
By 
L. Yang (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Capturing the Moment in Oils (Paperback)
I bought this book as the artwork and techniques are valid to me and my work.The books easy to follow and the pictures are big enough to see what he is trying in technique.His style has something more to it sometimes making the most simple composition interesting.I think the explanations of what he is doing is great as he is not hiding anything but encourages the reader.the book gets five stars as it has inspired me.I'll probably whip out this book when i paint to improve what i do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Must Buy This Book., 13 Sept. 2009
By 
C. BOND (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Don't miss buying this book, I nearly did due to reading the one poor rating.If you like art you will love this book.The paintings are some of the finest that I have ever seen.The price is a steal.Buy it now and treasure it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great painter, 26 April 2010
By 
this book isn't greatest book for learning to paint but the quality of the paintings inside is superb! very very nice book !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Capturing the Moment in Oils, 14 Nov. 2009
If you have mastered the basics of oil painting and want to take your work to a higher level, this is the book for you! It is packed full of advice, information and instruction from David Curtis, who is one of the most accomplished and versatile figurative artists of the present time. Every aspect of oil painting is covered in detail, supported by a wealth of inspirational illustration, three step-by-step demonstration paintings and an interesting lucid text. Thoroughly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I was disappointed with the small amount of in-depth techniques and felt ..., 6 July 2014
This review is from: Capturing the Moment in Oils (Paperback)
Being a keen amateur artist I did not learn that much from this book. I was disappointed with the small amount of in-depth techniques and felt I was being told what to do, but not how to do it. The book is of a high quality with lots of the authors plein-air paintings illustrated and for the beginner may be a good buy but for me not enough in-depth advice/techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Capturing the moment in oils", 1 Oct. 2009
I found this an super book, possibly because David Curtis paints in a style I like. It is not a beginners instruction book but there are a generous number of reproductions of interesting subjects from which to obtain inspiration for colour and technique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Capturing the Moment in Oils
Capturing the Moment in Oils by Robin Capon (Paperback - 1 Sept. 2011)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews