Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifullly presented, inspirational book
I rate this book 5* because it is presented in stages which are easy to read and follow at ones own pace; easy to 'dip in and out of; beautiful illustrations which gently guide the novice through the design process without feeling dictorial, it would also be inspirational for the experienced textile /embroiderer designer.
The lovely tactile warm fabric cover of this...
Published on 2 Dec. 2012 by Jay

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for those with experience of art techniques
I can appreciate that this book is well put together, has lots of artwork from a variety of artists and a lovely textile cover. However, I didn't find it inspiring at all. I am coming to textiles from a crafting background and not an art background; I was dreadful at art in school but have been developing my creative skills through various crafts. There are loads of...
Published 1 month ago by Chloedancer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifullly presented, inspirational book, 2 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Connecting Design To Stitch (Hardcover)
I rate this book 5* because it is presented in stages which are easy to read and follow at ones own pace; easy to 'dip in and out of; beautiful illustrations which gently guide the novice through the design process without feeling dictorial, it would also be inspirational for the experienced textile /embroiderer designer.
The lovely tactile warm fabric cover of this book adds to its beauty and will grace any coffee table. This book is a feast of colour and a pleasure to handle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 9 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Connecting Design To Stitch (Hardcover)
As someone who has struggled with the design process for many years, I found this book to be the most helpful I have read. It provides an easy to understand description of the design process guiding the reader through without using overly technical language. I find myself looking at things in a different way and have a new found confidence to experiment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great reference book for design principles, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Connecting Design To Stitch (Hardcover)
As a patchworker branching out into more freestyle textile art this is such a good book for refocusing any wild ideas. Sandra Meech also has a talent for drawing too which makes for some fab illustrations of her works in progress. The book is inspiring and is not so much a "how to" book but more a licence to launch your wild ideas and see them through to a finished piece of textile art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clear and infomative, 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Connecting Design To Stitch (Hardcover)
Want a course of lessons which shows you, step by step, how to move from idea to finished work? Then read this and the linked book, Connecting Art to Stitch; both are packed with colourful, motivating illustrations and detailed descriptions of how they were created plus lots of suggestions on how to develop the work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Connecting Design to Stitch, 29 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Connecting Design To Stitch (Hardcover)
This is a really good book to help you develop your own style. It communicates clearly the design stages and provides exercises to consolidate your learning. It is full of good ideas and would of great use to any budding textile artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another in the series, 20 Nov. 2012
By 
Sheila (Dundee, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Connecting Design To Stitch (Hardcover)
Excellent ideas from Sandra who explains the basis of design for everyone, novice as well as more experienced. Importantly she shows how to move from design into stitch which is the tricky bit for so many people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly inspirational, 26 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Connecting Design To Stitch (Hardcover)
As with all of Sandras' books absolutely thorough and inspirational. Showing various ways to start new work and keep it your own rather than an interpretation of someone elses style. Love this book - even the cover not only looks great but feels great too.
I have all her books and this is a great addition to my stitch library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Design & Stitch Ideas, 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Connecting Design To Stitch (Hardcover)
Great book which inspires to be more creative with textile work. Design has often been a weak link and this gives lots of fabulous ideas to develop your own work in a very personal way. I would recommend to anyone interested in developing their own style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super book, innovative and visually exciting!, 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gives a tantalising glimpse into the inspirations and techniques for creating Textile Art, from an Artists perspective. Beutifully illustrated and well written. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful in clarifying ideas, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Connecting Design To Stitch (Hardcover)
I found this excellent for the textile practitioner who perhaps needs to clarify which way to go to further their interest and enhance their design practice. It contains sections explaining colour, value, design principles etc given in straightforward terms. Lots of colour photographs of artists work and sketchbook excercises to refer to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Connecting Design To Stitch
Connecting Design To Stitch by Sandra Meech (Hardcover - 16 Aug. 2012)
£16.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews