Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very silly, very entertaining
In this 5th Ninth Doctor novel the Doctor, Rose and Jack are thrown into another adventure when a Neanderthal appears on modern day Earth (no - not 'Stig of the dump'!). The TARDIS crew are split-up very early on, with the Doctor and Rose investigating a group of scientists in the past, where Rose suffers the indignities of getting married to a caveman and in the novels...
Published on 23 Sep 2005 by Jane Aland

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who's Who?
When the TARDIS picked up an indication of temporal disturbances on Earth in the twentieth century, the Doctor is concerned about the primitive nature of the device. He found that its destination was early 21st century Bromley and with Rose and Captain Jack, he lands in Bromley's town centre. While the two guys use their technology to track down the disturbance, Rose uses...
Published on 23 Oct 2005 by JA Fairhurst


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who's Who?, 23 Oct 2005
By 
JA Fairhurst "johnfair" (Edgeley, Stockport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When the TARDIS picked up an indication of temporal disturbances on Earth in the twentieth century, the Doctor is concerned about the primitive nature of the device. He found that its destination was early 21st century Bromley and with Rose and Captain Jack, he lands in Bromley's town centre. While the two guys use their technology to track down the disturbance, Rose uses a more direct method of information gathering.
The trio find their mysterious time traveller in a local hospital and rescue him to take him home. But his presence only raised more questions for no Neanderthal man could know anything of time travel. The Doctor's attempt to take him home failed nearly fatally.
With Rose, the Doctor travelled back to that delicate time when H Sapiens Sapiens was displacing H Sapiens Neanderthalis only to find a whole research team from the far future studying this period. But there was something strange (alright, even stranger) going on.
Like all the Ninth Doctor series of books, we get a good feel of the three main characters as represented in the TV series. Gareth Roberts has produced a fast moving book fully in line with the broadcast episodes while retaining the books remit to provide a strong story - I doubt the Hy-Bractors bloody rampage would have been broadcast in just that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A tough one to judge. A LOW three stars. More like 2 1/2 out of 5 :), 20 Feb 2009
By 
T. Milnthorpe "pipkiin3" (W-S-M) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was pleasantly surprised by this book. It was the first book of Doctor Who I've read (and I only read it less than a month ago). But I am torn. On the one hand, I can't say the book is awful, but there are elements that bring it down.
First thing - the writing, although not bad, feels like it was written by a scriptwriter rather than a novelist. The dialogue is better and more involving than the descriptive sections. Somehow, reading Doctor Who is still fun, despite this fact and I think its because you feel the writer is enjoying this.
Unlike other TV-based books (such as LOST), the characterisations are more consistent (if not terribly revealing beyond the boundaries that we see in the show)and the prose has a greater sense of heart and soul. Well, a little more. The prose is still somewhat stiff in places. Significant improvements are made with the latest books. I've read two old books with Rose and a new one with Donna ("Shining Darkness"), the writing and storytelling of the latter succeeds all previous efforts.
The story of "Only Human" is hit and miss. It meanders all over the place as various characters go off in different directions. Jack and Das are poorly served, left to wallow in a sub-plot that keeps getting in the way of the main action. These pages would have been better off edited together, or left until the end.
There are various plot-holes towards the end - and end which is too daft for even Doctor Who. I can't say much more without spoiling the book.
Overall: The writing, plot and the structure of the novel is bearable, but very inconsistent at times, as is the characterisation of a few minor figures important to the plot. The ending is too silly, you wonder if the author struggled with finding a decent climax to finish with. Yet despite these things, it has a warm hearted approach and it is easy to see that the author loves The Doctor. It is much more fun to read than I anticipated.
Try the newer novels, they're much better.
It ONLY JUST gets a 3/5 from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very silly, very entertaining, 23 Sep 2005
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
In this 5th Ninth Doctor novel the Doctor, Rose and Jack are thrown into another adventure when a Neanderthal appears on modern day Earth (no - not 'Stig of the dump'!). The TARDIS crew are split-up very early on, with the Doctor and Rose investigating a group of scientists in the past, where Rose suffers the indignities of getting married to a caveman and in the novels most outrageous sequence re-enacts an infamous scene of comedy gore from the movie Re-Animator. In terms of plotting Captain Jack is given the short end of the stick, being virtually written out of the main storyline while he stays in the modern day looking after Neanderthal Das, but this does lead to some great comedy moments. A very light-hearted romp, Only Human derives much of it's comedy from the 'fish out of water' misunderstandings of both the Neanderthal in modern life, and the scientists stranded at the dawn of civilisation. Very silly, Only Human is nevertheless one of the more ambitious of the 'juvenile' Ninth Doctor novels, and a very entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the last neanderthal, 28 Jun 2007
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Another novel adventure for the ninth doctor and rose, this time with captain jack along for the ride. Finding a neanderthal man has been brought through time from his era to the present day, the doctor leaves jack to introduce him to twenty first century life whilst he and rose take a trip back to ancient times to find what caused. They come across time travellers, one of whom is up to no good.

By the time the batch of books this one is part of came out, the writers had seen the new tv series and thus knew exactly what the characters were like. And in the hands of a skilled writer such as gareth roberts, who wrote many of the best books for the old doctor who book ranges, you thus are in for a treat.

The Jack and neanderthal in present day plotline is a neat sub section, and the main adventures of the doctor and rose are throughly readable stuff, with some very funny moments of dialogue and a few serious moral dilemmas that force the reader to think about them on the way. One of the best of this range and well worth getting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly good little treat., 9 Jan 2006
By 
Mrs. Angela Clark (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the very first Doctor Who book I have ever read and it was suprisingly good. The quality of the writing is excellent and the characterisation is very good also - you could easily see this as an episode in the series.
It is short enough to be a guilty pleasure on a Saturday afternoon for when you don't want to read something too heavy - a bit like watching Doctor Who really! As I have only recently become incredibly interested in Doctor Who, I really enjoyed it - not sure how it would compare if you put it in the context of the whole genre though, but I liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny but not at all perfect, 5 Sep 2009
A very good read, written with verve and pace. The books has some super ideas that deserve to be pondered often. Central to the text is the idea of `what is a human.' A few answers are offered, albeit without any depth.
The weakest part of the book is clearly the characterisation. Captain Jack is the most similar to the portrayal on TV: brash, venal and utterly repellent. Rose is more thoughtful than the Billie Piper version we are used to. The main villains are certainly villainous, but they always seem to lack subtlety. The monstrous Hy-bractors are more-or-less seven-feet-tall versions of the Tasmanian Devil from Looney Toons. They roar, rip and tear -- but nothing else.
Interestingly, no-one in this series of books has quite managed to capture Christopher Eccelestone's portrayal of the Doctor. This Doctor is certainly funny and clever, but he has none of the brilliance or complexity. He is merely played for laughs. What a loss.
Talking of laughs, the book contains a series of diary entries by both Captain Jack and the Neanderthal boy, Das. They are screamingly funny. Unfortunately, though, being so funny they completely wreck the tension in the plot, and untimately detract from the overall effect.
In summary: read it and enjoy it, but not the best in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A guilty pleasure!!!, 26 Jan 2006
What a fun book. The quality of the writing is excellent and the characterizations are solid. And the plot, about a caveman transported to the 21st century and having to learn to fit in, is ripe with "fish out of water" humor. Gareth Roberts has written a fast moving story with all the thrills, fun, and humor of an episode of "Doctor Who". Infact, this could easily be an episode of 'Doctor Who". All in all, this scifi adventure is a fun afternoons reading. Another book I recommend is the scifi alien invasion adventure "GAAK" by Darryl Hughes. Four misfit kids try to save their small town and the world from kooky aliens. It's like The Goonies meets The Invaders from Mars. Spielberg would be proud. LOL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, Except When It Isn't, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A novel that's both pretty good, and intensely irritating. On the plus side, Roberts nails the 9th Doctor and Rose, and that's half the job when writing these tie-in novels. Watching those two characters bounce around is a great deal of fun. The primary plot is also interesting and well conceived, with splashes of family friendly body horror perking up a tale of mad science and human improvement. However, the novel collapses into the most irksome drivel when the sub-plots surrounding primitive homo sapiens and neanderthals rear their heads. The decision to write these characters as modern families in furs is neither particularly funny nor terribly illuminating, and they drag down a promising bit of tomfoolery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only Human, 6 Sep 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Only Human: 50th Anniversary Edition (Paperback)
The core of this story is that of a group from way in the future who travel way back to the past and muck about with the accepted history of Earth. When a young Neanderthal man finds his way to 2005, the Doctor, Rose and Jack must try to put things to right. So far, so good.

I found this story problematic though. Firstly, Jack is separated from the Doctor and Rose and plays virtually no part in the story at all. The premise on which Das, the Neaderthal is not able to return to his own time is overplayed to the point of parody as he finds a new life in the modern world. Really didn't gel I didn't think. Meanwhile, back in 28,000 BC or thereabouts, there's a world where they go hunting on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday and get Wednesday off, and they have marriage ceremonies which include the Great Fish of Matrimony. Sorry, don't buy it.

The futuristic part of the story is good. The mad scientist part of the story is good. The Neanderthal part of the story is bad. Pity, really. Even the characterisations of the Doctor and Rose don't win the story back to being all that great - I didn't feel that the Doctor was really true to his Ninth Doctor self; he seemed more like the David Tennant Tenth Doctor. This story was picked to be representative of the Ninth Doctor in the 50th anniversary celebration series of novelisation; I am sure there must have been better stories out there for the purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting Doctor Who story, 16 Dec 2007
By 
J. Pitt "bigJon" (Hackney, London , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really enjoyed this book and it was very griping. The plot moves quickly and it is east to read. It features Christopher Eccleston as the Doctor and Billie Piper as Rose. Captain Jack also features in the story.
The basic plot is that a Neandathal man has been bought into the early 21st Century and back in his time people are trying to change evolution lead by a woman called Chantel. The Doctor and Rose need to stop Chantal and her creations the Hy-Bractors from taking over the world.
I have read quite a few Doctor Who books based on the new series and this is by far the best I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Only Human: 50th Anniversary Edition
Doctor Who: Only Human: 50th Anniversary Edition by Gareth Roberts (Paperback - 7 Mar 2013)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews