Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect is a fun but poniant read
Many people will probably roll their eyes upon first reading the synopsis for this book but I would advise them to give this story a go, as the subject matter is handled better than you initailly think.

The main focus of this story is on Ianto Jones but it also focuses on a woman called Emma, who after coming across an unknown alien tech on the dead body of a...
Published on 12 Oct 2008 by Ms. K. M. Shand

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun read...with some reservations
If you love Torchwood and Ianto Jones, then this Torchwood tie-in book is for you. If you don't like the Jack/Ianto relationship, then I'd skip "Almost Perfect" as it features heavily in this one.

The reason I bought this book was to see if one of the authors in the Torchwood tie-in series could finally capture the Jack/Ianto dynamic that has come across on...
Published on 12 July 2009 by Lasha


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect is a fun but poniant read, 12 Oct 2008
By 
Ms. K. M. Shand (Derby, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Many people will probably roll their eyes upon first reading the synopsis for this book but I would advise them to give this story a go, as the subject matter is handled better than you initailly think.

The main focus of this story is on Ianto Jones but it also focuses on a woman called Emma, who after coming across an unknown alien tech on the dead body of a woman, finds a sinister voice in her head telling her that she can mysteriously make both herself and the men that she meets almost perfect, through the use of physical manipulation.

Gwen arrives at work one morning to find a beautiful and unknown woman appearing to be doing Ianto's job but it isn't until several minutes later that she finds out exactly who the 'woman' is. On the same day, the team also find a fully clothed skeleton sitting at a resturant table.

Rhys also gets to play a role in the story.

Whilst there are obviously humourous moments to be found in Ianto's situation and a few moments that make you roll your eyes when it comes to female cliches, there are also poniant moments too, with Ianto thinking about his relationship with Jack from time to time.

Both the Jack/Ianto and Gwen/Rhys relationships are given more warmth and dignity here than in much of series 2 - there isn't a hint of Jack/Gwen anywhere beyond friendship and even Gwen and Ianto get to share some nice moments together as Ianto faces up to his situation - and whilst it's fairly clear that Jack isn't in love with Ianto, you come away with the feeling that it could be a possibility in the next series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars (S)he's got perfect skin, 26 July 2009
A strange one this - James Goss' story is uneven and often uneventful, and focuses on Ianto's overnight transformation into a woman, possibly caused by an unidentified alien presence that's making people beautiful and curing cancer miraculously but also destroying lives and reducing hapless people to ashes.

With the majority of chapters being very brief, and a lot of focus on the relationship between Gwen and Rhys, the book seems to lack cohesion, and I found it to be difficult to be drawn into events. The inherent humour in Ianto's new form is played pretty well, and Jack is his usual innuendo-driven self, while several references to Tosh and Owen remind us that this new slimmed down Torchwood is still recovering from the sudden deaths of two of its members.

Overall it's one of the weaker in the series but is still pretty fun and true to the spirit of the TV show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun read...with some reservations, 12 July 2009
By 
Lasha (Planet Earth) - See all my reviews
If you love Torchwood and Ianto Jones, then this Torchwood tie-in book is for you. If you don't like the Jack/Ianto relationship, then I'd skip "Almost Perfect" as it features heavily in this one.

The reason I bought this book was to see if one of the authors in the Torchwood tie-in series could finally capture the Jack/Ianto dynamic that has come across on screen: playful, loving and oh, the amusing banter. Mr. Goss gets a B+ for effort, but by allowing Ianto to be stuck in the body of a woman for the entire book, he goes wimps out on the potential romantic homoerotic leanings that could have happened.

While I enjoyed the Captain Jack and Ianto banter I would have preferred Ianto to have regained his male form much sooner. And the subplot of the aliens (The Perfection) I found to be worse than any D plotline on Dr. Who, it nearly had me laughing becuase it was so lame.

So, good points: Jack/Ianto banter and chemistry. Rhys is in the book and he's just lovely. Just enough Gwen, not too much to annoy you, but she's not too underused to feel like she's being slighted.

Bad points: Alien subplot and the fact that Ianto is stuck too long in the female body (that could have been played for more humorous laughs, it wasn't, which is a shame).

Overall, its a enjoyable read if you like Torchwood and I liked this book more than the other Torchwood tie-ins I've read so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood... sexy, savvy, 'now'. No seriously., 6 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a fast-paced novel of pure Torchwood. Off the leash from Doctor Who, it revels in the naughtier side of sci-fi- in this case, sex and relationships. It's very 'pop culture' and 'now'- for a whole chapter is written in the format of a Facebook status update, and the chapter headings are a 'name that song' game. This doesn't jar though like you might think it would.

With fewer characters left in the show (it's now the Torchwood 3), each character gets more opportunity to shine. Jack takes a back seat for much of the book, giving Ianto the chance to appear more than one-dimensional for once- an opportunity he takes (mostly), in some interesting directions.

Like the TV show it does have moments where it goes over-the-top- in particular about Cardiff's gay community. There are cliches and stereotypes about women and gay men flying left right and centre here, which you'll either laugh off or find a bit offensive. Hopefully you'll just laugh it off, as it's a funny story with a lot of good comic dialogue.

It's well written and a really easy read- I'd finished it in a couple of hours. In fact at under 250 pages it's too short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Page Turner, 11 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although it sounds like something from the maddest reaches of fanfiction, you shouldn't let the overall premise of Ianto waking up as a beautiful woman put you off reading this story. This is a fast-paced mystery thriller in which all the pieces slot together until you eventually find out how this bizarre situation happened. No prizes for guessing that alien tech is involved and that it's all Jack's fault, even if he doesn't realise it at first.

The short chapters switching from one set of protagonists to another really move the story along, and keep you turning the pages, although you do have to concentrate to keep the time-line straight as the narrative jumps around.

All the main characters are well written, especially Jack who leaps quipping, smirking and larger than life out of the pages, until he is once again put in the position of having to make the really tough decisions to undo the damage.

There are moments of great humour including the Time Agency's use of flowcharts and Rhys & Gwen undercover at a speed-dating session; real horror and also poignancy - particularly when Ianto is given the opportunity to have his heart's desire granted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars almost perfect, 14 Sep 2011
this book was hilariousI couldn't stop laughing all the way through....

the almost in the title is really not necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have read for Ianto fans, 9 May 2011
By 
This book was really exciting, and because Ianto is almost the main character in this, I will gladly recommend this to anyone who liked his character in the TV series.
There's also a very cute portrait of Gwen and Rhys as a couple, and Rhys gets his share of adventure too. Really entertaining book. I'm glad I bought it. And as the team solves the mystery, it gets very entertaining and in the end the reader is just hooked. After I started reading this, I couldn't put it down because it was so exciting!
Jack get's his fair share of attention too in this book, as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood: Almost Perfect, 27 Jan 2011
This is quite different from the other Torchwood novels - I have enjoyed it as there is a nice vibe between Jack and Ianto, which isn't in most of the novels. It is well written and humours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 May 2014
By 
Michelle Carline "~*Mickie *~" (Doncaster, South Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I sadly lost my original copy of this story and decided to buy a new copy! It's a favourite of the first 15 Torchwood novels!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Read, 3 Nov 2008
By 
A. Lockley "Who Fanatic" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Throughly good read. It does have a tendency to be a bit disjointed, many chapters being only a page or so long. The story obviously takes place after the end of the last TV episode, "Exit Wounds". As such, the story is quite focused, especially when Jack gets, shall we say nobbled. There did appear to me that there were some assumptions but these did not distract as they only seemed to be noticable after finishing the book. Well recommended to all Torchwood fans and a good read in it's own rights as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Torchwood: Almost Perfect
Torchwood: Almost Perfect by James Goss (Paperback - 3 May 2012)
£6.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews