Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hearty comforting food, lots of inspiring recipes even if you're not a Bake Off fan
I was unsure as to whether I would like this book as I have never watched the Bake Off series, although my wife is a certified Bake Off addict so we had to buy it.

It's early days but so far so very good, as soon as we received the book I was happy with our purchase owing to the fact that it's our kind of food; comforting and wholesome. I have posted a full...
Published 11 months ago by Chris M

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really a 'Bake Off'
Was seduced by the magic words "Bake Off", but it's just a winter recipe cook book so I felt it a bit of a 'con'. Beautifully photographed and laid out, and lovely shiny paper but don't think it has anything to do with Mary specifically because it doesn't. Bought 2 copies, sending both back.
Published 10 months ago by Grace's granny


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hearty comforting food, lots of inspiring recipes even if you're not a Bake Off fan, 27 Nov 2013
By 
Chris M (York) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Bake Off: Winter Kitchen (Hardcover)
I was unsure as to whether I would like this book as I have never watched the Bake Off series, although my wife is a certified Bake Off addict so we had to buy it.

It's early days but so far so very good, as soon as we received the book I was happy with our purchase owing to the fact that it's our kind of food; comforting and wholesome. I have posted a full list of recipes at the end of my review which might hopefully help you decide if the book is for you or not.

The book is split into ten sections, showing there is something in this book for every occasion, from your regular midweek meal to those feasts (although sadly I must pledge my allegiance here to Nigella's brined Turkey recipe for Christmas day, although the stuffing in this book does sound very tasty).

The sections are:

Soups
Weeknight Comfort
Weekend Feasts
Slow Cooking and One Pot
Pies and Tarts
Winter Veg
Puddings
Special Occasions
Breads and Bakes
Preserves and Pickles

As it's early days we have only tried two of the recipes over the weekend but both have been great and will certainly be added to our stock list of go to meals. The first was the `Pumpkin and Ricotta Ravioli with Sage Butter', but we replaced the pumpkin with butternut and it was so very tasty, really pleased with the end result.

My wife then made the Spiced Tarte Tatin, a simple twist on a favourite of ours but somehow even better than the original, again we were really pleased with the outcome.

The recipes are all laid out in a great methodical manner, with a nice introduction to each recipe, a tempting full colour photo, with a clear ingredients list and method (I have uploaded a couple of pictures to hopefully show this).

All in all a great book with a lot more recipes we cannot wait to try. Would highly recommend even if you are not a fan of bake off but like the look of the recipes, but this would certainly be an excellent Christmas gift for those that like the show too. Very happy with our purchase, so much so we've bought a second copy to give as a gift at Christmas.

Recipe List:

Soups

White Bean, Smoky Bacon and Savoy Cabbage
Butternut Squash with Chilli and Fennel Seed
Spiced Sweet Potato and Coconut
Wild Mushroom Soup
Lemony Chicken Broth with Orzo Pasta and Chard
Watercress Soup with Chorizo Crumbs

Weeknight Comfort:

Bengali Spiced Parsnips with Sticky Chicken
Pork Chops Cooked in Cider, Sage and Mustard
Roast Duck Breast with Buttery Polenta
Beetroot Risotto with Thyme and Pecorino
Herb and Cheese Stuffed Chicken with Butter Beans
Roast Pumpkin with Feta and Oregano
Quick Roast Chicken with Buttery Potato and Celeriac Mash
Spanish Cod Stew with Chickpeas
Creamy Cheese, Brussel Sprout and Almond Gratin
Oven Baked Rice with Bacon and Wild Mushrooms
Sausage and Chestnut Pasta Bake
Mackerel and Crispy Chorizo Salad with Celeriac and Apple
Spicy Lamb and Herb Stuffed Squash
Veal Stroganoff with Noodles
Spice Crusted Lamb Fillet with Baked Rice
Steak with Braised Herby Lentils
Tomato Baked Lamb with Rosemary, Olives and Feta
Smoked Sausage with Creamy Lentils
Roast Harissa Salmon with Lemony Giant Couscous

Weekend Feasts

Slow Roast Lamb with Red Onions, Marsala and Rosemary
Pulled Pork with Chipotle
Apple and Herb Stuffed Pork Belly
Roast Rib of Beef with Mustard Crust
Beef Wellington with Wild Mushrooms
Porchetta
Warm Chicken and Jerusalem Artichoke Pilaf
Warm Lentil and Harissa Lamb Salad
Cassoulet
Roast Chicken with a Lemon, Garlic and Pancetta Stuffing
Chicken Tagine with Cheerful Bulgur Wheat
Bream with Saffron Cream Mussels and Scallops
Pumpkin and Ricotta Ravioli with Sage Butter
Fresh Pasta Dough
Butternut Squash, Chard and Lemony Ricotta Lasagne
Whole Baked Sea Bass with Ginger and Chilli
Sticky Beef Rib Ragu with Tagliatelle
Herb Crusted Rack of Lamb with Chipped Potatoes

Slow Cooking and One Pot

Spanish Pot Roast Chicken
Lamb Meatballs with Feta and Cumin
Veal Ragu
Coq Au Vin
Ale Braised Shin of Beef with Walnut Dumplings
Lamb Shanks with White Wine and Gremolata
Pork Belly with Fennel and Roasted Sticky Red Onions
Pigs' Cheeks Cooked in Stout
Creamy Pot Roast Pheasant
Rich Pork Goulash with Gnocchi
Pork Shoulder with Lemon and Garlic
Spicy Sausage and Bean Casserole

Pies and Tarts

Best Ever Fish Pie
Roast Chicken and Stuffing Pie with Mashed Potato Pastry
Mashed Potato Pastry
Cottage Pie with Cinnamon and Mace and a Buttermilk Cobbler Top
Ginger and Chilli Beef Raised Pies
Hot Water Crust Pastry
Chestnut and Mushroom Filo Pie
Caramelised Onion Tart
Enriched Shortcrust Pastry
Chorizo and Watercress Tartlets with Parmesan Pastry
Steak and Ale Pudding with Juniper and Prunes
Leek and Wensleydale Tart with Walnut Pastry
Walnut Pastry
Beef Cheek, Mushroom and Madeira Puff Pie
Flaky Pastry
Crab and Roasted Spring Onion Tart
Spinach and Goat's Cheese Puff Tart

Winter Veg

Gratin Dauphinoise
Braised Red Cabbage
Celeriac Puree
Roasted Caramelised Shallots
Cauliflower Cheese
Braised Chicory in White Wine and Parsley
Broccoli with Walnut Vinaigrette and Crispy Shallots
Roasted Balsamic and Hazelnut Beetroot
Ginger Cream Parsnips
Braised Leeks with a Herb and Parmesan Crust

Puddings

Treacle Tart
Sweet Shortcrust Pastry
Spiced Tarte Tatin
Crumble
Chocolate and Hazelnut Torte
Blood Orange and Passion Fruit Tart
Sticky Toffee Puddings
Hot Chocolate Sponge with Chocolate Suace
Rhubarb Cobbler
Autumn Fruit Strudel
Orange Spiked Bread and Butter Pudding
Baked Boozy Apples
Apple and Quince Pie
Treacle and Lemon Sponge

Special Occasions

Cheddar and Mustard Sausage Rolls
Roast Pumpkin Scones
Hallowe'en Cupcakes
Toffee Apples
Pumpkin Pies
Cheese Straws for Soup
Chocolate Chip Cookies
Gravadlax
Ham Hock Terrine
Roast Turkey with Chestnut, Pancetta and Prune Stuffing
Spiced Cider Baked Christmas Ham
Yule Log with Chestnut Cream
Mince Pies
Iced Tree Biscuits
Christmas Pudding
Panettone
Cheese and Caraway Biscuits

Breads and Bakes

Beetroot and Chocolate Brownies
Pear and Almond Traybake
Sticky Clementine Cake
Peanut Butter and White Chocolate Brownie
Watercress and Feta Muffins
Apple and Soured Cream Muffins
Cornbread
Soda Bread
White Rolls for Soup
Sourdough Starter
Sourdough Bread
Banana and Chocolate Loaf
Sticky Gingerbread
Chilli and Pineapple Cake
Malt Loaf
Tea Cakes
Rich Fruit Cake
Poppyseed Tea and Share Loaf
Home Made Pizzas

Preserves and Pickles

Spiced Carrot Relish
Crab Apple Jelly
Apple and Sultana Chutney
Seville Orange Marmalade
Piccalilli
Rhubarb and Ginger Jam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb. Gorgeous photos!, 30 Nov 2013
This review is from: Great British Bake Off: Winter Kitchen (Hardcover)
Love this book! Recipes are easy to follow and not full of random ingredients I have to search for. But the photos! So gorgeous and really inspiring. I'm going to frame some for the kitchen! Highly recommend, we can't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Winter Delights in a book, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Bake Off: Winter Kitchen (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my husband. He loves baking e.g. breead and we love winter style casserole dishes. This book offered both of those styles for him. A good book at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as exciting as i thought it would be, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Bake Off: Winter Kitchen (Hardcover)
I love the 'bake off every day' and was so excited to order this but it isn't as exciting as i thought it would be. I assumed it would be mostly puddings and cakes but its mostly savoury so maybe i just assumed wrongly. Still a good book tho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seasonal, simple, timeless recipes, 21 Nov 2013
By 
S. Cobbold (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great British Bake Off: Winter Kitchen (Hardcover)
This is one of those reliable cookbooks you refer to again and again. Because it's themed to winter, almost all of the recipes are seasonal, and are just want you want to be cooking (and eating!) at this time of year.

- Layout and Photography
The book is divided into 10 sections: Soups, Weeknight Comfort, Weekend Feasts, Slow cooking, Pies, Winter Veg, Puddings, Seasonal Occasions, Breads and Bakes, and Preserves and Pickles - so it's definitely not limited just to baking. There's generally one recipe per page, with an accompanying photo - and the photography is beautiful. Lots of overhead shots, dark, cosy images, rustic styling.

- Recipes
The foreword is by the 'Bake Off Team' but the recipes are created by Lizzie Kamenetzky, the food editor of delicious. All of the recipes seem very accessible, very achievable, and no long lists of obscure ingredients! Flicking through, I found at least 10 recipes I could cook that evening with ingredients I already had.

If you ever find yourself wishing you had a one-stop cookbook, this could be it - it has all the basics, from cauliflower cheese and fish pie, to treacle tart and sticky gingerbread. Or if you've got a bit more time on your hands, try the slow-roast lamb with red onions, marsala and rosemary - I made it for Sunday lunch and it was so simple, but tasted incredible - a great mix of flavours. The roast pumpkin with feta and oregano, and roasted caramelised shallots were the perfect accompaniment, followed by a slice of autumn fruit strudel, which was surprisingly easy to make and was delicious with the apple, pear and blackberry filling.

All the recipes are laid out with a helpful introduction and step-by-step instructions (Step 1, Step 2, Step 3 etc in separate paragraphs) so it feels very logical and easy to follow. And all of the recipes are 5 steps or less (apart from a few of the breads).

The seasonal chapter does have a turkey, ham, yule log, mince pie and Christmas pudding recipe but it doesn't feel overly Christmassy so it's still a great cookbook to be using into the new year and through the rest of winter.

- Summary
This is a great book for bake-off fans, less confident cooks who want to pick up some skills - and anyone who's fed up of having a shelf-full of cookbooks and just wants one catch-all, seasonal cookbook (for winter at least!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle, 11 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always up to Mary berry's superb standard. Great recipe ideas full of hints and tips and lovely to eat
Bought on kindle so I have it with me when I travel and cook whilst camping. Be interesting in a camp oven!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward, reliable and tasty family food., 24 Aug 2014
By 
Mrs. C. Poh "Charlotte P" (belfast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Bake Off: Winter Kitchen (Hardcover)
Have never reviewed a book before, but felt this one deserved it. Everythimg my family have made so far has turned out well, doesn't always happen as all cookbook users will know. If you are looking for uncomplicated family food, then give this a try. I recommend the Oven Baked Rice with Bacon and Wild Mushrooms, Bengali Spiced Parsnips with StickyChicken, Chicken Tagine, Spicy Sausage and Bean Casserole and OMG!! the Sticky Gingerbread and Pear and Almond Traybake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recipe book, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Bake Off: Winter Kitchen (Hardcover)
I brought this for my Mum, as she loves cooking and she loved this book, she found lots of recipes that she liked that not only she could cook in the winter but in all seasons. It has beautiful photography and the photos are such good quality. Highly recommend X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Calorie Free Cakes, 10 Feb 2014
By 
F. F. Ross "FFR" (Torbay, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Bake Off: Winter Kitchen (Hardcover)
But only if you look at the pictures and don't eat them. Seriously though, a great book for a great TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great great cook book, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Mrs. L. Down - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Bake Off: Winter Kitchen (Hardcover)
Well what a brilliant cook book from this amazing programme to come to our screens.So many different yummy recipes to try out on your family.A must must for any cook/chef.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great British Bake Off: Winter Kitchen
Great British Bake Off: Winter Kitchen by Lizzie Kamenetzky (Hardcover - 21 Nov 2013)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews