Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our native flora and more, 16 Mar. 2013
By 
downkiddie "downkiddie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Flowers: Nature's own to garden grown (Hardcover)
Carol Klein has yet again given us a book as beautifully illustrated as it is written. The winning combination of her writing and Jonathan Buckley's photography makes for a joyous read. I always think of Carol Klein as one of our great gardening writers. She's so lyrical and enthusiastic about the plants she grows. She knows her stuff but the excitement has a newness, and an eagerness to experience all these wonderful plants have to offer. She's our modern day Vita Sackville-West, but with a rather more glorious accent.

This books concentrates on British wild flowers and their cousins. Some books on wild flowers extol their virtues and suggest their use in all garden settings, sometimes with predictably untidy results. Here Carol rightly sings the praises of our native flora and suggests where it might be used, but also looks at the "cultivated cousins" and related plants from around the world. As we would expect from Carol Klein she also explains propagation methods used for each group (though she does direct us to another Klein/Buckley masterpiece, Grow Your Own Garden, for further information).

The sections on each plant are fairly loose categories, some a particular genus of plants, at other times families. With some the same family appears several times - for example there are separate chapters on Hellebores, Clematis, Celandines and Buttercups - all part of the Buttercup family itself. All however are logically grouped and highlight the similaries and relationships between different species.

The writing is warm and effusive, at times touching and poignant and always makes us want to get and grow the plants she talks about. A lovely book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another inspiring read from Carol Klein, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Flowers: Nature's own to garden grown (Hardcover)
The previous review says it all beautifully and concisely. Carol's style of writing is so inspiring which makes the reader feel anything is possible, so why not get out there and try! All the information you could need is offered and put in a very readable fashion that is purely 'Carol Klein'. As usual the photography is truly in a class on its own and enhances and supports all aspepcts. It is a joy to read, and certainly contains a 'feel good' factor for me. I shall be buying an additional copy for a very good friend who appreciates and enjoys Carol Klein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great ideas, 23 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Flowers: Nature's own to garden grown (Hardcover)
Having just taken on a new area of land this book has given me some wonderful ideas to make it more 'wild' friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wild about wild flowers, 19 Mar. 2013
By 
Ms Sheena Nelson (cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Flowers: Nature's own to garden grown (Hardcover)
fantastic book, has the history of the flowers as well as useful tips, lovely photo's and easy to understand chapters. brilliant price for what you get. great present for gardeners who grow wild flowers. love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight into plant families, 23 Mar. 2013
By 
Ladylawn (Feltwell, Norfolk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Flowers: Nature's own to garden grown (Hardcover)
I love Carol's enthusiasm and the way she descibes the textures, colours and habits of our plants. It's really interesting to see how garden plants have evolved from wild flowers and which ones are related.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Flowers: Nature's own to garden grown (Hardcover)
Bought this for my Mum who has cancer at the moment and she loved it , gardening is something that she looks forward to and i know she has orderded plants from reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Book From Carol Klein, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Flowers: Nature's own to garden grown (Hardcover)
I've been hooked on Carol's books ever since I purchased 'Grow your own garden' a couple of years ago.
Her passion for plants and flowers is as contagious in her books as it is on T.V I find as well as being a very informative read - as are all of her books, they are great to have around and a pleasure to come back to when I'm looking for that little bit of inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Flowers: Nature's own to garden grown (Hardcover)
This book answers all my questions about wild flowers and growing them. Excellent red - Ms Klein's enthusiasm is infectious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great photography, 21 Mar. 2013
By 
P. V. PRIOR (Ipswich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Flowers: Nature's own to garden grown (Hardcover)
You cane nhear carol's voice as you read this book. The photography is wonderful. I shall browes through it time after time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Wild Flowers Natures own garden by Carol Klein, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Flowers: Nature's own to garden grown (Hardcover)
Another wonderful book by Carol she has a passion for all things gardening and this book is no exception
The book is beautifully Illustrated with superb colour photos of many wild flowers and lots of useful information about them
I cant wait for her next book. Terry Griffiths
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Flowers: Nature's own to garden grown
Wild Flowers: Nature's own to garden grown by Carol Klein (Hardcover - 28 Feb. 2013)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews