Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the book, a must-have for all bakers!
I've always been looking for a book like this... therefore I am now a very happy owner of How To Avoid A Soggy Bottom! Firstly, the book looks lovely - a light blue, matte hardcover with tasteful typography and a cute title, something I would happily have in my possession forever. Secondly, the book contains all the fundamentals and essential knowledge for bakers,...
Published 19 months ago by Faye Tan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok
Bought as a prize for work bake off competition. Bit disappointed but the price reflects the lack of pictures and it's ok
Published 12 months ago by Mrs. C. D. Swain


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the book, a must-have for all bakers!, 30 April 2013
This review is from: The Great British Bake Off: How to Avoid a Soggy Bottom and Other Secrets to Achieving a Good Bake (Hardcover)
I've always been looking for a book like this... therefore I am now a very happy owner of How To Avoid A Soggy Bottom! Firstly, the book looks lovely - a light blue, matte hardcover with tasteful typography and a cute title, something I would happily have in my possession forever. Secondly, the book contains all the fundamentals and essential knowledge for bakers, including several basic recipes which demonstrate these techniques and knowledge.

The book answers many FAQs on baking such as the function of major ingredients such as yeast, eggs, etc. The characteristics of different types of flour, the difference between fairy cakes and cupcakes, how to make crustier bread - these are just some of the many topics explored in this book. Another very helpful aspect is the troubleshooting questions and answers, examples being "Why has my cake sunk in the middle?" "What's the best way to make caramel for a crème caramel?" and of course, "How do I avoid a soggy bottom?"

Every amateur baker must own one of these!

PS: I got it at Waterstones for £12... darn, next time I'll check amazon first!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great British Bake Off: How to Avoid a Soggy Bottom and Other Secrets to Achieving a Good Bake (Hardcover)
I have all the other GBBOff titles and thought this may be a bit repetitive but it's very informative and even as an experienced baker, there's lots of tips and new things to find out. Some good recipes too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 10 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Great British Bake Off: How to Avoid a Soggy Bottom and Other Secrets to Achieving a Good Bake (Hardcover)
If you love baking, you'll love this book. I haven't been able to put it down and it has great tips on why things go wrong and where ingredients come from etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great British Bake Off: How to Avoid a Soggy Bottom and Other Secrets to Achieving a Good Bake (Hardcover)
This book lays out the science of baking in simple English. It is easy to understand and practical. However, if you are an experienced baker, this book is not for you as the information shared is basic. I do like the bits of history given for some bake goods. Overall, an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soggy bottom cookery book, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great British Bake Off: How to Avoid a Soggy Bottom and Other Secrets to Achieving a Good Bake (Hardcover)
Just what I needed for my soggy bottom!!! Really handy cookery book, more useful than the pile of other celebrity cookbooks I have lurking around!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful for almost any baker, 24 Sep 2013
By 
R. Walker (Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great British Bake Off: How to Avoid a Soggy Bottom and Other Secrets to Achieving a Good Bake (Hardcover)
I'm a fairly confident amateur baker but thought this would be useful for tips. It's fantastic. It's not really a recipe book although there are recipes in there, mostly just lots of information. Troubleshooting tips, explanations of different techniques and so on. I'm very happy with it, should be a very useful resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, 1 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great British Bake Off: How to Avoid a Soggy Bottom and Other Secrets to Achieving a Good Bake (Hardcover)
Bought as a prize for work bake off competition. Bit disappointed but the price reflects the lack of pictures and it's ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting snippets, 20 Nov 2013
By 
Fran James "fmj21" (Hermitage, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great British Bake Off: How to Avoid a Soggy Bottom and Other Secrets to Achieving a Good Bake (Hardcover)
Good book - has some interesting tips and tricks but it is a small book - good Christmas stocking filler?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The rest British bake off, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great British Bake Off: How to Avoid a Soggy Bottom and Other Secrets to Achieving a Good Bake (Hardcover)
I have bought this book for my daughter for christmas, fab litte book, wonderful tips. Everything you need to know regarding why something didn't work out quite right. I think I will be borrowing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Technical - Wish there were more recipes, 27 Oct 2014
By 
dmcnabb - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great British Bake Off: How to Avoid a Soggy Bottom and Other Secrets to Achieving a Good Bake (Hardcover)
I purchased this book as a gift for a family member, but had a good look at it before gifting it. The book has several illustrations which are very typical of the pre bake illustrations on the Great British Bake Off. There are some recipes, but not too many and not too many complicated bakes. This book seems to focus more on the "basics" and how to make them perfectly. It does spend a lot of time going through the technical side of why not getting the ingredients, proving time, prep work etc just right can affect the final product. The book reminded me a lot of how Paul Hollywood talks on GBBO, but it was very interesting. I would have preferred to see more recipes, but that's just my preference. I would recommend if you are looking to master the basics, and in particular if you are a fan of the bake off program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great British Bake Off: How to Avoid a Soggy Bottom and Other Secrets to Achieving a Good Bake
£10.39
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews