Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Lots of interesting healthy recipes to choose from. Easy to follow with nutritional breakdown of each dish. Would recommend for people wishing to provide healthy meals for their families
Published 13 months ago by Dee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic
....collection of low calorie recipes. It's not particularly inspired but if you're looking for quick, low calorie mid week meals then it'll do the job. The price is good but I'd rather go onto the Good Food website and search the recipes on there for free.
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Low-calorie Recipes (Good Food Series) (Paperback)
Lots of interesting healthy recipes to choose from. Easy to follow with nutritional breakdown of each dish. Would recommend for people wishing to provide healthy meals for their families
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good choice for busy cooks and those with families. Recipes duplicated in other GF books?, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Low-calorie Recipes (Good Food Series) (Paperback)
There is nothing ground-breaking in this book, as many of the recipes are based on well-tried combinations of ingredients, but it does live up to its promise of providing tasty, simple and filling meals which are also healthy. As well as hearty favourites, there are recipes inspired by different culinary traditions. Each recipe has a colour illustration and I liked that the portion sizes seemed more generous than is the norm, and this suited us because we normally find portion sizes too small.

Some recipes do require a well-equipped and well-stocked kitchen which can bump the cost up of certain meals, but most of the time it is possible to get round this by adapting recipes, e.g. using different-sized receptacles, different cuts of meat or omitting non-essential ingredients (e.g. fresh herb garnishes).

Most recipes are quick to make but one star was docked because some took longer than stated. In addition, there were some disappointments: I found one of the recipes duplicated in my 2013 copy of GF 'Stir Fries & Quick Fixes' (Chicken with Mushrooms recipe) (which left me wondering if other GF books in the range have duplicated recipes) and not all the recipes were as successful. The 'Minced Beef with Sweet Potato Stew' and 'Chicken with Peppers and Butter Beans' both had watery sauces (the sauces were reduced and a few store-cupboard ingredients added which rectified the problem).

As others have commented, the tendency of the pages to flick back is annoying (small magnetic book markers helped me to relocate my recipes quickly). Despite this, at just under 4, and containing 100+ recipes, this book would be a useful addition to the kitchen of busy cooks, especially those with children. Those looking for fresh ideas or highly innovative cuisine are advised to look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the thing, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just the thing, a perfect book to go with my new 5 2 diet. Quick delivery too. Thank you. L
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really love this one, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Low-calorie Recipes (Good Food Series) (Paperback)
It's actually the best one from the whole serie, meat can be quite easy replaced, all is simple, fresh and tasty. It's really worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars low calorie, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Low-calorie Recipes (Good Food Series) (Paperback)
When you are watching your weight it is always good to find something different to cook that wont spoil your diet. This book has sections for under 200, 300, 400 and 500 calories and has tasty dishes for a normal healthy diet if you are trying to loose weight or not
I would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good addition to a great series, 16 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Low-calorie Recipes (Good Food Series) (Paperback)
I love the Good Food mini/ 101 books. Everything I make from these little gems never fail to deliver and they're sold for under 4 each. They're my go-to books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth it, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Low-calorie Recipes (Good Food Series) (Paperback)
Hardly worth going out of your way to buy this paricular book. All the BBC Good Food books have the calorie content of each meal & its easy to portion size to reduce the calorie content. Most of these recipes do not include the calorie content of any necessary accompaniment. There are only about 5 recipes in this book I would contemplate trying & the only one I've tried so far (Chicken with mushrooms) was extremely bland & definitely needs spicing up to make it worth eating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good recipe book, 21 Jun 2014
By 
A. G. Berry "G :-)" (Swansea, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Low-calorie Recipes (Good Food Series) (Paperback)
Well used recipe book. Some really good dishes, several of which have become firm favourites. Would recommend this to anyone trying to cut down and eat healthily
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent information in book, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Low-calorie Recipes (Good Food Series) (Paperback)
Good selection of recipes, clear and concise. I am yet to try some out due to my commitments.
Good choice of dishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Low-calorie Recipes (Good Food Series) (Paperback)
These recipes are pretty amasing - I made some of the soups, main courses and cakes - they all work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Food: Low-calorie Recipes (Good Food Series)
Good Food: Low-calorie Recipes (Good Food Series) by Sarah Cook (Paperback - 6 Jun 2013)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews