Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...audiobook is irresistibly fluid...trapping you in Nicholas Brigg's authentic reading..."
Like the iconic sound effect (created by Dick Mills of the BBC Radiophonic Workshop) of the Dalek Control Room, low-toned rhythmic almost mesmeric drone that drills beneath your skin, clawing at your soul, instilling fear & apprehension, Nick Briggs' latest DOCTOR WHO tie-in novel, THE DALEK GENERATION is remorselessly hypnotic in its intent that skilfully weaves itself...
Published 20 months ago by The EYE OF HORUS Editor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dalek Generation
Given that Nicholas Briggs has a long association with Doctor Who, I expected this to be a solid Doctor Who / Dalek novel. But sadly I was rather disappointed. The story revolves around the Daleks and a long-term plan which sets them up as the good guys, with the Doctor trying to convince others that their aims are really evil and bad. Along the way the Doctor finds...
Published 20 months ago by Keen Reader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A nice ending., 22 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a cool book, with some rather strange things and some confused moments, so I have to take a mark of for that, but altogether,4/5,a pretty good book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. Especially how the Doctor manages to bring ..., 15 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dalek Generation (Doctor Who) (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
Great book. Especially how the Doctor manages to bring the children round to accept him. Not completed reading but a brilliant read so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good story, poor resolution, 18 April 2013
By 
andrew from llangollen (llangollen, north wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like a good doctor who story as much as the next fan, especially if it features the daleks, but this was so ridiculous, its not even funny. are we really expected to believe that so many people would be taken in by the daleks considering their murderous past? highly unlikely I think.

considering this is a doctor who novel, the doctor doesn,t really do anything. he spends the entire book being outwitted by the daleks at every turn, and the resolution, when it comes, is at the hands of 3 grown up children, and a mysterious bit of alien tech which can apparently reorder matter on a grand scale.

speaking of the resolution, is that the best the author could come up with? tragedy and doctor who go hand in hand with each other, you expect it, so this sort of sickly sweet ending is just wrong on so many levels. using an alien device to recreate the childrens dead parents? really?

to make matters worse, the daleks, when defeated, simply get in their spaceship, and leave, no reprisals, no attack on the sunlight worlds, nothing. lame lame lame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 9 Dec. 2014
By 
I. Emerson "Ian Emerson" (Bathgate, West Lothian, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit predictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Aug. 2014
By 
Martin "Martin IK Kelly" (Basingstoke, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dalek Generation (Doctor Who) (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So dissapointing, 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have a huge collection of Dr Who novels both paper and Kindle and am generally entertained by them or better. This book however is so bad it has prompted my first ever review on Amazon. It has the feel of a fan fic written by a 12 year old who got bored and dashed off a nonsense ending. The plot is awful, characterisation woefully thin and the ending is abrupt and disappointing, Sorry Nick but stick to voice-overs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daleks & Jelly Blobs, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An exciting well constructed story, containing characters that draw the reader deeper into the story,which is a ripping adventure with a heart warning end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best dalek stories I've read, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good book with a solid and engaging story/plot. Why are the daleks acting so nice and what are they really up to. You really get a feel for Matt Smith's doctor through the book and the 11th doctors personality really shines through. I would say this book is a must for all who fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WELL RECEIVED PRESENT, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dalek Generation (Doctor Who) (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
MY GRANDAUGHTER WAS VERY HAPPY TO RECEIVE THIS FOR HER BIRTHDAY. I AM SURE IT WILL BE LOVED BY ALL DR WHO FANS WHO LIKE TO READ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One for fans and newcomers alike, 15 April 2013
By 
Tony Jones "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As part of the many releases in 2013 for the anniversary, Nick Briggs has written an eleventh Doctor story that inevitably pits him against the Daleks. For those who don't know Nick voices the Daleks on TV and has through Big Finish (and before) written many Doctor Who audio adventures; this is his first novel.

The story finds the Doctor with no companion though he does rescue three children whose parents die as a result of the Daleks. The Doctor quickly finds that the Daleks are now a force for good and is unable to convince humanity otherwise. The story has lots of twists and turns before finally coming to a conclusion on an alien world on which is an ancient, all-powerful artefact.

This is a good read and accessible to both fans and more casual readers. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dalek Generation (Doctor Who) (Dr Who)
The Dalek Generation (Doctor Who) (Dr Who) by Nicholas Briggs (Hardcover - 11 April 2013)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews