Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab coffe table book
I am lucky to own 2 Winkle original paintings. If money were no object, I'd have a lot more. This book is the next best thing - over 100 pages of fantastic paintings ranging from doey eyes giraffes, chickens, dorset, venice, spain, africa and even Jake's father. Also lots of tips and step-by-step instructions so you too can create your own watercolours (although i...
Published on 23 April 2012 by Penelope Pit Stop

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting
I sent it back. Not because I dislike the artist or the work or the style, but because I had thought it was more of a teaching book, with projects that I could learn from. It had a few projects, I think three, but they were not very well explained. A nice coffee table book though, if that's what you're after.
Published 20 months ago by Sue Beeson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light and Movement in Watercolour (Hardcover)
I sent it back. Not because I dislike the artist or the work or the style, but because I had thought it was more of a teaching book, with projects that I could learn from. It had a few projects, I think three, but they were not very well explained. A nice coffee table book though, if that's what you're after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Disappointing, 12 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. Paul A. Cross (Devon,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light and Movement in Watercolour (Hardcover)
Like others, I felt this is a good showpiece for the artist's work.However, I had followed Jake's series in 'The Artist' magazine & expected much more detail on his composition, brushwork & techniques in the book.I learned much more from his articles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab coffe table book, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light and Movement in Watercolour (Hardcover)
I am lucky to own 2 Winkle original paintings. If money were no object, I'd have a lot more. This book is the next best thing - over 100 pages of fantastic paintings ranging from doey eyes giraffes, chickens, dorset, venice, spain, africa and even Jake's father. Also lots of tips and step-by-step instructions so you too can create your own watercolours (although i suspect it is a bit more difficult than it sounds). Fab book, fab price. V happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars light and movement, 7 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light and Movement in Watercolour (Hardcover)
Such a lovely book have tried out some of the paintings..... not so good yet but will keep trying because it inspires you to have a go. Totally opposite to what I have been shown before but it works and works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, 3 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light and Movement in Watercolour (Hardcover)
I love this book. The hares on the front cover sold it to me! There are several more animal paintings in the book which are of the same style. Also, landscapes etc. I think if you like the painting on the front cover you will enjoy this book. There are only two step by step instructions for you to practice - this is not really what I would call an instructional book - more an enjoyment of looking at the paintings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A letdown, 6 May 2013
By 
Kitty Kooper (Sherwood Forest U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light and Movement in Watercolour (Hardcover)
I expected more, I hadn't looked inside this book before I purchased it, perhaps I should .I found the colours dull and uninspired ,not keen on the style of the paintings either...sorry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars wasnt as good as i hoped, 15 Dec 2012
By 
L. johnson "l.l.j." (cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light and Movement in Watercolour (Hardcover)
i didnt think this book matched up to the expectation of the front cover. i am afraid i had to return it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light and Movement in Watercolour (Hardcover)
Bought for my Mother who took up water colours after retiring. A very loose and flowing style of water colour, fantastic range of colour choice used on these paintings - Inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 2 Dec 2012
By 
V. A. Wakeling "Val" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light and Movement in Watercolour (Hardcover)
So much movement and colour. The illustrations are a joy and inspiring to have a go myself. One of my favourite books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light and Movement in Watercolour, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light and Movement in Watercolour (Hardcover)
A brilliant and inspirational book which helps more than me engage in the creation of better forms of abstract watercolours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Light and Movement in Watercolour
Light and Movement in Watercolour by Robin Capon (Hardcover - 16 May 2012)
£12.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews