Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get the Hardcover! One of two "must haves" for the 50th Anniversary
First, I want to point out that fans in North America should consider buying *this* version of the book, through Amazon UK. In the USA, it will not be released until Jan 7, 2014, and only as a softcover. This is a treasure well worth having in hardback. Along with "Doctor Who: The Vault: Treasures from the First 50 Years", "The Doctor - His Lives and...
Published 8 months ago by ROBERT W. SAINT JOHN

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Low stars not for content.
Low stars are for the fact that I cannot actually read it!!!!! Tried reading it on my phone, laptop and iPad.... It does not enlarge at all to be able to read it... Very annoyed as I don't want to spend money buying it a second time on paper. Yes, I've done all the double tapping and everything else I can think of, it won't enlarge. Wish I knew this before so as I could...
Published 6 months ago by Highlandrose


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get the Hardcover! One of two "must haves" for the 50th Anniversary, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor - His Lives and Times (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
First, I want to point out that fans in North America should consider buying *this* version of the book, through Amazon UK. In the USA, it will not be released until Jan 7, 2014, and only as a softcover. This is a treasure well worth having in hardback. Along with "Doctor Who: The Vault: Treasures from the First 50 Years", "The Doctor - His Lives and Times" is one of the two "must have" books commemorating the 50th anniversary of Doctor Who.

"The Doctor - His Lives and Times" is a like graphical narrative of the series as seen by Rosencrantz and Guildenstern. In other words, previously unseen fictional details of events, objects and characters from the history of the show, such as a glimpse into the 500 Year Diary, UNIT memos, newspaper and magazine articles, and so much more that I wouldn't want to spoil.

Also interspersed throughout are hundreds of quotes and insights from the actors, production crew and others through the years. In addition, the book includes so many photos I've never seen, despite decades of reading Doctor Who Magazine (since it was Weekly!) and uncountable books and tie-ins.

Casually paging through it is a delight. Reading closely is like finding deleted scenes on a DVD. Don't hesitate, get it now, or gift it this Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lives and Times of the Doctor, 4 Dec 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor - His Lives and Times (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
Of course given the 50th anniversary books like this are going to keep popping out of the woodwork, and generally I'm slightly sceptical as to their value or veracity - but in this case this book definitely lives up to what a dedicated fan of the good Doctor would want to read, and see. Published by the BBC, it ought on that basis alone to offer information and photos and other items of interest that may not even be available to authors in other circumstances.

The book contains absolutely loads of interesting snippets - including news releases and recollections, but also information from the friends and foes that the Doctor has met over all the years, reports on Cybermen activity, newspaper clippings of the finding of Dodo, a cover of a book written by Sarah Jane Smith - absolutely loads of things like this. Each Doctor has his own section; his story is told by someone who knew him, for example Fenric tells of the Seventh Doctor, Sarah Jane and K9 of the Fourth Doctor, Victoria of the Second Doctor. There are mementors from their `time' such as `newspaper clippings' of events. We even get to read the Doctor's Academy report for the class of 92, where he failed driving - "It will be a sorry day for the universe if he ever gets his hands on a dematerialisation circuit." It seems Cardinal Borusa was not overly impressed.

Each section then continues with the actor playing the Doctor telling of their role, and others of the time telling of that Doctor's era - producers, writers, actors etc. There are also heaps of photos from the series. Really, this book is loaded with things to read, things to see, and things to chuckle over and remember. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars my Son likes it, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor - His Lives and Times (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
not the best Dr Who book he said but is good. He has a lot to compare with, as a great Dr Who fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who must have, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor - His Lives and Times (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
Excellent, must have addition to my son's Dr Who library this Christmas - just hope they are no Vashta Nerada within the pages - Hay, who turned off the lights??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely LOVE this great book!, 28 Oct 2013
By 
Joseph Weir (Florissant, MO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor - His Lives and Times (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
Any good fan of Doctor Who should own this book. It is thorough, both in fantasy and reality, meaning that they go into great detail about the characters and stories but also about the real people that have made it happen for all these years. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent anniversary tie-in, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor - His Lives and Times (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
This combination of a look at the factual and fictional worlds of 'Doctor Who' contains a great deal of enjoyable material. The latter in particular has some great jokes for fans old and new.

Definitely worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who This Is Your Life, 30 Sep 2013
By 
Timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor - His Lives and Times (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
A great new hardback book released as part of a celebration of The Timelords 50th Anniversary year.

This book is slightly different in it's narration using school reports, Documents & discussions with friends & allies about the character of the Doctor.

The other part of the book deals with the behind the scenes on the show through the decades discussing the series & adding behind the scenes triva on the episode's which for a new Whovian is a worthy purchase, As for fanboy Whovians well they probably know all the trivia anyway.

Actors,Writers,Producers also contribute to the book discussing a recollection of there time in the show & recollect storys before they joined the series.

This book is a great addition for a Doctor Who's fan's collection & one of the better book's of many releases that celebrate the shows 50th Anniversary year.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Dr Who fans, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor - His Lives and Times (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
Bought as a present for a huge Dr Who fan this present went down well! It really is a must for young and old. So many facts. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor - His Lives and Times (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
My daughter loves reading this book and it arrived on time which was great, it was a lovely present for her and features lots of trivia about all eleven doctors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Any Doctor who fan will love this...., 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Doctor - His Lives and Times (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
I have been waiting a long time for this book as I first saw it on the high street for 20 which i was going to pay, but I thought I would check Amazon and I am so happy I did because I got this for 12. I gave it 5 stars because I think it is great for everything doctor who, I love the way it is set up with the messages, notes and newspaper articles. I love this book and I would recommend any doctor who fan to buy this. One word describes this book and that is ...... Fantastic....

Great book, Great price and a great big smile. :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Doctor - His Lives and Times (Dr Who)
Doctor Who: The Doctor - His Lives and Times (Dr Who) by Steve Tribe (Hardcover - 26 Sep 2013)
8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews