Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arrived promptly
Interesting information about the history of lingerie. However, I was hoping that there might be more information relating to hand-sewing delicate lingerie from each era, rather than concentrating mainly on body shaping.
Published 19 months ago by Sue B

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars superficial
I was disappointed. There is no explanation on how to make the patterns, no measurements of the patterns or a reference on using them. Usable as an inspiration , and I need more. How come there is no good book on vintage lingerie techniques? Drafting, working with patterns, sewing? If you know of one, please leave a comment.
Published on 27 Feb 2012 by Mayadevi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars superficial, 27 Feb 2012
This review is from: Vintage Lingerie: Historical Patterns and Techniques (Paperback)
I was disappointed. There is no explanation on how to make the patterns, no measurements of the patterns or a reference on using them. Usable as an inspiration , and I need more. How come there is no good book on vintage lingerie techniques? Drafting, working with patterns, sewing? If you know of one, please leave a comment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arrived promptly, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vintage Lingerie: Historical Patterns and Techniques (Paperback)
Interesting information about the history of lingerie. However, I was hoping that there might be more information relating to hand-sewing delicate lingerie from each era, rather than concentrating mainly on body shaping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable resource, 19 Mar 2013
This review is from: Vintage Lingerie: Historical Patterns and Techniques (Paperback)
I have recently used this book to help research and create period lingerie. I have making experience and I think this helped as there is not much explanation, but a lot of the items can be put together by looking at the image and taking 2 minutes to think about it and using initiative. The patterns worked great and were easy to grade up and down once drafted. I can't wait to make more items from it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't exactly what I was expecting, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vintage Lingerie: Historical Patterns and Techniques (Paperback)
But it is a well researched and covers a lot of different underwear styles with patterns. However I found it somewhat disappointing that the patterns looked hand-drawn, without much care, though I have yet to make one of the garments to test their accuracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vintage Lingerie: Historical Patterns and Techniques (Paperback)
Another great book form Jill Salen. I just love her work and the research and detail are never disappointing. I fully recommend this book at anyone with the interest in fashion and historical fashion interest. Great patterns to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful light reading about the different pieces of underwear through time. Draft patterns for each piece are included. It does take a bit of work to adjust to modern sizes, but its well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one happy sister, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vintage Lingerie: Historical Patterns and Techniques (Paperback)
bought as Christmas present for my sister on her recommendation she is over the moon with it and now setting up her own business
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage lingerie, 19 Mar 2013
Different to what I expected but very interesting to read and I can't wait to try and start with the basic patterns of bra stitching and sewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pleased, 19 Mar 2012
This review is from: Vintage Lingerie: Historical Patterns and Techniques (Paperback)
This is a lovely book. It is very clear. Includes some lovely patterns and lots of information. This is a very useful guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of information, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vintage Lingerie: Historical Patterns and Techniques (Paperback)
I purchased this book as I am a good sewer , it gives great information to test all skills , I have shared the book with lots of other students
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vintage Lingerie: Historical Patterns and Techniques
Vintage Lingerie: Historical Patterns and Techniques by Jill Salen (Paperback - 18 Aug 2011)
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews