Customer Reviews


855 Reviews
5 star:
 (710)
4 star:
 (103)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easter lunch for 8 - no trouble with Mary's prepare ahead tips
Last night I spent a couple of hours preparing today's lunch - no panic, no stress. Mary gave instructions on preparing vegetables ahead and said it was perfectly feasible to reheat the veg in the oven the next day: cooked red cabbage, sweet potato, carrots and broccoli - you half cook them, cool down with water and display them beautifully on a dish. The dish was...
Published 6 months ago by K King

versus
156 of 167 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version of this book a major disappointment
Kindle version of this book a major disappointment. Am huge fan of Mary Berry for many years and have used her recipes constantly,more so than any other food writer. I have 5 books and on my second copy of Complete Cookbook due to seriously constant use over the years, so much so that I had to replace the first copy. Bought the Kindle version of Mary Berry Cooks and am...
Published 7 months ago by gabytoo


‹ Previous | 1 286 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easter lunch for 8 - no trouble with Mary's prepare ahead tips, 20 April 2014
By 
K King "kathy8904" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry Cooks (Hardcover)
Last night I spent a couple of hours preparing today's lunch - no panic, no stress. Mary gave instructions on preparing vegetables ahead and said it was perfectly feasible to reheat the veg in the oven the next day: cooked red cabbage, sweet potato, carrots and broccoli - you half cook them, cool down with water and display them beautifully on a dish. The dish was covered with foil and just heated up the next day for 25 mins. The yorkshire puddings were made the night before - 8 minutes reheating on the day - perfect! I even par roasted the roast potatoes, chilled them and just continued cooking for 25 minutes the next day.

The joint of meat was a 5lb lamb shoulder - cooked slowly for 3 to 4 hours. Whilst the meat was resting I could heat up all the above. The result - very happy well fed 8 family members. Don't stress or over complicate things - following Mary's down to earth tips will leave you feeling great, not frazzled and worn out so you can enjoy spending time with friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


156 of 167 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version of this book a major disappointment, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry Cooks (Kindle Edition)
Kindle version of this book a major disappointment. Am huge fan of Mary Berry for many years and have used her recipes constantly,more so than any other food writer. I have 5 books and on my second copy of Complete Cookbook due to seriously constant use over the years, so much so that I had to replace the first copy. Bought the Kindle version of Mary Berry Cooks and am crushed that the print is so so faint. The print can only be described as faint and fainter - with parts eg. A Dinner Party menu unreadable. The photographs are so small they tell you nothing and they are not worth printing. I will use the kindle version as a handy reference for ingredients at the shops and as a reminder when in the kitchen to cook with, but would not recommend this version. I will go out and buy the book. The contents are worth reading, I learnt to freeze food from her earlier books years ago and saved a lot of time and money by following her advice. Plus the recipes are my style of cooking. But I can not read parts of the book in the kindle version and until they improve the print I would not tell a friend to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary's focus is good food and the pleasure it will bring to people, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Stephen Reid "Stephen" (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mary Berry Cooks (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book: well written and with great photographs of most (but not all) of the dishes.

Mary Berry makes me feel that she is cooking not to show off her skills, but for the delight of producing good food and serving it for other people to enjoy. There is something essentially modest and unassuming about her style, both on television and in this book. Her focus is the food and the pleasure it will bring to people to use her recipes and eat the results.

The recipes are preceded by useful sections about running an efficient kitchen, ingredients to keep and advice on freezing, The recipes are relatively simple, clear to follow and well laid out. They detail the dishes that she is showing on television in the current series.

This is a book about good food: unpretentious, tried, trusted and able to be adopted with confidence. Well worth buying and trying. Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple Easy Recipes, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry Cooks (Hardcover)
There are a lot of good ideas and tips in here. One of the better cook books around at the moment. Typical Mary Berry; good, easy, tasty recipes that anyone can follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous and delicious, 2 Mar 2014
This review is from: Mary Berry Cooks (Hardcover)
As you'd expect from Mary, it's a beautiful book with plenty of delicious-sounding recipes and good advice. We've only cooked the stir-fried pork so far but it was delicious, so I can't wait to try the rest. The photography is lovely too, it really feels like you're at home with Mary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrumy!!, scrumy,!!scrumy!!, 26 Mar 2014
This review is from: Mary Berry Cooks (Kindle Edition)
I am watching Mary Berry 's TV Cookery Show at the minute and just wanted all the recipes she has done so far. In this Book you get all those recipes and much much more!
Well done Mary Berry can't wait to get cooking all of your lovely recipes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry Cooks (Hardcover)
We have loads of cookery books in the kitchen, and only a handful get regular use. This is where Mrs. Berry's experience in cooking writing pays off as shs written lots of recipes that are quite straightforward - this is a book of sensible "do-able" recipes that you know you'll actually use, rather than fancy "looks good in the book" recipes that never get cooked or are beyond the home cook. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary never dissapoints, 2 Mar 2014
This review is from: Mary Berry Cooks (Hardcover)
A beautiful addition to my collection - it didnt dissapoint, Bought the book ahead of the series starting on Monday evening and looking forward to following Mary through some of these beautiful recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Uber' Mary Berry, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry Cooks (Hardcover)
I have just bought this book on a friend's recommendation. She had cooked a pork stir-fry which was delicious.
My first impression of the book is that I am overwhelmed by just how many photos there are of Mary Berry; also there is an over-abundance of title pages.
I would have preferred more recipes. The ones I've looked at seem rather simplistic and unexciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Berry does it again!, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry Cooks (Hardcover)
An excellent book to accompany the recent series. Easy recipes, beautiful photos, a real pleasure to own. A book that you will use time and time again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 286 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mary Berry Cooks
Mary Berry Cooks by Mary Berry (Hardcover - 27 Feb 2014)
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews