Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Layered Textiles
This book is fantastic it covers all kinds of projects you can do with a heated gun. I would recommend this book to any one that wants to do something different but just needs that extra knowledge of things you can do, just step out side the box. Which I always find a bit difficult but with this book you can do it.
Published on 20 Oct 2011 by Mrs. J. Stapleton

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars layered textiles
Found this book disappointing. Although well laid out and interesting with good illustrations and examples to follow any of the suggested pieces would have meant a great deal of expense and purchase of specialised materials. I liked the suggestions for recyling newspaper and have tried some out. I would only recommend it to experienced textile artists.
Published 14 months ago by L. Lincoln


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Layered Textiles, 20 Oct 2011
By 
Mrs. J. Stapleton "Janet" (uk east riding of yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Layered Textiles: New Surfaces with Heat Tools, Machine and Hand Stitch (Hardcover)
This book is fantastic it covers all kinds of projects you can do with a heated gun. I would recommend this book to any one that wants to do something different but just needs that extra knowledge of things you can do, just step out side the box. Which I always find a bit difficult but with this book you can do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book! Great textile Art.Easy to understand instructions, 9 Jun 2012
This review is from: Layered Textiles: New Surfaces with Heat Tools, Machine and Hand Stitch (Hardcover)
I love this book . Its full of interesting techniques and resources. Kim has made the instructions so easy to understand . I am a city & guilds student and I love this book for those "play days" when we all need to rejuvenate our creative juices , when we just want to have a go at something new. Fabulous book and love the book cover which itself is so tactile you wont want to put it down!
She shows you how to do things but I wouldnt descibe this as a project book its more of a technique book, and a great one at that! I use mine alot.
Definately one to have on your shelf!Or rather not as youll be using it so much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant ideas, 28 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Layered Textiles: New Surfaces with Heat Tools, Machine and Hand Stitch (Hardcover)
I got this book as I'd just been working with heat tools at my City & Guilds course and I wanted to do some more work at home.It is filled with loads of fabulous ideas for layering up various fabrics/plastics/papers and attacking the resulting sandwich with heat guns or soldering irons. Lots of different artists feature, which is a nice idea. I'm going to really enjoy working my way through this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars layered textiles, 27 Jun 2013
By 
L. Lincoln "laaartist" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Layered Textiles: New Surfaces with Heat Tools, Machine and Hand Stitch (Hardcover)
Found this book disappointing. Although well laid out and interesting with good illustrations and examples to follow any of the suggested pieces would have meant a great deal of expense and purchase of specialised materials. I liked the suggestions for recyling newspaper and have tried some out. I would only recommend it to experienced textile artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well worth buying, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Layered Textiles: New Surfaces with Heat Tools, Machine and Hand Stitch (Hardcover)
I initially borrowed this from a friend and didn't want to give it back. It showcases interesting - and beautiful - work by a number of artists and explains clearly how the effects were achieved. It introduced me to techniques and products i hadn't thought about using.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Purchase, 14 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Layered Textiles: New Surfaces with Heat Tools, Machine and Hand Stitch (Hardcover)
I bought this book on a whim, i had actually come online to get a different book. Im glad i did get this, although there isnt a great deal in how to produce certain items, it shows the many different possibilities with textiles. Its inspirational for sparking some creativity and gives the names of all the artists who have produced the work so you can go and find out more for yourself as there styles are all unique. it also includes addresses of suppliers, websites, blogs and further reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Texture in Bucket Loads!, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Layered Textiles: New Surfaces with Heat Tools, Machine and Hand Stitch (Hardcover)
The front cover of the book is very tactile! Is just the beginning of a great book! The author gives simple instructions to her own projects, and introduces you to lots of textile artists and perhaps a range of techniques that you may not have tried. Took this book to class this week to show the others ...... more orders on the way I think. They are all lovely - but fussy bunch so it must be good! Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intro to layering, 13 Feb 2012
This review is from: Layered Textiles: New Surfaces with Heat Tools, Machine and Hand Stitch (Hardcover)
Since buying this book together with Kim's book on Hot Textiles I have been inspired.
I had boxes of fabric I just couldn't throw away. Now, nothing is safe.Thank you Kim
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Layered Textiles: New Surfaces with Heat Tools, Machine and Hand Stitch (Hardcover)
An inspiring book full of exiting techniques and processes.
Kim provides clear information on how to carry out the techniques she has evolved to create original textile art and products.
There is a good selection of students work to inspire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Art and textile lovers, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Layered Textiles: New Surfaces with Heat Tools, Machine and Hand Stitch (Hardcover)
Great to dip into for arty ideas.The techniques are unusual and very effective so I thoroughly recommend this book to others like me who like experimenting with materials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Layered Textiles: New Surfaces with Heat Tools, Machine and Hand Stitch
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews