Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written traditional Who fayre, nicely told
The latest in this seemingly occasional series of hardback 'guest author' Doctor Who books- from authors who are already famous for their non-Whovian novels- is a very welcome treat.

It isn't as much of a departure from the familiar as some of the other books have been- it's more or less on the same level as the BBC Books standard range, with possibly a...
Published on 10 July 2012 by Mr. Stuart Bruce

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Feelings For A Dumbed Down Style Of Storytelling.
Being a Doctor Who fanatic since 1971 I was drawn to this straight away of course. The added bonus was that it was about Vikings, set in the past and features the best of the new series Doctors, number 11 played by the brilliant Matt Smith.

One of the major faults that I've found with the new series novels is that they essentially dumbed down to suit the...
Published on 28 Jun. 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly good book, 11 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a very good read and contrary to what some people have said about it, isn't a Dr Who Mills & Boon. I read this in about three days which just lately is good for me and usually means that its quite a page turner. Without giving away any spoilers, i'll just say that you will enjoy it. It's a surprisingly good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable romp, 21 July 2012
By 
Mr. C. J. Thorpe "Lastaria" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
With a now well established 11th Doctor this is a nice little tale of his adventures that compliments the TV series.

Delving into magic and science it has a few darker moments that is probably not for younger readers, but nothing to bad and it was a quick page turner.

An enjoyable romp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 11th Goes Historical, 24 Jun. 2012
By 
James Cameron "Artist / Filmmaker / Nerd" (a world of my own) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a classic doctor who fan, I've really not taken to Matt Smith's incarnation of the character, except in the larger novels (which could easily be any of the modern doctors in action). This latest offering from J.T. Colgan takes us down the road less travelled by recent Doctors, and gives us a brilliantly crafted historical tale which brings in the Norse Gods and gives an another interesting twist to the on-going saga of the Doctor being mistaken for mythical figures.
I enjoyed this story as much, if not more than Doctor Who: The Silent Stars Go By as a good solid Doctor Who story that would make a great TV story, if only they still made multi-episode stories (and got rid of Matt Smith).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so much Geronimo as GeroniNO!, 9 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This did not reflect the performance given by Matt Smith in any shape or form for me I'm afraid. Slow story line and a poor monster make up a book I was glad to get to the end of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No One Escapes The Boredom, 15 July 2012
By 
Mr. Steve Lowe "stevewa4" (North West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I first read that this book would be a companion lite novel, I was extremely happy. I am not a fan of Amy Pond and firmly believe the sooner she leaves, the better the 11th Doctor will get. So this book should have a lot going for it.
The reality is, this book doesn't have much going for it at all. It reads relatively easily but is condescending in its story telling. The Doctor portrayed has no bearing on the 11th Doctor at all. His character is all wrong. The book never really gets going and does nothing to maintain the readers interest. It is very reflective of the 2011 series, in that a lot of time is wasted doing nothing, leaving very little time for adventure and fun.
What is very odd and, as previously mentioned out of character, is the 11th Doctor is wanting to play a game of chess. Each Doctor has his own peculiarities and Chess and the 11th Doctor does not go together. Chess and the 7th Doctor. Cricket and the 5th Doctor. The 10th Doctor and his specs. Each one has his own interest and the TV show has indicated a liking for Football by the 11th Doctor. Without spoiling the story, perhaps the author could have weaved a footie game between the Scots and the Vikings. Or better yet, had this as a 7th Doctor story. It has the starting's of a dark 7th Doctor adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Dark Horizons
Doctor Who: Dark Horizons by J.T. Colgan (Paperback - 4 July 2013)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews