Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gluten-free essential
I know there's cake on the cover, but this book contains a broad range of meal recipes, NOT just baked or sweet things. The recipes are broken down into the following sections:

Family suppers
Kid's favourites
Classics, made gluten-free
Speedy snacks
Sweet treats
Savory bakes

If you're following a gluten-free diet (or cooking...
Published 22 months ago by Miss K

versus
36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing GF pies - but editors missed something!
There are a lot of good, solid recipes to be found here, and the layout is cute and clean. The pie crust recipe is great - crumbly rather than flaky, but it works beautifully in all the recipes.

However, be careful with the Steak, Ale & Mushroom Pie recipe - the proofreader seems to have missed the fact that ale contains gluten, and they call for normal dark...
Published 21 months ago by E.U. Glass


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gluten-free essential, 13 Dec 2012
By 
Miss K (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Gluten-free recipes (Good Food 101) (Paperback)
I know there's cake on the cover, but this book contains a broad range of meal recipes, NOT just baked or sweet things. The recipes are broken down into the following sections:

Family suppers
Kid's favourites
Classics, made gluten-free
Speedy snacks
Sweet treats
Savory bakes

If you're following a gluten-free diet (or cooking for someone who is), this book is a must - it's a bargain price, as with all the other books in the series and the recipes are delicious and straightforward.

I wanted to mention that I also own the gluten-free recipe book from the similar range by Hamlyn (Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook 200 Gluten-Free Recipes) and would say that it's worth buying both: there's a big assortment of recipes in both books and both follow the same format with a double page spread for each recipe, always accompanied by an ingredients column, a picture and easy to follow instructions. The BBC GoodFood version does include nutritional info (calories, fat etc) per portion, for every recipe so perhaps this book has a bit of an edge in that respect. I make good use of both my Hamlyn & the GoodFood books though and like I said, they do contain different recipes.

There are lots of gluten-free recipe books popping up nowadays and some that are perhaps more adventurous or fancy but honestly, this (or the Hamlyn) would be a brilliant place to start for good, everyday recipes - and for a small book, it is jam-packed with tasty, fuss-free recipes that really do come out looking like the pictures!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing GF pies - but editors missed something!, 30 Jan 2013
This review is from: Good Food: Gluten-free recipes (Good Food 101) (Paperback)
There are a lot of good, solid recipes to be found here, and the layout is cute and clean. The pie crust recipe is great - crumbly rather than flaky, but it works beautifully in all the recipes.

However, be careful with the Steak, Ale & Mushroom Pie recipe - the proofreader seems to have missed the fact that ale contains gluten, and they call for normal dark ale. (There are about two types of gluten-free dark ales on the market, and neither are particularly easy to find, usually requiring ordering a case online and shipping it. And when you do get your gluten-free ale, you don't pour it into a pie!) In a later recipe the editors return to their senses and call for gluten-free beer, which is easier to find. It just seems like an odd omission in a book that otherwise goes so far as to specify "gluten-free tortilla chips," which are usually gluten-free. Some people with celiac disease can tolerate dark ale, but others.... cannot.

Obviously anyone celiac, or used to feeding a celiac, will catch this error and they won't make a poisonous pie. People purchasing the book to cut down on their gluten intake (Paleo folks or other such trendy people) probably won't be bothered.

But dear Amazon readers, when giving this book as a gift, or if you're purchasing it in the hopes of wooing a celiac with your cooking, scribble a quick note in the margins! Use gluten-free gravy, yeast flavoring or spirits instead - don't use the dark ale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gluten Free cooking, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Gluten-free recipes (Good Food 101) (Paperback)
I found this book invaluable in helping me adjust to a Gluten Free diet. By looking at what food had been substituted for wheat flour, it has also helped me adjust recipes that I already have at home.

The neat size of this book makes it ideal to keep on hand on a shelf in the kitchen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Day Good Food Gluten Free Recipes, 14 July 2013
By 
J. Bloom "Writer" (Suffolk. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Gluten-free recipes (Good Food 101) (Paperback)
My daughter now has recently had to go on a gluten free diet and I bought this book from Amazon. It is full of excellent, easy to make recipes, which I enjoyed baking. I hadn't realised gluten free cooking could be so easy with tasty results. My daughter's favourite was the chocolate and raspberry brownies. I made the bakewell tart and thought the sponge was light and delicious. The pastry seemed to work without the Xanthan Gum as I hadn't got any. (Could have been cooked in a larger tin than suggested). The recipe says use gluten free baking powder, but if you have cream of tartar and bicarbonate of soda in your cupboard you can make your own (instructions on the label). I highly recommend this little gem of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good things come in small packages, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Gluten-free recipes (Good Food 101) (Paperback)
Although only a small book very useful recipes especially for newly diagnosed Coeliac, my husband is pleased he can still have nice food i.e cakes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Gluten-free recipes (Good Food 101) (Paperback)
Really helpful, lot's of good ideas, highly recommend it. Easy simple to follow receipes, ingredients easy to obtain, full marks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good food: gluten free recipes, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Gluten-free recipes (Good Food 101) (Paperback)
Very good range of recipes to suit all tastes. I have already tried a number of them and have been very pleased with almost all of them. I bought the product as my sister has been recently diagnosed with coeliac disease and I had no idea what food products I could use or not use. She is visiting me this week and I am now confident that I can provide a safe and tasty menu for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great bookj, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Gluten-free recipes (Good Food 101) (Paperback)
Cant believe the price of this book, it has so many good recipes really easy to follow, it even tells you how many calories in each portion- not so sure I wanted to know that as some of the recipes are very fattening!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars G.F. made easy!, 2 Oct 2014
My girlfriend is coeliac and together we have found this book just right for finding good and tasty things that she enjoys eating. All the recipes are easy to follow and the ones we've tried have been great! An excellent book which makes life a bit easier for those who suffer with gluten intolerance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed!, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Gluten-free recipes (Good Food 101) (Paperback)
I am disappointed in this little cook book, but maybe expected too much. I had hoped for more help and understanding of how to get cakes to rise & have the correct texture - not just by telling me to use gluten free flour, which in itself doesn't always do the job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Food: Gluten-free recipes (Good Food 101)
Good Food: Gluten-free recipes (Good Food 101) by Sarah Cook (Paperback - 4 Oct 2012)
£4.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews