Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know about astronomy but were afraid to ask
I just couldn't put this book down when it came.

Ever wondered why planets are spherical? What would happen if the sun stopped working? Or, what should we do if ET rings? Then this book is for you.

Back in 2011, The Sky At Night broadcast their 700th episode. This was a special show devoted to asking viewers anything they found puzzling about the...
Published on 14 April 2012 by SmudgerSmokes

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars for Readibility of Font and Five Stars for Content.
Three stars only for this hard cover edition because the font is difficult to read. Publisher please take note.
Five Stars for content.
To truly enjoy the excellent content I bought the Kindle edition as well.
Five stars for the Kindle edition.
Published on 14 Feb. 2013 by Naim


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know about astronomy but were afraid to ask, 14 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sky at Night: Answers to Questions from Across the Universe (Hardcover)
I just couldn't put this book down when it came.

Ever wondered why planets are spherical? What would happen if the sun stopped working? Or, what should we do if ET rings? Then this book is for you.

Back in 2011, The Sky At Night broadcast their 700th episode. This was a special show devoted to asking viewers anything they found puzzling about the universe. The response was so huge that the team decided to produce a book so that many of the remaining questions could be answered, in this case by Sir Patrick Moore and Chris North.

The book is divided into 54 sections of astronomy such as the planets, space navigation, tides, life elswhere and asteroids and comets. Each of the questions answered, as the book says are in such a way so that everybody could pick it up and enjoy. There are no way out mathematical equations in here!

I have learnt so much reading this and in many cases it is mind blowing to find out what our scientists are learning about our universe. A facinating book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Information at your fingertips.m, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sky at Night: Answers to Questions from Across the Universe (Hardcover)
This is the most informative book I have ever purchased from Amazon. It has all,(and more) of the answers to questions I have always wondered about since a child. The Sky at Night is not only the best astronomy programme on television, it is also the most informative of astronomy books I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic primer on Astronomy and more, 19 Jan. 2014
This is a fantastic introduction to astronomy - but what really surprised me was the diversity of information. There are sections dedicated to every aspect of understanding the cosmos. telescope shopping advice, quantum particle explanations, the history of spaceflight and the shape of the universe - everything is covered, and in simple, enlightening terms for beginners and amateurs like myself.

My only criticisms are that it is slightly repetitive in parts (although the Q&A style of the book means it probably isn't meant to be read end-to-end in one go, as I did). It also suffers from a terrible sense of humour, though that could be seen as part of its geeky charm!

An essential read and fantastic gift for anyone with an interest in outer space, and a great companion piece for those of us whose interest has been reignited by programmes such as Stargazing Live. You'll be grabbing a telescope by the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Universal Questions Answered--- Really Well., 29 Sept. 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sky at Night: Answers to Questions from Across the Universe (Hardcover)
This is a terrific book that entertains and educates at the same time.
Written in chapters covering topics such as Stars and Galaxies, Manned Space Exploration, Cosmolgy and Space Missions and many others it has genuine questions from the public on those subjects.

It thus actually answers questions that we, the public, would like to know.

Patric Moore and Chris North answer in a clear form that children and adults can enjoy.

I found the questions and the expositions really entertaining.

This is a book you can read chapter by chapter or just dip into.

It's an undemanding read but you find yourself reading on and on.

If you have anyone who is interested in astronomy then this would make a wonderful gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sky at Night., 20 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sky at Night: Answers to Questions from Across the Universe (Hardcover)
I was very pleased to receive this book which is full of questions and answers taken from the hundreds of them from both amateur and professional. It is well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent amateur astronomy primer, 5 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sky at Night: Answers to Questions from Across the Universe (Hardcover)
This book is an excellent introduction to amateur astronomy.
It is organised into logical subject headings with answers to important questions - some of which I have often wondered about.
Every question is dealt with and answered thoroughly - sometimes in an entertaining manner.
The book is a great reference book for dipping into and is a must for every amateur's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth having, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sky at Night: Answers to Questions from Across the Universe (Hardcover)
Nice book, with direct answers to many interesting questions about the universe, our solar system and space travel.
Sometimes it risks repeating itself here or there . . . but there's always something new and intersting to learn; at least for the interested amateur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A state-of-the-art guide to the wonders of the universe., 14 Jun. 2012
By 
Jazzrook - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Sky at Night: Answers to Questions from Across the Universe (Hardcover)
Published to celebrate the 55th anniversary of 'The Sky at Night' this magnificent book collects around 360 fascinating questions sent in by viewers and fans, expertly answered by Patrick Moore & co-presenter Chris North.
The questions are divided into sections on Observing, The Moon, The Solar System, Stars & Galaxies, Cosmology, Other Worlds, Manned Space Exploration, Space Missions, The Bizarre & Unexplained and finally a chapter with questions directed at Patrick Moore who's presented the programme since 1957. There is also a useful glossary of some of the less familiar terms used in the book.
'The Sky at Night' covers a wide range of topics on astronomy and cosmology and this accessible, state-of-the-art guide is a perfect introduction to the wonders of our universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 31 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sky at Night: Answers to Questions from Across the Universe (Hardcover)
This book is fantastic. It is definitely 10 out of 10. Every question you have ever wanted to know the answer to, to do with astronomy is found in this book. And the best part about it is, it's all answered in a simple but scientific way. Easy for any level of astronomer to understand. One of the best books I have ever purchased. I don't miss an episode of sky at night, so when I saw this book is was a must buy, and I am so glad I purchased it. Patrick Moore is a fantastic writer, everything is so easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Patrick at his best, 11 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sky at Night: Answers to Questions from Across the Universe (Hardcover)
Bought this book not knowing what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised! The questions are well laid out and gives the budding Astronomer good insight into the Cosmos. I like the fact it is a hard back copy too...they last a lot longer.

A good book to take to bed on those cold winter nights!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sky at Night: Answers to Questions from Across the Universe
The Sky at Night: Answers to Questions from Across the Universe by Sir Patrick Moore (Hardcover - 12 April 2012)
£14.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews