Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Silent Stars Go By
A book that truly feels like it could be the novelisation of a TV episode. The key word for this book is danger, there are elements of it everywhere in the prose be it the threat of the human race dieing out or from the villains' in the chase sequences of the book. I wouldn't quite say its dark but its definitely not of the "jolly" nature of post comeback Who books...
Published on 9 Dec. 2011 by R. Thomas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as engaging as it could have been
Even though it was far longer before the Ice Warriors returned on television, it has been some time since they appeared in the Doctor Who books (their audio appearances have been much more frequent however). If anything, the Ice Warriors are a little under represented. For much of the story they are merely lumbering monsters; slowly and ineffectively chasing various...
Published 23 months ago by Alaran


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Modern Classic, 2 April 2013
Loved every minute of this enchanting tale. Bringing back the Ice Warriors as a novelisation is as good as bringing them back to our tv screens and their chilling and menacing threat is very well made. The only drawback was the lack of Amy/Doctor/Rory time as Rory is separated from them for half the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment., 1 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sadly, I really didn't enjoy this book at all. After it was announced that Doctor Who books were to be gaining a series aimed at adult readers, I was ecstatic, and unlike a lot of readers, I thoroughly enjoyed the first entry from Michael Moorcock. It featured a fairly whimsical plot, sure, and had a massive potential to alienate readers that weren't familiar with Moorcock's narrative traits and stylings, but it was an actual novel. Aimed at adults. And this is the part I must stress the most, for Dan Abnett's entry is clearly aimed at YA readers. There's nothing wrong with that at all, of course, but for it to be penned as a more adult book is hugely misleading. The Silent Stars Go By emulates, almost to a tee, the exact rhythms of the TV show, with a plot that isn't all that terribly exciting. At best it would have made a forgettable episode of a series. Not particularly bad, but containing nothing to get your juices or grey matter flowing. Something tells me that after all the negative feedback from Moorcock's novel, the Beeb asked the next author in line to play it safe, which is a shame. Abnett is clearly an able writer, but for a novel, I'd really rather hoped I could get another book that I might be able to get really stuck into. This seems to have garnered much more positive reviews than Moorcock, however, so that does make me wonder what direction a third entry into this adult range may take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars pretty good Who romp, 19 April 2012
By 
D. Graham (Wakefield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
We've listened to a fair number of the Doctor Who adventures over the years, and this one is fairly standard fare. Exciting adventure and hijinks for the Doctor, Amy & Rory.

Well paced & plotted, but nothing particuarly new. If you like Who (and who doesn't), you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ice Warriors return in this excellent audio book, 23 Nov. 2011
By 
David (SPECTRE Island) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Silent Stars Go By sees the Doctor pitted against his old enemies the Ice Warriors in this audio book. Dan Abnett has written a very enjoyable book which moves at a good pace. This audio book is read by actor Michael Maloney (Truly Madly Deeply, Love On A Branch Line and Living With Dinosaurs)who makes an excellent narrator. I won't go into plot details as other reviewers have covered that area. Instead I will concentrate on the cd package itself. The story is told over 6 cds and runs for around 6 hours. It is nicely packaged in a cd sized plastic dvd style amary case which nicely holds the disks. This is a really enjoyable cd and I look forward to listening to more Doctor Who stories in the future. Hopefully the Ice Warriors will make a return in the television series too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best Christmas Special, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seasoned military SF multi media author Dan Abnett delivers a definitive seasonal novel accurately nailing Matt Smith's mercurial Doctor,the much missed Ponds and the Ice Warriors in a fairly hard sf plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who: the Silent Stars Go By: 50th Anniversary Edition, 3 Jun. 2013
By 
Lois Ache - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Silent Stars Go By: 50th Anniversary Edition (Paperback)
Book arrived on time and this book is a story about the 11th Doctor. All the Doctor Who author's are very talented in writing stories for the best TV series on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Dr.Who book...so far!, 21 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Silent Stars Go By: 50th Anniversary Edition (Paperback)
thanks for prompt delivery.One of the best Dr. Who stories I have read.First found it in the local library...then just had to have my own copy...great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great purchase for anyone who has a Dr Who fan in the family. This item was a great success, so I would reccomend to anyone with a similar interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 18 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Silent Stars Go By: 50th Anniversary Edition (Paperback)
Yes very good characterisation - enjoyed a run romp - nice to have a longer story with all the shorter time trips ones which have come out recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag., 24 Oct. 2011
By 
Ms. V. Ford "AniseFreya" (Hamshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly, I really enjoyed the story. A modern Ice Warrior story.

The childish (childlike?) banter/vocal mannerisms started to irratate about half way through as though something was being milked for laughs. Not enough to detract from the story but enough to drop it a star to a 4 star rating.

For the price, the highest I've paid for a Doctor Who ebook, it was very short. Not as short as a quickread but about a six hour read or there abouts.

Other than that - an enjoyable story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Silent Stars Go By: 50th Anniversary Edition
Doctor Who: The Silent Stars Go By: 50th Anniversary Edition by Dan Abnett (Paperback - 7 Mar. 2013)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews