Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Martial Art Cats? Now You've heard everything......
Outlaw : Varjak Paw is the rivetting sequel to Varjak Paw by S.F Said. Admittedly, it may move quite slowly in early chapters, but once it picks up, Outlaw is pure brilliance, with many unforsee-able plot twists and a completely original story line.

For Varjak Paw, a cat who has recently dicovered a secret power of martial art within him, the streets are...
Published on 23 Sept. 2006 by Flian

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Varjak paw outlaw
This amazing book is survival for children and teenagers I don't think I've ever red a better book in my life it's a fast flowing story and when you pick it up you can't put it down
Published 11 months ago by Mr. M. Phillips


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Martial Art Cats? Now You've heard everything......, 23 Sept. 2006
This review is from: The Outlaw Varjak Paw (Paperback)
Outlaw : Varjak Paw is the rivetting sequel to Varjak Paw by S.F Said. Admittedly, it may move quite slowly in early chapters, but once it picks up, Outlaw is pure brilliance, with many unforsee-able plot twists and a completely original story line.

For Varjak Paw, a cat who has recently dicovered a secret power of martial art within him, the streets are about to get a lot more dangerous. Sally Bones has him named as an Outlaw, and she wants him dead or alive. In a town where cats are forbidden to even hunt for themselves, lest they be punished in a barbaric and brutal act, Varjak Paw must rise to his potential, and fight for the lives of his friends. If you enjoyed book one, the warriors series or any similar books, this action filled, gripping sequel is something you should definately read. Even if you wouldn't normally read a book with an animal as a main character, this book may just surprise you. Get your paws on a copy of Outlaw : Varjak Paw now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book and Great Story, 30 Nov. 2005
By 
B. Yeoh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Outlaw Varjak Paw (Hardcover)
This is an amazing book and great story. I can't recommend it enough.
Food is scarce. Sally Bones and her gang are imposing their law on all
the cats. Every cat suffers, but none can face Bones. She's the
fiercest, best fighter the cat world has known. She knows The Way that
Varjak knows, but has been practising it for far longer. She could
even be a better fighter than the mystical Jalal, of Varjak's dreams.
However, there are things more powerful than fighting. Jalal suggests
"seeing" is more powerful. I would add the starlight between Holly and
Varjak, the courage of Mrs Mogg, the loyalty of Cludge the dog (and
you get to learn about his family), the cunning of Razor and the
ability to make cats as prone to fighting as the Scratch Sisters and
the Orrible Twins, come together in peace are all just as important.
What a great story SF Said takes us through. Not only do we learn more
about the wonderful characters but we get new ones, such as Ozzie and
Omar the Orrible Twins, and great relationships between the
characters. The pacing is fast and superb. The language is beautiful
and at times poetic
" like a string of lights, strong between two windows… like whisker of
starlight, fine and strong between them."
…But always readable. And let me not forget the illustrations, which
are the usual Dave McKean masterpieces, just the right counterpoint to
the story.
I don't think you need to read the first Varjak book to read this one,
but it might help in explaining some of the background between Holly &
Varjak, and Jalal & Varjak.
The book is about facing your fears, but still going on to do what you
know is right. It's about what you love and the "strength of the
starlight" between those you love. It's about trying and trying and
not giving up. It's an heart lifting moving story, and most
importantly it's a gripping read. Now go and get it.
Let's hope SF SAID "keeps the Way alive" and writes another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars because it's cool for cats, 3 Dec. 2005
By 
This review is from: The Outlaw Varjak Paw (Hardcover)
so the title of the review probably shows my age (old enough to remember when jools holland was actually cool. sort of) but that's important: this book is not just for kids. anyone who enjoys kickass writing that can turn from comic to tragic to hardcore action to gentle romance on a penny, and who loves the thoughtful but witty works of, say, joss whedon or howard hawks, will find much to enjoy between the gorgeously illustrated covers of The Outlaw Varjak Paw.
If you're looking for a book to read with your kids that won't bore you, embarrass you, scare them or put them off reading, this is it. The pictures illustrate the story beautifully for younger children ready for a complex story with loveable heroes (especially Cludge the dog, who will melt your heart) and the prose is satisfying and full of new vocabulary but not verbose for children ready to read alone. Best of all, there will be no gender gap in readers -- boys (and girls) who think reading is nancy will latch on to the active, funny characters here.
warning: this book is set in the real world, and some sad and occasionally violent things occur. they are not gratuitous, but described seriously. readers of a sensitive nature should be prepared, but also reassured that the book's fighting scenes are for a higher ethical purpose that carries through the nasties.
And while I can't recommend digging out 80s classics to read to, a playlist of cat-influenced tunes and artists (Love Cats by the Cure and anything by Cat Power are on my list ;) will add to the rich pleasure of this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A excellent sequel to Varjak Paw, 16 Nov. 2005
This review is from: The Outlaw Varjak Paw (Hardcover)
I have just finished reading this book and it is every bit as exciting as the last one.
Varjak Paw now lives in the city with his friends, but their peaceful existence is threatened by the evil Sally Bones and her gang. Jalal teaches Varjak some valuable lessons, but it seems even he had his weaknesses.
I feel that this book was in some ways more mature than the last, and perhaps too violent at times for younger children. Despite this, the story is satisfyingly fast-paced and maintained my interest.
This book, although marketed for children, would be enjoyed by all ages but I would recommend that adults read it before letting very young or sensitive children get their hands on it, as it is definitely rather gory at times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Varjak Paw vol.2, 18 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outlaw Varjak Paw (Hardcover)
I enjoyed the first Varjak Paw book, and the second was equally brilliant, if not better. I know it's for children, but adults will find it just as exciting. The characters are vivid, and the story is full of tension and incident. The author's style is superior to many supposedly well-written books for adults. I would recommend this for older children and any adult who likes cats or other animals. There is a strong but subtle moral tone, which makes it very suitable for young people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Because It's Cool for Cats, 15 April 2007
By 
This review is from: The Outlaw Varjak Paw (Paperback)
so the title of the review probably shows my age (old enough to remember when jools holland was actually cool. sort of) but that's important: this book is not just for kids. anyone who enjoys kickass writing that can turn from comic to tragic to hardcore action to gentle romance on a penny, and who loves the thoughtful but witty works of, say, joss whedon or howard hawks, will find much to enjoy between the gorgeously illustrated covers of The Outlaw Varjak Paw.

If you're looking for a book to read with your kids that won't bore you, embarrass you, scare them or put them off reading, this is it. The pictures illustrate the story beautifully for younger children ready for a complex story with loveable heroes (especially Cludge the dog, who will melt your heart) and the prose is satisfying and full of new vocabulary but not verbose for children ready to read alone. Best of all, there will be no gender gap in readers -- boys (and girls) who think reading is nancy will latch on to the active, funny characters here.

warning: this book is set in the real world, and some sad and occasionally violent things occur. they are not gratuitous, but described seriously. readers of a sensitive nature should be prepared, but also reassured that the book's fighting scenes are for a higher ethical purpose that carries through the nasties.

And while I can't recommend digging out 80s classics to read to, a playlist of cat-influenced tunes and artists (Love Cats by the Cure and anything by Cat Power are on my list ;) will add to the rich pleasure of this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great follow- up to Varjak Paw, 29 Oct. 2007
This review is from: The Outlaw Varjak Paw (Paperback)
Rating : 4.0/5
Number in Series : #2 in Varjak Paw series
Raeson for Reading : Four-Legged Friends Challenge, to complete the series

It follows on directly from Varjak Paw with the Mesopotamian Blue cat now living on the streets with Tam, Holly and Cludge. They are hungry and finding it very difficult to find food in the winter months. To make matters worse in the quest for food, Sally Bones' gang are claiming all the best food by law even in the neutral areas of the city. If you aren't in Sally Bones' gang, you don't get any food.

Varjak and his friends go to the wise Mrs Moggs for advice on how to deal with Sally Bones. Like Varjak, Sally Bones knows the Way taught to him by his distance ancestor Jalal and she is the best fighter in town. Mrs Moggs isn't a great help only passing on childhood tales and legends. As a result of Varjak causing trouble for her gang, Sally Bones declares him and anyone helping him outlaws to face her terrible punnishment.

A really good follow up to the first book. The illustrations were beautiful again and the new characters fitted in well. It was again very dark in places and I wouldn't recommend it for younger readers (maybe save it for teenagers). I liked that Jalal was in it again offering more wisdom to Varjak when he sleeps and it was interesting to find out how Sally Bones knew the way and her place in the scheme of things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 6 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Outlaw Varjak Paw (Paperback)
...And I thought the first Varjak Paw couldn't be topped. But somehow, SF Said has managed it. Everything you loved about the first book is here, but expanded, deepened and intensified.

From the start to the finish, you will hopelessly lost in the story, hooked on the taut, tense yet poetic and smooth writing SF scatters playfully across the page. You really, genuinely care for the characters, and you'll find yourself gasping and lurching with your cat friends as they face the horrors of Sally Bones' gang. You are so literally there in Varjak's head, sharing his thoughts so precisely, you will feel joy when he does, despair and sadness when he does, and will flinch when he is hit.

McKean's illustrations work brilliantly, really capturing the energy and tension of the book, but one picture that truly stood out for me was the lone picture of Varjak, beaten to a pulp, with eyes so sad you could cry for him.

This book simply deserves your attention, and you must give it. It doesn't matter how old you are; this book will have you so deeply involved it hurts, and when it ended I felt truly, deeply gutted it was over. SF Said, I need - nay, WE need - more Varjak Paw. Please, please write another. And make it 500,000 words. Honestly, I'd drink it all up with relish.

Perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outlaw Varjak Paw (Paperback)
This book is one of my top five children's books of all time. Although it's a sequel you don't have to have read book one in order to enjoy it - though I'd recommend book one too! (I actually prefer this book to the first one, but both are amazing!) The pace, the style, the fantastic use of language, not to mention unforgettable characters - this book is in a league of its own. I have read this with lots of children and every one of them loved it! Get a hold of a copy - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outlaw Varjak Paw (Paperback)
What a brilliant book! My daughter has also read the first one Varjak Paw, she loved it so much I ordered The Outlaw for her. She has read both books about 5 times its ridiculous and knows most of it word by word now. She is 10.
I have also read them both, they are exciting and keeps you wanting to read the next chapter. Kids will love this book about cat adventures and fights. Very gripping and easy to read.
I hope S F Said writes more like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Outlaw Varjak Paw
The Outlaw Varjak Paw by SF Said (Paperback - 1 July 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews