Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but nothing new
If you have viewed all the top gear series there is nothing new in the book . but it's good to look back and see how the series has developed.
Published on 15 July 2012 by mike

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ambitious but Rubbish - a very apt title
I had high hopes of this title, written by Richard Porter (the man behind Sniffpetrol) and all about Top Gear. On paper this should have been a good read, sadly the book is less than the sum of its parts.
The biggest complaint is that there is nothing really new, the book contains small chapters on various aspects of the show; the specials, some of the vehicles and...
Published on 5 Jun 2012 by Bloc Hed


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ambitious but Rubbish - a very apt title, 5 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear: Ambitious but Rubbish: The Secrets Behind Top Gear's Craziest Creations (Hardcover)
I had high hopes of this title, written by Richard Porter (the man behind Sniffpetrol) and all about Top Gear. On paper this should have been a good read, sadly the book is less than the sum of its parts.
The biggest complaint is that there is nothing really new, the book contains small chapters on various aspects of the show; the specials, some of the vehicles and stunts. However there are no real relevations and for the most part it just retells the story. It's far simpler (and more entertaining) to actually watch the relevant episode of Top Gear.
The book itself is pretty short and can be read through fairly quickly mainly due to the rather bland writing style. Whilst the book makes for a reasonable coffee table read it doesn't offer any real substance.
This book was bought as a gift, would I buy this book? With money? Sadly no, and on that bombshell...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but nothing new, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear: Ambitious but Rubbish: The Secrets Behind Top Gear's Craziest Creations (Hardcover)
If you have viewed all the top gear series there is nothing new in the book . but it's good to look back and see how the series has developed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit lacking, 28 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear: Ambitious but Rubbish: The Secrets Behind Top Gear's Craziest Creations (Hardcover)
Not bad little book by any means, but it contains very few "secrets", and mostly consists of descriptions of a handful of memorable episodes, peppered with a few shots that didn't appear on TV, and a few little bits about the show behind the scenes.. but very little of what I thought might be contained within - that is to say.. 'making of' those episodes. I have seen all the episodes, and remember them well, so I just hoped for a bit more than a warmed over re-telling of them. A bit of a shame, but still for the Top Gear fan, a solid, if very short, book, that is definitely readable and will bring back memories of some of those classic moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Secrets? What secrets?, 20 Jun 2012
By 
Karel Florian "KFL" (Prague, CZE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gear: Ambitious but Rubbish: The Secrets Behind Top Gear's Craziest Creations (Hardcover)
I have had probably too much high hopes, thinking of reading some interesting behind-the-scenes information or unknown fact, which wouldn't have been revealed already in Collins' Stig biography. You don't get that with this book. What you actually get is a list of several challenges, simple story behind and one or two so called facts, which in most cases are not really interesting. The trouble is - the writing style is simple, shallow and not really funny (maybe for 8yrs old kids). And, and the book has something like 60 pages only, so it's 60 minutes reading maximum. I was certainly expecting more from Mr. Porter.

If you're into TG and want to have yet another branded collection item, go for it but don't expect much. If you're looking for some real info, get Ben Collins' book.

And sorry for my English :).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars value for money, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear: Ambitious but Rubbish: The Secrets Behind Top Gear's Craziest Creations (Hardcover)
As an avid top gear watcher (and the repeats),i have all the books
but this one sadly lacks detail,-every subject is briefly covered with what i basically could guess myself.
woul not reccomend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 15 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear: Ambitious but Rubbish: The Secrets Behind Top Gear's Craziest Creations (Hardcover)
I cose this book from y son in laws wish list. Not an item I would have chosen for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Usual Top Gear Daftness!, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear: Ambitious but Rubbish: The Secrets Behind Top Gear's Craziest Creations (Hardcover)
Bought for my 9 year old with Autism & he has not put it down since it came.
Weird but wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear: Ambitious but Rubbish: The Secrets Behind Top Gear's Craziest Creations (Hardcover)
Bought this for my son for christmas, he loves top gear. He thinks that this book is great. Lots of good stuff for a top gear fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a little dissapointing, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear: Ambitious but Rubbish: The Secrets Behind Top Gear's Craziest Creations (Hardcover)
this book is written catering to those who buy in to the mythos of top gear. there is no background information as to how the stunts were set up, we are left with the impression that the presenters bumble along with no preparation and less clues as to what they are doing.
Good if you want more edutainment
Not so good for the preparation and behind the scenes stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Top gear book, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear: Ambitious but Rubbish: The Secrets Behind Top Gear's Craziest Creations (Hardcover)
Tiny.
Took all of five minutes to read. Well when i say read, i mean flick through comic-book style!
Glad i never paid full price for it.
Should have gone to speck savers.
Should have saved a tree!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Gear: Ambitious but Rubbish: The Secrets Behind Top Gear's Craziest Creations
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews