Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Chaos, beautiful story
One of the biggest reasons (if not THE biggest) why Series 4 of Doctor Who is my favourite is because of Donna Noble (Catherine Tate). A lot of that series' success can be attributed to such a deep, wonderful companion and the actress/comedienne who played her. Donna's impact (and Catherine's for that matter) on Doctor Who can never ever be forgotten or understated...
Published on 28 Sep 2011 by R. Wood

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less Melancholy More Adventure Please
This is another novel that has been chosen to celebrate the 50th Anniversary release of Doctor Who this time the author is Gary Russell.

This is a good adventure that has to much emphasis on the Noble family & lacks the usual threat of a Alien invasion for the Tenth Doctor to deal with.

Gary Russell whom i am a big fan of as he co-founded Big Finish...
Published 8 months ago by Timelord007


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Wilf`s book debut`s a little belter!, 17 Mar 2010
Great book from Gary Russell, who does his a fine job of portraying the TV characters accurately. The supporting cast are well drawn too and the plot is intriguing, featuring the return of a villain from the show`s Classic incarnation that never feels contrived or an excuse for a sequel.
[And you can give yourself brownie points if you work out who the villain is before the reveal. I did and gave a little squee at getting it right!] A very enjoyable read and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Completes Donna's story beautifully, 27 Feb 2010
I bought the abridged CD reading of this book last year and was not wildly taken with the adventure. Recently, however, having had the luxury of time, I have yomped my way through all the new series novels and this one stands out. The story as written is so detailed that considerable amounts of text had to be excised for the audio CD and I think that the quality of the story suffered as a result.

The abridgement does not do the story of Donna's family justice at all, and the closing chapter of the book actually made me cry - it is a lovely addendum to the story of Donna Noble and leaves you feeling considerably better about her being returned home to her mother's care. Sylvia Noble has generally been portrayed as a bitter and judgemental battleaxe - this story rounds her out very well.

I thoroughly recommend getting hold of this book whether or not you have heard the audio CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny,Scary and Brilliant, 8 Feb 2010
A Kid's Review
I really like this book and like the idea of Wilf being a companion,I also like alot of the characters and the plot to the story.I would like to see Sylvia in it more thogh so she could get use to what the Doctor and Donna get up to but overall it is fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Beautiful Chaos, 30 Oct 2009
By 
These stories fill the gap beween each season on television. The stories are read by people who have performed on the programme.

Beautiful Chaos is a great story which follows on from a story that is over thirty years old from the Tom Baker era, I will leave you all to guess so that I do not spoil the surprise.

Buy this CD play it and enjoy. Those of you who enjoy the programme will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who: Beautiful Chaos: 50th Anniversary Edition, 3 Jun 2013
By 
Lois Ache - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Beautiful Chaos: 50th Anniversary Edition (Paperback)
I love the Doctor Who series and decided to collect all the 50th anniversary books. Received all books on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than Average, 17 Jan 2009
By 
Paul D "Paul" (Darwen, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
I've never been much of a fan of Mr Russell's writing; his command of grammar and lexis leave much to be desired, and he has an unfortunate liking for the melodramatic. I'm also not entirely keen on novels which bring back monsters from the old series. Was there really any need for a rematch with this particular entity? That said, this is a readable book, with characters better drawn than in Russell's previous efforts. He really seems to have captured the characters of the Noble family: Sylvia gets sympathetic treatment, and we see rather more of what makes her tick than was the case with the TV series; similarly, her kind-hearted father comes across very well, Russell capturing Bernard Cribbins's easy charm. The manic doctor is all there as well. In sum, not exactly ground-breaking, but better than some of the other offerings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is Who, what more do you need, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not read it yet but it's who and its David Tennant. You can't really lose. All the writers were good then not like now with Steven Flaming Moffat ruling the roost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Beautiful Chaos: 50th Anniversary Edition
Doctor Who: Beautiful Chaos: 50th Anniversary Edition by Gary Russell (Paperback - 7 Mar 2013)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews