Customer Reviews


968 Reviews
5 star:
 (808)
4 star:
 (114)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easter lunch for 8 - no trouble with Mary's prepare ahead tips
Last night I spent a couple of hours preparing today's lunch - no panic, no stress. Mary gave instructions on preparing vegetables ahead and said it was perfectly feasible to reheat the veg in the oven the next day: cooked red cabbage, sweet potato, carrots and broccoli - you half cook them, cool down with water and display them beautifully on a dish. The dish was...
Published 10 months ago by K King

versus
160 of 173 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version of this book a major disappointment
Kindle version of this book a major disappointment. Am huge fan of Mary Berry for many years and have used her recipes constantly,more so than any other food writer. I have 5 books and on my second copy of Complete Cookbook due to seriously constant use over the years, so much so that I had to replace the first copy. Bought the Kindle version of Mary Berry Cooks and am...
Published 12 months ago by gabytoo


‹ Previous | 1 2 397 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Berry Cooks - one of the most well set out, down to earth and pleasurable cook books I've found!, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry Cooks (Hardcover)
Well presented, clear and homely recipes, with mouth watering photos of most of the finished products and the priceless tips and guidance from the famous cordon bleu cook herself at the bottom of many of them. The book starts with Kitchen Wisdom, which describes, explains the use of and best methods of keeping, everyday ingredients that are used in the following recipes. The rest of the book is divided into the sections of a meal and the time of day they are often served, from Quick Bites, Sharing Plates and Starters through Spectacular Suppers and A Classic Roast to Cold Desserts and Afternoon Tea. It's good to see many photos of Mary Berry either making, adding final toppings or serving up the finished article, so you get ideas on everything from how to literally manhandle certain ingredients to presentation at the table. A really useful and attractive food book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Book!, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry Cooks (Hardcover)
Mary Berry for me has to be one of the best cooks there is... Everything about this book is simple to follow and all ingredients are either in your larder or you can get from the shops. I have cooked many of the recipes and they have turned out first class. I am a great fan of Mary Berry and have most of her books because you can rely on everything turning our exactly as she describes. Mary Berry Cooks is no exception.. I manage to follow the TV series that goes with the book, that was a bonus as I could see first hand how the recipes were made. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys cooking and likes to see good results. I feel it would make a lovely gift either for a Mary Berry fan or just someone who likes to cook good healthy food from enjoyable recipes. So give it a try.. you will not be disappointed .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy cooking, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry Cooks (Kindle Edition)
this is a great book with lots of super recipies. I love all the get ahead tips. I will certainly use this book a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - Great ideas She cooks food that everyone ..., 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry Cooks (Hardcover)
Great book - Great ideas
She cooks food that everyone enjoys and can make! The book has a real family feel to it
It is easy to follow and understand the recipes no 'exotic ingredience' 'no pretty pictures on plates that cost a fortune!'

I have use Mary Berry's cook books for years I went on one of her early TV shows to make a Pavlova -she was great then too
very 'ordinary' in the nicest possible way definitely not a 'celebrity chef' but friendly and interested in your opinions.

I bought the book for a newly wed! I am sure she, like me will have it for years to come and use it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Had better, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry Cooks (Hardcover)
Sorry, but this book sees to me to be one made just to make another book. Nothing new and rather boring. I have used Mary Berry's books over many years and this one was not up to expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry Cooks (Hardcover)
Mary Berry was the Delia of my day when I married in 1971 ! Lovely to rediscover her and to see that she's still producing such great recipes . Made her salad platter with ranch dressing ,her salmon tranches and her millionaires cheesecake for a family party recently . All wonderful and got great compliments . Can't wait to try more as almost everything in this book looks delicious . So many books are never used but this will join Delia on the shelf of reliable recipe books .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MARY BERRY COOKS, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry Cooks (Hardcover)
This book arrived in record time and was in excellent condition due to the high standard of packaging. Not her most exciting book but interesting and very cpmpetitively priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry Cooks (Hardcover)
This cookery book is a favourite together with the Mary Berry's book of Desserts. Clear concise directions and a good read too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Picture less food, 9 Dec. 2014
By 
Owl "Ollie" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry Cooks (Hardcover)
This was disappointing as I like a cookery book that you an see what the dish looks like. This had some nice recipes but felt without pictures very let down. Not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry Cooks (Kindle Edition)
Clear, easy to follow nostalgic! Amazing that Mary keeps going. Feel that I have gone full circle as her were my first cookery book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 397 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mary Berry Cooks
Mary Berry Cooks by Mary Berry (Hardcover - 27 Feb. 2014)
£9.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews